Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

77 People found this comment helpful

Gene Health Metoprolol Succer 25 md 2per day 2014-11-27 Web MD Reviews: I came to Web MD Reviews because I suspected that I was suffering from side effects due to taking, by prescription of my heart surgeon, Metoprolol Succer, 25 mg 2 per day after formerly taking 12,5 mg per day for about 2 years. Several of these side effects have been bothering me for over a year or more without my realizing ...

Most voted negative review

37 People found this comment helpful

Have not taken yet, doctor prescribed just yesterday.

Shared reviews and ratings

GlindaGood | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Completely ineffective. Reduced BP very slightly for about 5 hours, caused headaches and swelling of ankles and fingers. The number of documented side effects is brain numbing, including loss of memory and heart attacks. Who tested it why FDA allowed it on the market?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandra parmente | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking metoprolol for high blood pressure. I started having a lot of PVC’s after being in a few months. Went to a cardiologist who did tests and determined that 13% of my HB were PVC’s. They upped my meds to 100 mg and they went up to 15%. When my hair started falling out, my doctor took me off it and put me on Carvidilol. My hair started growing back and my PVC’s are 1.8%. Before metoprolol my PVC’s were barely noticeable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/14/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My first health problem at age 43 was hypertension, 140/90 with an 80 pulse. It is a genetic problem- my weight, diet / exercise and blood work were all good. I was on lisinopril for 1 month when unacceptable side effects started. Dr. switched me to metoprolol succinate, 25 mg once daily but it did not last all day. Switched to the tartrate version, 25 mg twice a day but that was too strong for about 8 hours, and wore off before the next dose. I'm currently on the succinate, 25 mg twice a day and it works like a champ. Blood pressure stays steady 110/70 with a 72 pulse all day. During the first week I had mild fatigue, trouble sleeping all night, strange dreams and bad gas. All of those went away after a week and I've felt completely normal for a year. An added benefit is this makes me feel a bit calmer and less anxious. Both sides of my family are on a metoprolol variant or another beta blocker; you just have to find something that works with your system.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mdh423 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/9/2022
Condition: Heart Rate Between 100 and 130 Beats Per Minute
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not sure what is going on here I take these regularly for tachycardia i been on this for quiet a few years but after i got some teeth pulled back 3 months ago I feel like my bp is high feel very bad heart palpitations bounding pulse in neck and head,nausea. I am a diabetic i have been bed ridden since then off and on I know some of the numbing stuff that dentist uses has adrenaline in it so not sure if that had something to do with it and interfere with this medication or changed something permanently but i have been to er several times afterward went to doc and they cannot fine anything just said my bp was high a little to follow up with my dr but they said everything is fine life is no fun now i hope i make it but am not sure!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darlene | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For what it is worth, I have been taking this medication for the past 50 days and it has NOT done anything for me, not lower my blood pressure, actually have not gotten any side effects as well. My blood pressure is still very high. My doctor says it will work, but when is the question. I have advised my doctor but has not done anything as yet. Time to find a real doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/12/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dropped heart rate to below 40! Experienced shortness of breath on activity and extreme weakness. Absolutely miserable. Could hardly function.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luisa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/8/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with high blood pressure and was prescribed Metoprolol 25 mg twice a day. It’s been 7 months and I’ve been having horrible side effects. I have leg and muscle pain, chest pain and I feel dizzy , feel circulation issues such as numbness and tingling on both hands and feet. I also have night sweats and can’t sleep much. I have gained weight and although I have been eating healthy , drinking lots of water and exercising every day, I won’t lose the weight or feel any better. I have contacted my doctor to change the medication. I never knew this medication was going to give me horrible side effects. I hope once they change the medication I get back to being my self. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was found to have atrial fibrillation by primary care Dr. Was prescribed Diltiazem 60mg twice per day and referred to a cardiologogist. Told the cardiologist that I was shot of breathe often. After several tests it was found that I had accumulated fluid around my heart. The Dr said that the fluid around my heart was causing me to be short of breath. Entered the hospital for surgery to remove the fluid. I f eel far worse now than I did before entering the hospital. Am now on metroprolol 25mg twice per day. Both diltiazem and metroprolol make me feel terribly ill. Headaches, dizziness, chest pain, terrible dry cough, sense of taste & smell are subdued, my breathing is not as good as it was before entering the hospital, overwhelming feeling of unwellness, no motivation, no positive outlook. Against Drs orders I stopped taking metoprolol for two days. Side effects went away and I felt whole again. But, I had to go back on it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
retired | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/22/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking atenolol for over 30 years with little problems except weight gain, but as I aged didn't work for me much anymore so my dr. switched me to metoporol succ. After taking it my bp went to numbers off the richter scale 260 over 110. Stopped taking it immediately and bp slowly came down after taking diltiazem. My brother takes it with no problem. Now back on smaller dose of atenolol and diltiazem and may wean off atenolol slower to see if I can do without.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lu | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2022
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't help with the palpitations, infact felt like my heart thudding everyday. Was taking amlodipine 10mg also while taking metoprolol succ er 25mg it made my heart rate drop very low down to 36-40 average. Sure it made my blood pressure very low. The drug made me dizzy and lightheaded 75% of the time. I had shortness of breath, felt even worse at night couldn't breathe. I took it for 2weeks, and I just quit and i feel so much better. This drug is a poison pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley g | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/2/2022
Condition: Diastolic Heart Failure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I caught covid twice in the past two years. Starting getting horrible pvc's and some pacs along with high blood pressure. Prescribe 25 mg once daily. I'm happy to say it completely eliminated my PVCs over a 3 month period. Sad to say im starting to experience the bad side of this medicine loosing hair gaining weight lazy depression and horrible anxiety and higher blood pressure! Im slowly tapering off due to these horrible side effects. Praying my pvcs stay at bay.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joanna norrid | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My BP is great but I'm feeling horrible side effects such as neck tighting. My heart beat feels way off , and super depressed and tired. I quit my job stopped answering my phone. I don't want to go out in public. Anxiety at an all time high. Feel socially unacceptable, I didn't even want to pick up my paycheck because I didn't want to deal with anyone. I feel awful and awkward.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherry | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/17/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This Medicine has taken away my mobility, peace of mind and overall quality of life. I started having spasms in my legs and it became hard for me to walk. It progressed and I ended up with a walker. Now I am in a wheelchair. The paint attacks became worse. I became so afraid to do anything. I have fallen several times. I was told by my cardiologist it wasn't the drug. I was not like this before. I was so sick after taking it all I could do was go to bed. Then the sweating, and It would cause my potassium to be so low I ended up at the ER several times and had to get Potassium. It took all of my hair out and I gained 31pounds after 4years of this nightmare. I primary Dr finally took me off. I had to be weaned off. I thought my life was coming to and end. Even though I only took 25mg once a day it still was a nightmare..The process of weaning from this medication was AWFUL. I had terrible shakes with sweating, dizziness unable to function for several weeks. My mobility became worse. I needed help to do the basic things, like taking a bath. I have loss 14 pounds trying to get off this medication. My Blood pressure went through the roof 215/114 days of it being189/98 I was afraid I would have a stroke or heart attack.i now have physical therapy come to my home in hopes of gaining my mobility back. I am on a new drug called inderal 10mg each day Iam feeling more like myself. I pray to be walking soon and enjoying life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beckett | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this 2 months ago to replace carvedilol after developing extra heartbeats from prednisone. I keep taking COViD tests because I feel so lousy but after reading some if these reviews I believe it may be the metoprolol. I told my cardiologist I thought it was the meds but she was doubtful. My joints and upper back hurt, my right shoulder and underarm/ribs feel swollen, terrible fatigue and nausea. I am going to go to half dose and see if there is any improvement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/4/2022
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a ventricular ablation 2 years ago and the doc put me on this and said it would only be for a few months. Every time I go see the cardiologist, he tells me he won't let me stop taking it until I lose 20 #'s. I have gained 40 #'s since I began taking this. My BP is out of control and is usually 154/95 and the doctor has labeled me as white coat syndrome. After reading all of the reviews from others, I believe that it's time I weaned myself off of this. I have been drained, tired and lethargic since the beginning of taking these meds. I have sore muscles, sleep a minimum of 8 hours daily and have zero energy. I come home from work and it's all I can do to make dinner and collapse for the night. Thank you all for the reviews and opening my eyes to the issues of this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wewillbeok | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since taking this medication for my blood pressure. I'm dizzy, confused, I sweat so much at night...oh, let's not talk about the seeing things and extremely vivid dreams. I'm starting to question if I actually did a task or if it was all a dream. It's irritating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DontTakeit | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All I can say is, RUN!!! I've been on Metoprolol succ.for 7 days, I feel like I am dying. My entire body hurts. My intestines are swollen and painful, back, pelvis, thighs, hips, calves, legs, ankles, feet, toes, arms, neck, chest, buttocks, shoulders, hands, fingers, jaw, ear, head!!!!! It all hurts. I have burning, tingling, numbness, pain randomly everywhere. My heart is palpitating on and off, I feel like I can't breathe, terrible headache, chest heaviness, swollen lymph node in neck, dry mouth, extreme fatigue, blurred vision, shakiness, anxiety, crying, sore muscles all over.....I just can't, this pill is the devil himself. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/5/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After switching to er my BP went up and I am ending a very uncomfortable week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/30/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was just prescribed this medicine about a week ago. I gave it to him at night and about 30 minutes later, he felt like he was having a panic attack.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAFMAMA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/27/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MAFMAMA - my rating was very off

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More