Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I have been using Altace for a few years. It worked on bringing my BP down to a safe level. I was at the low end of high. After reading the other reviews, I now believe that the itching I have on my lower legs may be a side effect. I take a Zyrtec once every 4-5 days and stops the itching. I also have the dry cough mostly at night. I also have decreased sexual desire(I'm 43) but I don't see this m...

Shared reviews and ratings

kermit148 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/12/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had high blood pressure - 160/90. after taking this a week my pressure dropped to 60/40. called 911, almost fainted, they stuck an iv in my arm and rushed me to the hospital. needless to say I'm not taking this medication anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
makinit | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/22/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for over 10 years, I have had no side effects with Altace, however the Generic drug has caused side effects that were clearly from the Generic. The insurance company did not want to approve the Name Brand for some time but I continued to fight for the Name Brand which finally was approved but I have to pay a steep deductible for it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jack | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/4/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/4/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no known problems. seems to have helped lower b/p along with Bisoprolol. uriinating often though. Could these cause this??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/25/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DeniseinBC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2013
Condition: Nondiabetic Proteinuric Nephropathy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been HORRIBLE for me. A few years ago I was on it and developed major anxiety, sinus infections and cough. Severe on all levels. So went off the drug and those things went away... took a while for the anxiety to stop however. About 5 months ago, my protein leak spiked so I tried this med again at 5 mg. After a couple of months cough, water weight gain (10 lbs), anxiety and major neck and shoulder pain. Went off of it. Dropped weight and pain and anxiety fairly fast... probably as I wasn't on it as long as first time. So a month after being off the Altace, protein spikes again. So thought I'd try low dose. 1.25. No effect on the protein leak but stopped losing weight immediately and neck and shoulder stiffness. Doubled the dose to 2.5 a week ago and within a couple days severe neck and shoulder pain and water retention.. started gaining even though I jog everyday and am on a calorie restricted diet. Today I have made the decision I can't take this med. At 2.5mg the protein is reduced but I am miserable. I am also major allergic to Atacand.. Angiodema caused vocal chords to swell and it took 5 weeks to heal after coming off that drug. So I have no proteinuria drugs I can take. Scary but this is not living life with all these side effects either.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mayorman | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/31/2012
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
katie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it is suppose to raise y heart rate and i have cirrhosis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2012
Condition: Kidney Disease from Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ramipril | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/2/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this medication for a year and a half and feel it is working in me though I still have to lower my cholesterol level more to a healthier number.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/14/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was a easy transition from a calcium channel blocker to Altace/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kaymitz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/14/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/11/2012
Condition: Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a history of congestive heart failure. After my second bypass surgery, I experienced severe neusea for 10 weeks, was very weak and lost 27 pounds. My cardiologist first directed I see a gastrointerologist, then suggested a psychiatrist (which upset me greatly). I stopped taking the Altace he had prescribed following my surgery and began feeling better within a couple of days and was fine after a week. In subsequent conversations with other heart surgery patients, I found neusua was a common complaint of patients prescribed Altace. I also changed cardiologists.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MRDKNIGHT | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/1/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IT HAS HELPED TO CONTROL MY BLOOD PRESSURE AND HAS HADNO SIDE EFFECTS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/3/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am sleepy, hungry and depressed all the time...weight gain sluggish.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
7/23/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok so I am rating this for my hubby, who has taken Altace for several years, however, in the last year or so, he has had multiple sinus infections, unproductive coughing spasms which almost result in vomiting. Has anyone else had this adverse reaction to this drug after being on it for a few years?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monk | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/23/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rudy vermes | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2011
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected]o.com | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
2/14/2011
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had good experience with Altace, but now company is wanting to put me on raprilmal or something like that. What are the comparisons for these two drugs. Should this other one be substituted and does it work as well as Altace.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/1/2011
Condition: Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with CHF and heart enlargement 5 months ago due to a viral infection of my heart causing damage. At that time EF was 25%. I began taking 2.5 mg generic Altace (ramipril)once a day at that time along with carvedilol/Coreg 2X a day, 3.125 mg each dose. After four months the ECHO showed an EF of 45%. I'm extremely happy with this progress. No noticeable side effects with the Altace. At first, some dizziness when standing up after sitting which is normal. I have no complaints about this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More