Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

I took 2 three month injections for endometrosis. I had severe headaches and abdominal pain. When the injection wore off at the end of my last shot, I had severe headaches, dizzyness, hot flashes, mood swings, and fatigue.

Most voted negative review

22 People found this comment helpful

I will discuss this with my Physician in private Only.

Shared reviews and ratings

duckman | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/10/2021
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was injected with the 3 month dose of lupron to supplement my salvage radiation. My testosterone level went fro 840 to 11 in 3 weeks! There are side-effects, and I experienced the following: 1. lack of sexual desire and performance. 2. Hot flashes 3. Fatigue 4. Low red blood cell count (anemia). All-in-all it is not a fun drug to receive...but it is effective and is a good tool for fighting prostate cancer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Very pleased | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2021
Condition: Low Red Blood Count due to Uterine Fibroids
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had read the reviews on this website prior to getting the shot and was a bit terrified. I wanted to share my experience and include some details I wish others would have offered - Background: I received the shot in an attempt to reduce my 8.7cm fibroid and large uterus prior to a hysterectomy. I’m 37 year old. 5’3” / 110lbs. No children. The aforementioned conditions have caused me extremely heavy periods leading to anemia and a decreased quality of life for the past five years. My doctor suggested the injection, indicating that even a reduction of 1cm in my fibroid or uterus would make surgery easier to navigate. Besides this, I’m in good health. I received 4 injections prior to my laparoscopic hysterectomy. The first few days after my first shot I felt minimal symptoms. I woke up one night with what felt like menstrual cramps in addition to the jarring bowel-movement pain I only get when on my period - but this may have been coincidental/me being hypersensitive to my body in light of the injection. These were pains I don't typically get when I'm not on my period though. The second week was pretty quiet until day 10 when I experienced more intense cramps. Day 15 I got my period, which was 2 days earlier than anticipated. As others have stated, this first period was heavier than normal. Actually for me the duration of the heavy flow lasted longer than normal. Despite having heavy periods for years, I’ve been “lucky” enough that the daily patterns are fairly predictable; this period did not follow previous patterns which was frustrating but somewhat expected based on others' experiences. It also lasted 18 days. Yes - One. Eight. The last part of it was super light, but present nonetheless. Over the course of the 4 months that I received Lupron I only experienced this one prolonged period. I did have spotting after my 4th shot but nothing significant. The biggest side effect for me was hot flashes. I could feel them coming first in my face and then my entire body would start sweating out of nowhere. Naturally they were strongest at night which made for many restless nights. My doctor did put me on birth control to counter this issue after my 4th injection but that took 1.5 weeks to kick in and end the hot flashes. The best news was as the success of Lupron which shrunk my fibroid by 3.3cm in preparation for my surgery. My doctor was extremely pleased with this result. She also stated it had shrunk my uterus several cm which aided in the success of surgery. I’m one week post op and extremely grateful we took this route. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2018
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been sick for 7 years going to and from the doctor. I have been through two surgeries. I was so sick and my doctor recommended i get on lupron and i was very afraid at first. I got my shot in August and we are not in October. I have had hardly any side effects. This drug is a miracle drug for endometriosis. This is the only thing that has helped me cope and get through life without so much pain. I will say i do have body aches sometimes but that is all. I haven't gone through horrible hot-flashes like everyone says they do. I highly recommend speaking to your doctor if you have a severe case of endometriosis like I did. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/21/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reviewing information on this drug, I was PETRIFIED to begin treatment. But, my endo was so bad that doc encouraged me to try it. I call her my miracle worker now!! I did have some side effects.. hot flashes, muscle aches and mood swings at the top of the list. I began taking BLACK COHOSH.. an over the counter homeopath product which I HIGHLY recommend for any hormonal imbalance issues.. PMS, etc.. Life has never been better for me!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Caregiver
10/21/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Daughter was given Lupron because her growth was stunted due to hypothyroidism, doc wanted to delay puberty to give her more time to grow. First three month dose didn't seem to stop her puberty, so doc ordered increased dose. Result was that she almost immediately became moody, cried for no reason, eventually became depressed with suicidal thoughts. We're talking about a ten year old here. This is supposed to be a rare side effect, but it wasn't rare enough in our case. Beware. If given a choice, do the one-month dose even if it's more convenient, if the patient has a bad reaction it will wear off more quickly, Our daughter started feeling herself again about 9 weeks into the 12 week dose.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/19/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the 3 month shot for suspected endo. My heavy periods completely stopped with the first shot and pain during sex decreased a lot. The drug did exactly what it was suppose to do, and most of the side effects (I also took that add-back) were very minimal: only a few hot flashes, that weren't as bad as people made them out to be, some acne and trouble sleeping. The worst side effect was the body aches, which were severe. I am suppose to get another 3 month shot, but I am unsure if I am going to since the body aches were just as bad as the cramps at times.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gbelly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on Lupron Depot- Leuprolide 11.25mg 3 month injection April 23rd, 2015. My OB believes I have endometriosis after MRI scan and ultrasounds showed nothing, he's basing this off of the symptoms which I have almost every system of endo. It took away my pain, no periods for the last 2 of the 3 months. Only symptoms I was grateful to have were minor- some acne, tired all the time, & restless sleep. I had no hot flashes, no joint pain, etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shell5 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 27 and I found out I had stage 3-4 severe endometriosis last year. I had all the horrible symptoms for endo but I honestly just thought it was normal for me. One night, I woke up with terrible, terrible pain in my lower abdomen. Turned out I had grapefruit sized cysts INSIDE both of my ovaries and they were leaking blood into my abdomen. I had emergency surgery to break open the cysts and I also had a laproscopy. My doctor managed to save my ovaries but wanted me to start the lupron injection. I didn't want to at first and tried a holistic approach but my endometriosis was just too far gone for that. More pain came my way which led to more ultrasounds which showed that my cysts were back..after just three months. Thankfully they weren't as big as before..yet. so I got the Lupron injection, because the pain was too unbearable. I've gotten the injection 3 times since last year and once it wears off I'll will be moving on to the Mirena IUD in the near future. Lupron side effects vary for everyone but yes they can be tough to deal with at times. I get horrible hot flashes many times throughout my day and also at night. I've experienced nausea, headaches, mood swings, short term memory loss, fatigue (especially after the 3rd injection), sore joints and muscles, and loss of sex drive. Hot flashes and fatigue have been constant though. I tried the pill for hot flashes and that just gave me more problems. I would recommend lupron, it really helped give my body a break from the end. If I didn't take it, I would have been back in the hospital. I also recommend following the special diet for endometriosis. It really helps me and can't imagine not following it.. I don't eat gluten, soy, dairy and stay away from meats that aren't hormone free. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/6/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 53 and have endometriosis. I've taken Lupron for a year now. It stopped my period. It has helped me tremendously give me a life back as my periods were so incapacitating with the heavy bleeding and PMS/bloating beforehand for years and year except during pregnancies. The downside is the constant hot flashes and night sweats. I also have mood swings,a lot of memory loss and achy hip bones. I suppose you have to outweigh what is worse and what is easiest to deal with.In my case I would rather deal with the side effects then having to live my life around my periods and be in pain every month. I am going to stop the Lupron soon and my hope is that I will be in a "natural" menopause and periods will just be a bad memory! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
schooldaze | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/30/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a horrible medication that I would never recommend, nor will I take it again. I had two injections, one in June and the other in September of 2013. They did help my fibroids to shrink and I was scheduled for third injection in December when I realized that all the physical problems I had been having since the summer had been caused by the Lupron Depot. I've had severe joint and muscle pain, especially in my right shoulder, stiff neck, muscle weakness, balance problems, and nerve problems as well (numbness, tingling). I continue to have pain in my right arm and shoulder and I've lost range of motion. Massage and chiropractic have had limited results and I will probably be scheduling an MRI soon to see exactly what the extent of the damage has been to my shoulder. The medication also did not stop my period like it was supposed to. Since September however I've started juicing, and in December I started eating a mostly raw food diet, and these have helped me to lose weight and the fibroids have continued to shrink. And finally this month (March 2014) I had a very light period, but it's been six months since the last injection so I credit the dietary changes I've made. At this point I'm just hoping and praying the damage that's been done is not permanent. I would never advise anyone to take this harmful drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JbearsMom | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/21/2014
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter started this medication at the age of 7 yearsold. She was 5-2", wore a size 7 shoe, and 125 lbs. 1year later months later, she has severe depression, anti-social behavior at school, sleep walks and has full conversations in her sleep, lethargic and we have to force her to play sports, she has gained 30 lbs in a year even though she is consisently in the gym and non-stop sports (by force), grown 2 inches, 3 shoe sizes and has full acne. The side effects outweigh the good byfar.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/19/2014
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
swamprat41 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/6/2014
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on for 15 months, before, during and after Radiation Treatments for Prostate cancer. Side effects: continual fatigue, hot flashes/sweats, memory challenges, swollen calves/feet, swollen hands, joint pain/aches in legs & hands, body hair loss, numbing down right arm & hand. Zero libido. Mild pain sensations over lower body mostly during sleep time. Restless sleep, therefore fatigue during daytime. While benefits have been favorable, side effects have been challenging to say the least.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2014
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One month

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 55-64 | Male | Patient
12/5/2013
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Between blood pressure going up and the side effect that we're not explained to me I would take it again if give the chose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missgrowtea | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/9/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with endometriosis in Spring of 2013. Lupron honestly saved my life! For 6 months I felt normal. My pain was gone and I took control of my life back. I started out on the monthly depot. Not sure of the side effects etc., I wanted to play it safe. First month was a little ruff. I had body aches for few days, hot flashes, and night sweats. Second month my Dr. prescribed me the add back therapy as well and that immediately subsided the side effects. My hot flashes were minimal, night sweats were gone and I felt like a brand new person. Month 3, I decided to get the 3 month depot. At the end of my 6 months, cramping started to return, got a normal period one month after being n the Lupron. Heavy bleeding again, bad cramping and along came severe depression. I am SO glad I had 6 months of peace and life. I am back at square one and wish I could have went on the Lupron longer. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blotchy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had lupron injection for 3 months, I admit it stopped heavy flow of menstrual for a few months but had horrible side affects, hot flashed, sweats, major rashing and itching, acutal welts everywhere on my body I would not take nor can I take this medication again almost 11 months after 1st injection and still have side affects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KTJ10 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/5/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I dont care what anyone says, I love the lupron shot! It is the only thing that has taken away the pain and constant heavy bleeding. My only wish is that they come up with something that can be taken continuously and not just in 6 month intervals. Yes I did have side effects like hot flashes and decreased breast size but I would gladly take that over severe pain and constant horrible bleeding!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nubianqueen7 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received this injection to stop the extremely heavy periods I had been experiencing for several months. The bleeding was so bad that I had been hospitalized for low hemoglobin, which I had no idea is what was wrong with me. The doctor gave me the shot which he obviously hoped would control the bleeding; it didn't and I bleed even more than before, for three months straight. Finally had a partial hysterectomy but the side effect of this drug was not worth the drama I have been and still deal with over three months later. I was been hoping that there is a way to completely remove it from my system because I got the shot in May and still feel the effect now to which I have to endure the docs telling me how eventually it should subside. Give me a freakin break! I hope it works for some ladies, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it if you have fibroids and have decided to have a partial hysterectomy. It's simply not worth it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WeeDee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from severe endometriosis. I had two surgeries, the second surgery it completely covered my ovaries. Dr. suggested Lupron Depot shots (I actually had 4 months of it). I am now divorced earlier than I had planned (I planned on doing it in the future, but not at the moment) and I know it is because of this drug. I am a very logical person. While receiving these shots, I seriously was not myself. I couldn't stand even looking at my husband. I was irrational, emotional, crying over nothing. While this did work for my health issue, I don't think it's worth the risk of the side effects it can cause. I have decreased bone density, even though I took two other drugs to stop that from happening. I also have memory loss - I actually don't have memories of certain time periods during treatment. I would not recommend this as a treatment. Beside all of the other menial side effects (night sweats, etc.) While I realize some people don't have the side effects, I don't think it is worth the risk that you might have them. My whole life changed because of it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More