Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

does this medication cause ankle swelling?

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I can't take the leg cramps any longer. I quit taking it last week.

Shared reviews and ratings

Queenant | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/10/2017
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only course that lowered my LDL without also lowering my HDL. I have come to this site because I have severe leg (thigh to toes) pain and severe leg cramps (thigh as well as calf), but I also have fibromyalgia, so cannot determine source of lower extremity problem(s). However, tonic water (not diet) has been VERY helpful in immediate relief from cramping, but no effect on pain. Have had great relief with homeopathic Arnica gel topped with DMSO (to have Arnica absorbed very quickly). ArniCare is brand of OTC Arnica; I get DMSO through Amazon. Would appreciate any method to distinguish which pains are due to fibromyalgia from those caused by Vytorin (but would not likely DC the Vytorin--just "curious"). Began Vytorin about 15 years ago; started arnica about 2 years ago.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/25/2011
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medicine has reduced my cholestrol level, however, I do have muscle problems with my legs. The muscle problem is minor most of the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/29/2010
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2010
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
youdoo | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/16/2010
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking it about 3 years, Zocor before that. Vytorin is lots more effective. Feel weakness and fog but attributed it to my age, 78. Might be a side effect. I'm OK with it. Going to try Simvistatin and Ezetimibe in separate tablets. Should get the same effect at less cost.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bevbynite | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2010
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vytorin has been very effective for me but I can no longer take the side effects. I was tired all the time, foggy headed and ached from head to toe, felt like a wrung out wash cloth. Leg cramps were the worst and my legs always seemed to want to crumble under me. It also seemed to affect my bladder because the feelings I was having have stopped since I stopped the medication. My doctor wanted me to stay on it but I just can't take it anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/30/2009
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marylee | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/10/2009
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the 10/80mg Vytorin since March, 2008. Within 8 weeks after starting Vytorin, my overall cholesterol was at 129, my LDL's were 62,my HDL's were at 51, and triglycerides were 82. No other medication has ever brought it this low. After another 3 months, it was still low. In April, 2009, my cholesterol has crept up a little to 152, triglcerides 78, HDL' 58 and LDL's 78. It appears to be working for me for now. I have felt great, no noticeable side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2009
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Vytorin for 3 months it lowered my cholesterol from 124 to 46

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scrap | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/1/2009
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe constipation and flushing of the neck and face that is very uncomfortable when using this drug. It works but the side effects are not fun.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/24/2009
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can't take the leg cramps any longer. I quit taking it last week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xxxxx | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2009
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its effective for me, don't feel anyting bad and my legs feel good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HazlAngl2 | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/28/2009
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gone far with my Vytorin. Liptor didn't work, so doctors put me on Vytorin. Although I have muscle pain sometimes, it works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rod | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/8/2009
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vytorin was able to get me to my goal! FDA posted a new update in January stating that Zetia is safe and other reports were not statistically accurate to report cases of cancer. I think it is Dr. Nissen trying to ruin Merck's reputation because of past conflicts of interest. I am glad there are newer drugs that don't give you the aching and soreness that a higher dose cholesterol agent may give you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jme | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2009
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Looking for what side effects there are

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bulldogger | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/5/2008
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have had great luck with this drug and no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/3/2008
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although my cholestrol levels were lowered (lowest readings of my life) the side effects were horrible, muscle pain, profound weakness, mental "fog". I stopped the meds about 4mths ago, the pain and "fog" are gone but the weakness in my legs continues, though is starting to improve slightly. It wasn't till I was almost housebound by the side effects that my doctor suggested stopping the meds. Needless to say I am looking for a new doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/15/2008
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having feelings of weakness in my legs as if they will crumble on me at any time. Also feel like I am in a fog. I have some pain on & off all over. Also stabbing pain in feet & cause leg to jump.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vytorin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/20/2008
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treatment has been successful, but I saw on the national news that the component(Zetia) may cause cancer, so I stopped taking vytorin. What is your opinion?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cabin man | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/3/2008
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked extremely well in bringing down hdl and ldl counts, to good in fact. After three years, came down with two different cancers in 10 months, skin cancer on the face, and leukemia. Stopped the vytorin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More