Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

154 People found this comment helpful

I just started Cymbalta yesterday for the second time. Only reason I stopped taking it (about two years ago) was because of the cost but now it comes in generic. When I took it the first time I had a GREAT experience with it. Nothing works better for me than Cymbalta so when I heard it came out in generic form I was so happy and couldn't wait to get back on it. I have been dealing with depression/...

Most voted negative review

27 People found this comment helpful

Unfortunately most medications are designed to make you take more medications. Remember a sick society is profitable to Insurance, Medical and Pharmaceutical Industry. If they were to cure you the world would over populate and a very large sector of the financial markets would collapse and destroy the world economy. An economic system based in Hegelian Dialect simply no longer works anymore. But l...

Shared reviews and ratings

C. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had random feelings of adrenaline and jaw pain/vertigo. I wasn't sure if anxiety or tmj was causing my vertigo. My Dr said I was having panic attacks and we both agreed to try cymbalta for possible underlying anxiety. Wow. I am willing to try new things, but I've never been on a medication like this before, and I reacted horribly. I only took one 20mg dose. Within hours, I became cold, shivering, nausea, and extreme sweating. I also had to pee every 20 minutes. I actually became dehydrated after drinking 120oz of water. I felt high and jittery. My appetite was completely gone (I'd chew my food, with no will to swallow the food) and my taste buds changed. I stopped immediately. But it's now 2-3 days since my only dose and I'm still awful. It comes in waves I'm pretty much bed ridden. I'm jittery, nauseated, tense all over, feel like I got hit by a truck. I understand these medicines have side effects and you have to "get used to it over time" but I would consider this to be a very very extreme medication. There's no way I could continue this. I feel like I would end up in the ER. I'm glad I tried it, because I know now I'm obviously not compatible with these meds. Horrible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/23/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cymbalta (Dytrex equivalent) a couple of years ago for my Rheumatoid Arthritis ( in conjunction with another medication for my RA). My Doctor said that Cymbalta is a very safe drug with very little side-effects; he didn’t mention anything about the withdrawal side-effects (I’m not sure if he really even knew the full extent of the withdrawal symptoms). Now, in 2022, my Arthritis is under control so I am happy to gradually wean off the Cymbalta. A couple of weeks into weaning off this medication, I was already going through hell, and I haven’t even taken it for a long period like some of the poor people who have commented in the last few years. I suffered from constant diarrhoea, nausea, dizziness, brain-zaps, sleeping problems. A few months further on into weaning off the Cymbalta, things were starting to get worse - I was getting constant ‘Hyperhidrosis’ (severe sweating of the heels, palms, underarms) - to the point that I was losing a lot of electrolytes in my body, and went to Emergency because I didn’t know what was wrong with me and why I wasn’t feeling better (I also had a viral cold at the same time, to complicate things more); I also realised that I was getting serious ‘Anxiety attacks’. As a normal thing, I just get a ‘little’ bit of anxiety at times, but Cymbalta has made everything so bad! I get anxiety attacks especially at night when I’m alone, I feel so scared to be alone by myself, I suddenly have an uncontrollable fear of death, fear of everything that threatens my safety and my life, I can’t even explain why I fear, I just feel that I fear, without even knowing what exactly it is that I fear, things are just so literally crazy! I don’t feel like I am myself, my head always feels so cloudy, unclear, fuzzy; I feel a deep sense of hopelessness, depression, lacking motivation in doing anything, even the things that I use to enjoy doing before; I have memory loss, I use to be a very alert and switched-on type of person, now not anymore. I feel my life has been ruined, and my good future has been prematurely taken away from me. I don’t know if this anxiety attack will ever go away entirely, I don’t know if I will ever have a normal life like I did pre-Cymbalta. I pray for all those who have and will suffer from this drug, and can only hope that eventually the withdrawal effects may miraculously taper off. If I knew how bad the withdrawal side-effects were, I would ‘NEVER’ have taken Cymbalta, I would have tried some other drug for my RA. The withdrawal symptoms are so bad that it’s not worth taking Cymbalta because in the process you will gain more serious problems, some of them may even last for a long time, whether they may be permanent, I do not know. It is my hope, for the sake of us all, that they are not permanent withdrawal effects, such as my very scary and debilitating and paralysing ‘anxiety attacks’. May we all help and support each other through this hellish journey. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ammoody | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/22/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking cymbalta for anxiety about a year and a half ago. Once I got past the initial symptoms after about 3 weeks it has helped me so much! I had tried several other medications in the past and cymbalta has been absolutely amazing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert Mull | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being prescribed Cymbalta for fibromyalgia pain, I took pill on 9/15/22 another on 9/17/22. The second night I began having painful urination which became progressively worse over the next two days. To add, I stopped taking the pills after the second one. The urine flow gradually got less and less with no control. On the fifth morning, unine flow was almost non existent. Had to go to the ER and have catheter put in to empty bladder. A very painful and sleepless experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/10/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had fairly mild ongoing pain and occasional numbness in extremities and joints. Doctor insisted I try Cymbalta. In my experience, pain is much worse. I started taking Cymbalta three different times at 20mg 2xday. After a couple of days I felt kind of numb all over, which was concerning even though the pain relief was welcome. Then an increase in pain not only in "the usual" spots for me, but total body pain from head to toe. Everything hurts. And even though my doctor told me to continue the Cymbalta, that the "side effects" would lessen after 6 weeks, I couldn't stand the pain. I completely stopped taking it a months ago and I am still experiencing all-over pain especially in mid and upper back, left hip, and ongoing headaches that I wasn't having before. This is horrible. I wish I had never taken it. Nothing else was different in my life, all I did was take Cymbalta, and the pain started. What else could it be.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cherie C. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted to write a review as someone who has taken this medication for 6 months and actually given it a chance. I had lower back pain that varied between sharp and dull/aching most of the time. Advil and Flexeril only did so much. I started very small because I am sensitive to most meds. I'd take 10mg for a week and increase to 40mg after 2-3 weeks. I somehow have zero side effects now and the pain is like 95% gone! Amazing really. The only issue I had early on was indigestion which went away by taking it with food. So definitely give this one a try, at least for pain. It may help a ton! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Simmy Balta | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/4/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Cymbalta for years has made my depression go away. The other fantastic side effect is the easing of my osteoarthritis pain. The only situation it does not seem to conquer is anxiety. I need something to take when my husband is driving. My lack of control over the car shoots my blood pressure up for sure. He is a good driver, but I am overly anxious sometimes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not help with the pain. I was severely nauseated the whole time I used this. After only 5 weeks I had to stop because I was constantly throwing up

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Suanne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/24/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The benefits are amazing. My lower back pain is 95% gone! The first week's side effects are off putting. But, hang in there. The benefits are worth it. I had nausea and anxiety for about a week. But, feel wonderful, now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marissa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am bipolar and was misdiagnosed as depressed and this is the worst medicine I have ever been on. This medicine stopped my period for 3-4 months (no I am not pregnant) and made me break out severely and made my manic episodes severely worse. I smashed my phone and have never felt more destructive and worse in my entire life. Maybe if you’re depressed this would work for you but for the love of god if you’re bipolar DONT TAKE THIS!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/19/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My muscle/joint pain had become so severe I was willing to try anything. Since I also had anxiety and depression, probably linked with the pain, Cymbalta sounded like the perfect prescription. WRONG! I took it 2 days and had some nausea, stomach pain, headache (my whole head basically), and felt spaced out. On the third day (yesterday) I woke with severe paranoid anxiety like I haven't had in 20 years. I didn't take any more Cymbalta. Last night I barely slept and this morning woke again in this hell of dark anxiety. I don't know how long this will go on. My doctor said to keep taking it for at least 6 weeks and the side effects would eventually go away. No. I'd rather have pain, mild anxiety and depression AND A LIFE. As well as be able to sleep. I don't have 6 weeks to waste in hell, waiting to see if this medication actually helps.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Poison | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 20mg at night before bed, spent the rest of the night getting gradually more dizzy and nauseous. Couldn't remain conscious for the following 24 hours for any great length of time. Nausea is persistent, stomach pain, and a feeling of being high or having a highly undesirable state of altered consciousness is still lingering. Dizzy. This might as well be poison. I've refused man made drugs my entire life because I've always known that side effects are often much worse than any potential benefit. If you want to suffer through the sickness just to become another chemically dependent zombie on this planet, that is on you. I will find natural remedies to deal with the nerve pain I live with. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These pills are no joke. I took one dose first thing in the morning, and it threw me into the absolute worst anxiety I’ve ever experienced (as in, I had to call an ambulance because the physical reaction was so severe). I learned later that I’d experienced serotonin syndrome. Jitteriness, heart palpitations/increased heart rate, nausea, diarrhea, and sheer terror. The next week I learned about the LAWSUIT associated with the medication. How did my practitioner not know about this?! Anyway, please be careful. Do your research. Ask a lot of questions. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oh my goodness cymbalta made me feel so sick, nausea, the runs, stomach ache, dry mouth, dry eyes, took it for 2 days I just couldn't take it anymore may work for some but wasn't for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mabu | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was finally diagnosed with fibromyalgia and that in and of itself was a relief to finally be believed (two years of steady decline with no results for what was ailing me) I was told I could start cymbalta to help with nerve pain and chronic fatigue! I was so excited to start this medicine! I took a 20 mg pill on Thursday morning….a bit later I felt nauseous, which was mentioned, and I did take with food. I slept almost all day or tried to as I was exhausted and nauseous. I still took the next 20mg dose the next day as I was told the side effects would last a week or two. The next day I became irritable and agitated, I felt cold than hot, irritable to noise, light and temperature. I couldn’t hardly eat or drink. I was told I’d have dry mouth. I’ve smoked pot before and I understand cottonmouth! This was like constant electric current to my tongue. I haven’t taken a dose since the second one and I’m just barely staring to feel normal after 48 hours. Scary as hell! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frances Gutheil | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 58 year old bilateral amputee and was placed on this because of a nerve in my above knee leg that would just drive me crazy and lower back pain. The jitteriness and heart racing, not to mention having to deal with severe acne breakout that i haven't had in 30 years, and all this seems to do is increase my anxiety. I rarely leave the house now, no desire to interact with anyone. Just thinking about going to a new store puts me right into a panic attack, not full blown by the feelings at the beginning of one. I was previously prescribed 3mg clonozepam a day where I lived for the past 22 years and it had things under control. We moved back to our home state (NY) and all of a sudden these doctors seem to think that my use of clonozepam was too much and "with people my age they don't like to see them using something so addictive. So, now on this horrid drug I have absolutely NO backup when the nerve wakes me up in the middle of the night laating for days at times. This is crazy. I have high blood pressure (controlled with medication, pacemaker and history of panic attacks) and yet the "pain" doctor (who is an anesthesiologist with no idea how to talk to people) and my PCP LPN put me on this crazy. How do I tell them it's making me crazy? My whole left side tingles and I now have tremors on my left side (LPN has me going to a neurologist now, thank goodness) - but what else had to happen to get skeins to realise that I was FINE with the clonozepam!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cymbalta for fibromyalgia. It didn’t eliminate my pain. It was ok for depression and anxiety. Not great. It made me stupid and sluggish. My brain was not working the same way and it didn’t help me feel motivated. The sides effects coming off it are awful. Ear ringing forever and felt dizzy. Not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
daveb | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My PA put me me on this med for anxiety and pain control. I can say, without exaggerating, that it's been an absolute nightmare. After 2 weeks of increased anxiety bordering on paranoia, nausea, headaches, sweats and insomnia I stopped taking it. But the hell continues. It's been 5 days off it and still no sleep, continued nausea and headaches, depression, and exhaustion. It may be wonderful for some. Poison for me. BTW, my brother-in-law was prescribed Cymbalta and had a similar experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jroberts | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/6/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication should be taken of the market I went into serotonin syndrome. It may have helped with pain, but I was so impaired I had to call off work. I took 30mg at 8am and felt high, tingly, shivering, erratic, shaking, drunk, impaired judgement, heart rate increase and decrease, its been 24 hours and im still coming off of one pill its terrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cymbalta User | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/4/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I added Cymbalta 30 mg to Remeron 45 mg and Seroquel 50 mg 2x/day. The Remeron and Seroquel had my depression and some of my anxiety in check, but my OCD was off the charts. For me, Cymbalta has been a game changer. For the first time in 20 years (most of it spent on a Lexapro/Wellbutrin combination), I reel like my OCD is in check. I have not had much by way of side effects, except that adding the Cymbalta to the other two medications has made me really photo sensitive, and I need to be really careful in the sun. The one down side is the really short half-life. If I miss a dose, then by about 1:00 that day, I can feel it and I am really down for the day. So far that has only happened twice. Overall adding the Cymbalta has been a great move.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More