Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

It worked.Settled my cough and cleared my lungs, but made me feel very dizzy. Next time I will only take it at night.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

WOULD NOT EVER TAKE THIS MEDICINE AGAIN!!! I HOPE NO ONE ELSE DOES. I TOOK A PILL IN THE MORNING TIME THEN ONE THAT NIGHT BEFORE I WENT TO BED. WOKE UP FEELING VERY STRANGE MY WHOLE BODY WAS TINGLING AND MY HEART WAS BEATING FAST I REALY THOUGHT I WAS DYING I WAS TALKING TO GOD AND GOD HELPED ME. I WENT TO EMERGENCY ROOM BY AMBULANCE I HAD TO GET A SHOT TO CALM ME DOWN. I THREW THE PILLS AWAY AND ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Glad it worked! | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did not take the MD version so cannot comment on it. But the maximum strength version turned my cough, flu, and wheezing around. It works for me...thank goodness. .ive not been this I'll in ages

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carolina | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I would have read the reviews first! The diarrhea was bad and my family said I looked like I was high. Will not take it again! Regular Mucinex does not give me any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caaamms | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ALL THE STORIES OF THIS STUFF MAKING YOUR CRAP YOUR BRAINS OUT IS TRUE. So like I had a little cough that I got from post nasal drip. The box for musinex DM said it was fast acting and long lasting. Never had it before but thought I’d try it. At first I loved it. It got rid of the cough very quick. BUT THATS WHEN THE DIARRHEA CAME. I was at my job running to the bathroom every half hour! It also leaves you with just a very sickly feeling in your stomach afterwards too. I mean if you really need a quick fix for your cough it’ll do it but there is definitely a price to pay with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill g | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the Mucinex DM max. As I read some of the reviews on here a lot of people talked about getting diarrhea. I definitely have a bad case of it so it’s definitely the Mucinex DM max

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
what the heck | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2022
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm looking at this website and reading reviews because after taking one tablet of Mucinex DM for cough this morning, I'm having terrible diarrhea, and even some dizziness. It has me wondering. I see "explosive diarrhea" mentioned in some reviews, and i concur. However, I'm not coughing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took for a nagging cough that I’ve had the last week, big mistake. Within 2-3 hours of taking the first dose, I woke up with horrible stomach pain and bad diarrhea, along with nausea. NOT worth it, will not take again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kylecroc | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s currently 2am where I am right now. I took Mucinex at 5pm (9 hours ago) and my stomach has been in horrible knots ever since. Forced myself to vomit twice already. The only relief I’ve had in 9 hours is the immediate moments after I vomited, where the pain would subside for 10-15 minutes before coming back just as strong. I don’t take much medicine, but this is easily the worst meds I’ve ever taken in my life. Never again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Normally (sparingly) I take regular Musinex but yesterday I decided to take one Musinex DM. Took it on empty stomach in morning. A couple hours later I was on the toilet and it was so much like a cleanout for a colonoscopy and I've had a few. Quick weight loss! No pain, just liquid release. No brain fog like others wrote about. I might have to use this as my go-to laxative. But, be prepared to not go out of house. I will stick with regular Musinex for the tickle cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Winnie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
4/6/2022
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Whenever I get a cold, my sinuses become extremely, nearly unbearably, congested. Mucinex DM is the only medicine that clears my severe congestion. BUT... hoo boy, the side effects are real. When on Mucinex, I feel tired, dazed, and unfocused, sometimes even high, or like I'm floating. No appetite. Explosive diarrhea, at least at the beginning. Urine smells like the Mucinex tablet. Dry mouth. I'm self-employed and work from home, so thankfully I don't have to leave the house when I'm on Mucinex. I've never taken more than the directed dosage, and I always stop taking it as soon as my sinuses clear. It really does work to clear sinuses. You'll have to weigh the pros and cons for yourself. For me, it's worth it... but only just. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/4/2022
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took one pill at night and another pill the next day in afternoon. Terrible side effects. Dizzy. Light headed and teeth clenching. They lasted until the next day. Wow

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2022
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes this helped with my congestion but boy if I would have known the strong effects I wouldn't have taken it at work. I became severely dizzy and confused. Couldn't even remember how to count past the number 12, LITERALLY. I was slurring my words and basically was a walking drunk. Would not recommend this drug unless you severely need congestion relief and you can stay at home.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tara | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/20/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Mucinex DM after a cold that left me with post nasal drip and a cough from a tickle in my throat. I took it before bed because that is when I cough the most and was hoping it would help me sleep. The first dose I had no trouble with really. Some slight stomach cramps, but I slept well and was just a bit drowsy the next morning. The second night was a different story! I woke up about 3.5 hours after taking it with dizziness and broke out in a cold sweat and shaky. This turned to nausea, diarrhea and anxiety. It lasted until about 12 hours after I took the dose. I will Not be taking this medicine again and feel the company should have better descriptions of possible side effects. After reading other posts, it certainly sounds like this is common! It did help with cough and congestion though, just not worth the side effects for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mucinex-DM, where DM stands for diarrhea max. Took 3 doses, over the course of 14hrs. DM developed around a hour after the 2nd dose. Cough suppressant effectiveness 4/10. Found better success with Dyslum.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alexa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I thought that taking this would help clear my cough, but all it gave me was diarrhea. It was like an hour after taking it when I felt a sharp pain in my side and knew what was about to happen. I’m a college kid, and it was scary for me to have to fend my way through my hall mates to find a bathroom that I knew no one would be in. After like 10 minutes on the toilet, I took some imodium to stop the diarrhea and so far it’s working. It’s been a couple hours since I last took the mucinex and I never will again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MaddiB39 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2021
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only taken 2 doses. One yesterday morning and one again this morning. I have serious diarrhea and I feel very nauseas. I thought maybe I got a stomach bug along with the cold, but now after reading other peoples experience, I know it’s the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilly | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2021
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this because I’m very muscus-y and have a slight cough. I got serious diarrhea and it somehow made me feel a little worse. People will say it’s because it’s helping you get better, but honestly I don’t know about that. Looking at these reviews make me question it. I thought he diarrhea was coming from my sickness, but I finally made the connection and it’s definitely the mucinex. It only happens when I take it. I also noticed it doesn’t suppress my cough too much

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mucinex DM was recommended to me by my NP when I was experiencing severe allergies with sinus congestion and a tight non-productive nagging cough. I took the first dose as directed with a full glass of water more than 8oz. and it did help my congestion and cough but caused me to have frequent urination and very weird foul smelling urine. I only took one dose because I didnâ??t not like running to the bathroom every 10 minutes and that was over 24 hours ago and my urine still smells like the Mucinex tablets but I no longer have the increased frequency. I am not taking any other new medicines or supplements so this is really weird for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Agib | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2020
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible! Makes my teeth clench/become sore, makes me have nausea, I get dizzy with hot and cold spells... thought I had a fever!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mar | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/15/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to the doctor because of nasty green/yellow/brown mucus, she advised that I take musinex DM. So, that�s what I did. Would�ve been cool to know that it causes horrible stomach pains, but before they started, I was dizzy and light headed. Like I had been drugged by someone. Mind you, I�m a mother of two little ones, so I had to lay them down and try and lay down myself but when I did the stomach pains got so bad I actually had to get in my knees and try and sleep like an infant would with their butt in the air. The stomach pains eased a bit. But wow. I still feel weird in my head. I don�t think I�ll be taking this ever again. I have only taken two doses. Still coughing pretty badly. I don�t know how I feel about it honestly. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DONTTAKEMUCINEX | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm literally writing this review while sitting on the toilet due to the EXPLOSIVE diarrhea this medication has caused. I took it right before breakfast and experienced light headedness, dizziness, and brain fog. This worsened throughout the morning and I was disoriented and unbalanced. My mouth had a weird sensation and my tongue felt like it was getting bigger. I feared I was having an allergic reaction but when I looked in the mirror my tongue was it's normal shape and size and my husband said nothing looked out of the ordinary. About 30 minutes after that I had an ungodly stomach pain and LOUD stomach activity. I have been sitting on the toilet ever since and having violent bowel movements just about every 20 minutes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More