Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

I am only going on my third week of this med. So far it has helped. I was hoping to get some more feedback from someone who has taken it for a longer period of time. I also wanted to know if anyone has experienced Diarheaa as a side effect and if it was a temp. thing.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I need to know if anyone was prescribed capral once a dayat 333mg? My prescription says to take it once a day

Shared reviews and ratings

Moman | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2010
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking this med for two weeks now and have no thought of drinking. Even had dinner at a local bar that I went to all the time and didn't want to or need to drink. The gas issues is up there but a small price to pay for not drinking. Recommended big time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2010
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am glad to see I am not the only one to have bouts of gas and loose bowel, have been on the drug for about 2 months, has lowered my kravings by 98%. Is worth the tummy troubles I think....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2010
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I quit drinking on my own 7 years ago and started drinking again 6 months ago. I have been taking this medication for 2 1/2 weeks and my craving are gone. I would recommend this for anyone needing help with cravings atleast try it. The only side effects I have is lots of energy, my house is spotless. I only take 3 pills a day not six, but I only weigh 90lbs my doctor said six a day I will let him know when I have my check-up that 3 is working for me. I know with this medication I will quit again and wont make the mistake of believing you can quit for years and be cured. Once you quit it has to be forever, if you try to social drink you will end up being a heavy drinker again very quickly, I learned my lesson, but without help for my cravings I dont think I would be sober today. Good luck and stay strong.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2009
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I still feel a desire to drink. This is no miracle drug but I guess it's helped. I've only been on it for a little over 2 weeks. Maybe it will get better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2009
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried Campral 3 years ago and can still remember it working well at the time. However, for whatever reason, I deliberately chose to drink even though I didn't really want to. I probably wasn't ready to give up my relationship with alcohol. Afterward, I quit taking it which was probably because Campral loses its effectiveness when drinking on it. I made this mistake at the cost of much physical and emotional stress as well as more alcohol related problems mounting up over the last 3 years. For quit some time, I have been stubbornly trying to quit on my own but finally decided to go back to that prescription. It's day 5, and the drug seems to have kicked in. My mental state is like night and day, and I didn't experience any cravings yesterday. By now, I would still be fighting it tooth and nail not to drink, especially if I had to work the next day. My doctor prescribed 1 pill 3 times a day for the first week followed by 2 pills 3 times a day thereafter. He said I may or may not have to take it the rest of my life. However, given the stakes, I plan to chose the former even if I get the feeling that I don't need it anymore or experience some of the side effects that others have commented about. My doctor also prescribed Fluoxetine (Prozac)to me in the case that I don't feel better emotionally after 3 weeks of Campral; I came to the doctor feeling pretty depressed. I'm thinking I may not need the anti-depressent afterall, but that's just my case. I rate this drug with 5 stars across the board with the assumption that it continues to work it's magic. I don't plan on discontinuing due to any of the petty side effects mentioned because, for me, the side effects of drinking are much more unbearable. I also plan to take it with the 3 meals a day so that I don't make the mistake of forgetting doses which people on other review sites mention can be problematic and led to their discontinued due use due to frustration. Why didn't I begin taking this again earlier??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMTAION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More