Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

53 People found this comment helpful

I had stage4 breast cancer with severe bone mets. After 6 mos of Abraxine my cancer does not show up on any CT/PET scan. I have been cancer free for 4 mos.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I finished my Abraxane treatment a little over 1 year ago. I still have severe numbness and swelling in my hands and legs. I also had substantial vision loss almost immediately after my first treatment. I was in terrible pain during the treatment. I think that the prescribing physician should tell people that it will age you 20 years, on the spot, and you will never be the same. My doctor tried th...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2021
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m triple negative breast cancer with mets to the brain (twice) and neck tumors, had surgeries to take care of that, brain radiation (twice) and now I’m on abraxane and an immunotherapy. I’m about to start my 6th month on Abraxane. I have experienced feet and finger neuropathy, ocasional constipation, fatigue and hair loss. It’s still tolerable and I’m still alive to take care of my teenage twins. I’m thankful for this. I gave up sodas and fast food. I drink lots of water and home made meals to try to take better care of my liver, kidneys, intestine while on chemo so I can finish the treatment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellecia | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/31/2021
Condition: HR negative, HER2 negative, PD-L1 positive breast cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tumor shrunk could only be seen with the ultrasound in breast and lymph node ,light nausea and my hair started grown back only thing neuropathy in my fingers and around my mouth , aching joints and prickly heat .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hopeful | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2019
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just finished one session of Herceptin and Abraxane and one session of Abraxane. I developed hives/rashes on my wrist, shoulder, neck and back. Went to see dermatologist prescribed claritin and triamcinolone. Itches continues. Anyone else experience this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy Camper | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Breast cancer that spread first to my brain. then recurred in my brain and both lung, this is when my doctor treated me with abracene. I have been in remission for nearly 5 years now. I'm BRCA positive and have had bilateral br ca, so I've had a lot of chemo. I have periph neuropathy, headaches. But I'm alive!!! I have a son with a debate disability and these last 5 years have made a huge impact on his life because I was here to help him. Joint pain during trtmt, and neuropathy. Xeloda with radiation to my brain for the brain meta. Thank you Abraxane, I believe you saved my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/16/2015
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Completed my 10th treatment. 3 weeks on 1 week off. Mild side effects including hair loss, fatigue, metallic taste, constipation week of treatment which I use Merrulax for. Stool softners were not effective. Good nutrition and hydrating is very important. Cancer markers have all decreased and recent PET scan showed significant improvement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cgw | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2015
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received about 6 months of treatment; mostly 3 Fridays in a row and 1 week off. I have now started to experience some numbness and pain in my fingertips and toes. A CT scan now shows that lesions in the liver have increased in size and a couple new ones; other areas stable. So I will be switching to eribulin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cgw | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tomorrow I receive my 3rd week of treatment of my second round (3 Fridays in a row, then a week off). I have had minimal side effects so far; some minor fatigue, hair started to thin out so I got it shaved and got a wig, but there is still hair there! The steroid that I get right before my IV treatment causes some sleeplessness that night after treatment. Can't really speak to effectiveness right now as we've not measured the cancer antigen or done a scan since I switched to Abraxane.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
29 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/10/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Moms 2nd round of 3wks Bone pain this dose. No Steroid given d/t mouth sores and skin sores during 1st round.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nannie17 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just going to start it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 15 abraxane treatments and tolerated them very well. The only side effect was very thin hair. My cancer antigen numbers keep going up on abraxane so my doctor is switching me to another chemo therapy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KarenB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/3/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stage IV IBC/TNEG - Spread in both lungs. I have had excellent results; thin hair which I shaved. No other side effects at all, but steriods are causing weight gain. Finishing 3rd round (3 weeks on/1 off). IBC significantly reduced and not visible; reduction to lymph nodes, all 3 breast tumors reduced to 1/4 of size, lung lesions reducing. Very satisfied with treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
guidepost | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/15/2013
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband almost had 2 cycles but could not take this. His white blood count went very low and will probably have to stop it. He is very tired, hair loss, aches in legs and feet and some nausea and stomach cramps. I thought it would be good but I think he should come off of it. He will get a scan next week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2013
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall, I've had some nausea, extreme fatigue, and numbing in my lips and lower face. My cancer markers have gone up but I've only been on the drug for 1 month. I'll write another review after a few months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2013
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2013
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I too had mets to the bone and liver, had TAC first time round, definitely a lot easier than before. Three weeks on 1 week off, just finished third week of third month and am having two very much needed weeks off. WCC very low probably due to lack of sleep caused by menopause, haven't wanted to use sleeping pills but think the benefit of sleep is greater than the loss of acid gain. No nausea at all, hair thinning, blood nose third week of each cycle too. Had my first lots of scans after the first weeks of third month and significant tumour reductions, hope to have no more than five months on treatment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/13/2013
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read all the horror stories about the possible side effects of Abraxane but after 2 months I have expereinced very few. My hair has thinned. I feel some fatigue but getting up and moving around makes it go away. I am doing 3 weeks on and 1 off. the first 2 weeks are pretty easy the third I get some tingling in my fingertips. The most pronounced effects are the day after the infusion I feel as if my hair has been cut and the pieces of cut hair are itching me, strange feeling. My tumor markes dropped 500 points after 2 infusions so it sure seems to be working. Fluids are terribly important drink until you think you can't hold anymore. Just think of it as water goes in chemo comes out. Stool softener never did a thing for me so my med team said to take senna a natural vegetable laxative - worked like a charm.I asked my med team if I would get those bad side effects and they replied that if I didn't after the first two infusions that no I wouldn't. One word of wisdom: don't sit around in a chemo haze make yourself get up and move around and that haze/fatigue will fade away. I'm stage IV with mets to the bones and liver. Abraxane is do able and I am able to enjoy life so much more. Good luck to all and stay positive.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2013
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agree with the other person that said take a stool softener two days before the treatment.It would have been nice if I had read this before embarking on the abraxane journey. The antacids are important the first three days after the treatment. The acid is bad.Now I have that awful rash on my hands and forearms after month three of the treatment.No hair is not a biggie. Been to that style before.Month three kills the taste buds worse than month one and two .besides that, there is an awful metallic taste to deal with too. Oh yes lets not forget the bloody nose at the most inopportune moments .Tiredness is mild compared to the first round of chemo .It's very tolerable .I still need a scan to determine how much more chemo I need .I'm grateful that there are meds to keep me alive even if they don't allow me to feel my best.Bottom line.... I am still alive.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

abdominal pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAT | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2012
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am starting my 5th month of treatment{every Friday for 3 weeks then 1 week off). My CT scan is showing complete reduction in my lympnods and drastic reduction in the size of the tumors in my liver. My worse side-effects are complete hairloss, numbness of fingers, toes and lips/face and fatigue. I also get a rash(like eczema) on my hands and shortness of breath for a week after the 3rd week of treatment. However, I consider these minor due the effectiveness of tumor reductions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/4/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have experience pain in my bones, ringing in my ears, blisters on my hands and sinus problems, including nose bleeding. My CA125 numbers have come down significantly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More