Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I don't know how diphenhydramine HCL and diphenhydramine citrate differ, but I am very restless with the HCL version and awaken very groggy for hours. I take only 25mg =1 tablet. When I take 1 tablet= 38mg citrate variety I rest well, not groggy. I did take a second tablet once in the middle of the night after awakening feeling fully rested, and even then not groggy next day.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I have been using Alka-Seltzer PM for some time as the other brands don't seem to work for me. If I take one tablet I get about 4 hours of sleep, but will fall asleep again in less than a half hour. If I take both tablets I will wake up feeling very groggy for at least two hours.

Shared reviews and ratings

GSE | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Advil PM: Took two for a temporary sleep issue. Experienced "restless arms" for about 1.5 hours. Did not see this side effect listed on container.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joey | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2013
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am having low grade headaches which I rarely ever have.I also am treated for glaucoma and I am having some minor urinary problems.Can this medication have an effect on these conditions?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dowery | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/21/2011
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works for motion sickness but I like THC better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rdg | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2010
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works like a charm...asleep fairly quickly...a good eight hours<>...wake up refreshed...I take it as MotrimPM

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kitty | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/8/2010
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

slept great, woke up groggy but also felt calm for a change

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
redabogado | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2010
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works as well as prescription sleep aids. I take it with ibuprofen mix.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peter mack | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/21/2009
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Alka-Seltzer PM for some time as the other brands don't seem to work for me. If I take one tablet I get about 4 hours of sleep, but will fall asleep again in less than a half hour. If I take both tablets I will wake up feeling very groggy for at least two hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tbailey | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2009
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always had trouble sleeping and in the past have used Tylenol PM which rarely worked. I finally checked out the active ingredients at the store and decided to try Excedrin PM because of the Diphenhydramine citrate. The first night I took two and slept for 14 hours. When I did wake up I was vary drowsy for at least an hour and a half. Now I only take 1 around 7pm and I go to sleep around 10:30 easily. Works great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
giselshoe | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/29/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking OTC Dighenhydramine HCI 25mg with Acetamineophen 500mg (Family Dollar) store since 6 years. I take it about 2hours before bedtime and I wake up in the morning feeling perfect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hector | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/11/2009
Condition: Reaction due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I have been taking the Excedrin PM I have not had any more allergys and have been sleeping much better and wake up without feeling groogy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bwb30815 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/20/2009
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started having Hives after a skin graft. When I don't take Diphenhydramine (Benadryl)I start itching then then hives start appearing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Flaqui4 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/28/2008
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Advil PM to help me fall asleep, specially if I have a pain in my body due to my period or if I have a cold, and it works extremelly well. I wake up feeling rested and not feeling groggy at all. I highly recommend it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kathryn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/7/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from Insomnia and have found that Diphenhydramine Citrate works much better for me than Diphenhydramine HCL. D-HCL makes me so groggy all the next day, but Citrate does not! I've read many posts around the internet - I'm glad I'm not alone. We are all searching for D-Citrate without pain reliever in it. Can't find :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sleepless on nights off | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2008
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't know how diphenhydramine HCL and diphenhydramine citrate differ, but I am very restless with the HCL version and awaken very groggy for hours. I take only 25mg =1 tablet. When I take 1 tablet= 38mg citrate variety I rest well, not groggy. I did take a second tablet once in the middle of the night after awakening feeling fully rested, and even then not groggy next day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2008
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the drug that is in Advil PM. I have used this a couple of times to assist in sleeping as another medication I am taking sometimes causes insomnia. I find it does help me to fall asleep although it does leave me groggy when I wake up in the mroning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hzilla | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2007
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

does make me drowsy, gives me RLS, hunger and anxiety. dont recommend for sleep assistance

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More