Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

35 People found this comment helpful

On Aug 15,2012, I was unable to have chemo treatment due to low neutrophils in white blood cells. I was given the first shot of neupogen, followed by 2nd and 3rd on following 2 days. After the first shot, I had severe pain in lower back, as well as, pain in other joints. I felt terrible in general, with swelling in some joints and low grade fever. I took hydrocodon-acetaminophen 5-500 to relieve ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I am the patient's neice. We only started the inj this past thursday, so the above questions really do not apply at this time.

Shared reviews and ratings

janho | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received this medication in preparation to donate blood stem cells for my sister who has AML. The injections caused some nasty headaches, mild nausea, and some leg pain. The pain wasn't touched by Tylenol so we had to switch over to oxycodone. Overall though, the pain was so worth it as I was able to successfully donate 6.97 stem cells in just two five-hour sessions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thembbi | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2016
Condition: Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible Pains on my right lower rib, pains on my right hand shoulder, blood in the urine and headaches. had on three injection Friday Saturday and Sunday

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ColbyB | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/22/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Neupogen injections for my entire life due to my Neutropenia. The medicine is effective but it comes with it side effects. It has given me chronic back pain and joint pain which gets worse as I age. I would assume the benefits seem to out way the pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2014
Condition: Peripheral Blood Stem Cell Therapy
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking filgrastim which is Neupogen for 3 days now and I will be receiving 2 more shots tomorrow and Monday the day of my donation. Yes, I fortunately I'm not suffering from cancer and any disease. But I was found dead to be a match with someone that currently is fighting lukemia. And everyone deserves a chance at life and I was lucky enough to be chosen. Back to the medication side effects, I'm feeling like a throbbing pain from my neck to my tailbone. Definitely unpleasant but I'm really trying to tough it out and not take any pain medication. I'm sure my pain is nothing compared to someone suffice from this illness. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mandy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

breast cancer,chemo and surgery completed. unable to use legs as before neupogen shots. no relief from pain meds such as tylenol, hydrocodone, ibuprofen. pain never ends no matter what i take.excercise noneffective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mdraz | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/7/2014
Condition: Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treated 6 months for hodgkin, mid term had problem with white cell count, corrected by 2 shots, each time 5 days before chemo. Had once backpain for 6 hours tolerable without medication, at the time of chemo white cell levels were always OK after neupo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grandmaof5 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/11/2013
Condition: Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received neupogen injections at least three times a week for 6+months. As a result I have limited leg mobility. Since I have been in remission from cancer I have been disabled due mainly from these neupogen injections. I will say though if I had not received them I could not of gotten my chemo treatments on time as scheduled so I'm sure the trade off was worth it. I just get really frustrated with the limited use of my legs and the horribloe pain I still get from these in jections.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jim | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/12/2013
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The stares tell the story

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/19/2013
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the next two days I feel ill from taking this drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mcgdmm | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/10/2013
Condition: Severe Chronic Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works quickly and effectively to boost the neutrophils. It sometimes makes me vomit and gives me ulcers in my mouth. There are flu like symptoms about 8-10 hours after the injections that last 8-10 hours. Occasional "bone marrow pain" i.e. throbbing. I suspect it is related to increased depression also however I cannot find that mentioned in the literature.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ruth | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/3/2013
Condition: Severe Chronic Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have sjogren's syndrone and have been experiencing low white counts over the course of many years. I have been given neuprogen in the past to help fight infection. I am now on a regimen of 300 units every two weeks. My counts have increased. My side affects are weakness, especially in the legs and low grade pain in my bones. I also seem to be retaining fluid. I am thankful that this medication is availabe to help keep my counts up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pete | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2012
Condition: Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On Aug 15,2012, I was unable to have chemo treatment due to low neutrophils in white blood cells. I was given the first shot of neupogen, followed by 2nd and 3rd on following 2 days. After the first shot, I had severe pain in lower back, as well as, pain in other joints. I felt terrible in general, with swelling in some joints and low grade fever. I took hydrocodon-acetaminophen 5-500 to relieve pain. The pain subsided in 3 days. I found side effects of neupogen worse than neulasta. I had chemo again the following two weeks when neutrophils were low again. My Oncologist decided to give 4 neupogen shots spread over 4 days rather than 3 days. It worked beautifully. I just finished the 4th shot yesterday and feel fine. I feel tired and a little weak, but no pain medication was necessary during the 4 days. If not for neupogen, I would not be able to have chemo as my immune system was too low. I am grateful for neupogen and neulasta (which I have had in the past). They do the job of restoring neutrophils in white blood cells which allows me to have chemo to kill cancer cells. The question is do I want to suffer a little to achieve my goal of having chemo to extend my life? Yes! I do.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mikey tryed it | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/24/2012
Condition: Neutrophils Decreased by Medication
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On HCV treatment therapy-Low WBC's Neutrophils expected range 1500-7800_ Mine 610 "one 300mcg Neupogen injection went to 11,674 "Wow". But, med decreases to about 50% in 2 days. Occasional tolerable body aches,feels a bit weird. Slight short nausea, may try leg INJ. I read Neutrophils are like the Cops attacking and killing the bad guys on site. With Neutrogen,the cops are on steroids. To much Neutrogen they turn into the "Keystone cops on steroids with sloppy over kills. The Blood work is important. Over all we are lucky to have a drug that does something so important as to save us from infection with minimal side effects. So take it, deal with it, kill those bad guys, keep up with the blood work, Good LuckRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2011
Condition: Prevent Decreased White Blood Cell Count from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Up all night in screaming pain Tylenol not touching it May stop chemo if I have to continue this med

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mir | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2011
Condition: Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken 480mcg (the higher dose, there's a 300mcg dose too) for three sessions now - they brought my neutrophils, white blood cell count and hematocrit all up - really well! I had one evening of pulsing pain starting from lower back - real misery, but got permission to take ibuprofen and even just 400mg of that knocked the pain out. Have also had extreme pain on defecation once. Aside from these two, and only one lasted a few hours, all subsequent treatments have not really increased joint pain much. They *have* increased nausea/acid/gas, but meds help that. Just keep on the ondonsatron and you'll be ok.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
spanky | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/13/2011
Condition: Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am the patient's neice. We only started the inj this past thursday, so the above questions really do not apply at this time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toxic Shock | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/2/2011
Condition: Severe Chronic Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffer from severe chronic neutropenina. Have been taking this drug since 1998. I has changed my life. It does cause bone pain but I've lived with this so long that I really no longer notice it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LuluMom1980 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2011
Condition: Neutrophils Decreased by Medication
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started my chronic Hep C treatment with Rivabirin 1000mg a day and PegInterferon 180mcg a week, after 2 weeks I already develop very low white blood cell counts bellow 20%, started once a week Neupogen by Roche lab 0.5ml/ 30mu single dose syringe subcutaneous, my white blood cell count went up IMMEDIATELY in 24hrs as opposed as other generic versions of this drug which took 4-5 days to bring count up, sadly most insurance companies will not give you brand name, shame on system, when they have such different effectiveness rates, real shame cut cost in such a great drug.Cost is about $200 a dose/week with no insurance. Worth it. No side effects at all, been on this for about 2 months, and probably will be for another 5 months. Excellent drug! Note bring to room temperature b4 injection and no sting will be felt, doesn't loose pharmacological properties for to this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/6/2010
Condition: Decrease of Neutrophils in the Blood from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only part of this Drug that I found to be unsatisfactory is the joint pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
4/19/2010
Condition: Decrease in Neutrophils of Unknown Cause
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

every since my son has started this treatment his counts has increased and our ER visits has decreased greatly. The only pproblems we are having now is the nosebleeds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More