Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

I have been treated 3 times over 5 years for a MRSA infection that keeps popping up. Each time IV Vanco has been used... 3 days in hospital and 2 weeks at home . Administered over 2 hours (slowly) and no itching, redness or anything. This drug has been a miricle for me and without a doubt saved my hand and foot....possibly even my life. It is the "Big Guns", but all the oral ones failed me and...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Sever allergy reaction Swelling of whole body till the skin split Numbness in fingers and toes Burning pain &blister on hands and fingers still on going for after 1 mo. Red rash at injection site Sever direhrra for more than 2weeks

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/28/2021
Condition: Prevention of Perioperative Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having knee joint replacement, a torn muscle required a second surgery on my knee within 5 weeks. There were concerns of an infection in my knee after taking tests. Less than two weeks into treatment, no infection indicators in my blood work. All blood work was perfect. I drank a lot of fluids, especially milk and water and had no kidney issues show up in my blood work. About a month into the treatment, for a week, I did have dizziness and headaches. Lasted only for a week and drank fluids first thing in the morning when the side affects showed up. Home Healthcare got me setup so it was easy to use, twice a day. Treatment was for six weeks. The nurses from Home Healthcare took care of the site and replacing bandages. At first I thought this would suck, but did not take long to realize the antibiotic was working and was not a big deal. Better than having an infection in my new knee replacement.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2021
Condition: Infection Occurring During or Soon After an Operation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt so much better after receiving this antibiotic in the hospital for a large hematoma post evacuation infection. After 2 doses January 1 and 2, I felt better than i have in a long time. But since then, I cannot get a doctor to prescribe it for me and the issue is still going on and it is now the end of February.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Atyoder | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2020
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Staphylococcus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was started on this drug via IV after being diagnosed with pneumonia. Immediately after starting it, I had severe itching of the scalp. I then began having anxiety type behavior (bouncing legs heavy breathing). I have time gaps associated with this time. After the first two IV treatments, the anxiety went away but then came audio toxicity. Each time was given the medication I would experience auditory hallucinations, a buzzing, and a muffling of sound around me. I am not a fan of this medication and it seems it needs to be further vetted.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
golfshop | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2019
Condition: Skin Infection due to Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had cellulitis diagnosed on the left side of face, took clyndimycin orally without much effect. Was admitted to the hospital and had vancomycin iv's 2 a day for 3 days, showed quick improvement within a day, had a picc put in on last day and did 10 days of iv therapy at twice a day intervals. Had a bout with diahrea one week after therapy was done for 5 days and came out of it after eating probiotic type foods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luckystars | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2018
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was very sick upon arrival to the ER with possible sepsis. I have 3 doses 8 hours apart and felt much better the next day. Of course, I required more antibiotics upon my release but I am so thankful for this drug. No side effects. This is not to be used at older ages however. That is when the difficulty arises.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
D | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2017
Condition: Bone Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As this medicine seems to work well for my infection, it is astandard protcole for my hospital to give this when first addmitted for an infection until cultures can determine the correct medicine to be used. But be warned, to watch the levels that they give you closely. The levels should be at 10 mcg/ml and mine was up to 30. The result of this is perm damage to my kidneys, stage 3 CKF. This stuff is very toxic to the body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thumper | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2016
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on vanco for 3 mo. was very rough at beginning of tx. lots of nausea and vomiting with each iv. These side effects lessen over time with Phenergan. All in all would repeat tx to beat bone and joint infection which became unbearable at times early on. Ensure you have good support in place in the home as this tx can be both physically and mentally taxing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2015
Condition: Infection of a Joint
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a total knee installed five and a half years ago and have had constant swelling of my knee and redness and soreness. February 2015 I was admitted to the hospital with a swollen knee and leg and was given Vancomycin as the antibiotic to see if that would solve the issue with the swollen leg and knee. The doctor prescribing the antibiotic did not instruct the nurses on how to properly dose the medicine and my forearm started to bubble on the tissue and I ended up with severe migraines which I've never had in my life and have had constant headaches ever since and the swelling in my knee continues and the pain is still there. The pain is in my lower knee and it feels as if someone kick you in the shin 24/7.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dondayan | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2015
Condition: Severe Infection caused by Staphylococcal Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 55-64 | Male | Patient
9/7/2015
Condition: Diabetic with Foot Infection due to a Specific Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I have a massive Diabetic hole in my foot, with a serious infection of course. It's been ongoing since May. At first IV with PICC line, went away, then months later returned. I'm back on 1.5 gram, with 2 doses 263 ML a day. But its going on 2 months. CRP cedds rate indicate its gone. No major side effects, my blood level has been stayin at 20 Theraputic Dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DawnE | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2015
Condition: Diabetic with Foot Infection due to a Specific Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a diabetic who had osteomyelitis of the large left toe. I was at high risk of losing my it. I was prescribed vancomyacin when I left the hospital. I had a severe allergic reaction to this medication. After 2 weeks of being on the medications, I was throwing up, dizzy, confused, delirious and started to have renal failure. I was on the verge of being put on dialysis. They removed me from all medication and I had to slowly add medication and different antibiotics to my system to get back on track. I eventually was able to have full function of my kidneys but my doctor said that there will be scarring due to the allergic reaction.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
art | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2015
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 10 minutes of the IV ( I refused pic line) I was rushed to ER and since I have been declining in health over the last few years and most all my organs including heart lungs and nerves are now affected. i also have a hemical smell in my nose while in moist inviroment that I didnt have before and have had to quit work due to disabilities since the poisoning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rdelarue | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2015
Condition: Skin Infection due to Staphylococcus Epidermidis Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This iv medicine worked but I had that rare server anaphylatic reaction to it!! I now know that I can't take it ever again unless I want to die.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CAM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sever allergy reaction Swelling of whole body till the skin split Numbness in fingers and toes Burning pain &blister on hands and fingers still on going for after 1 mo. Red rash at injection site Sever direhrra for more than 2weeks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2014
Condition: Diabetic with Foot Infection due to a Specific Bacteria
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2014
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered 3 LG bites from unknown animal while in sound sleep. Nothing worked. Finally. Used vanco and saved my life. After a few weeks on meds, went home with the iv in and used the vanco meds at home, with nurses coming to home every other day to do blood work. It saved my life, as I said. side effects so far have been hearing loss, and unable to manage weight, either way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ann | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2014
Condition: Skin Infection due to Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I know people often review drugs after a bad experience, but I hope that doesn't scare everyone off. I was given Vancomycin along with one other IV antibiotic in the hospital over a couple days for a MRSA infection (acquired after having a small cyst removed at a dermatologist office). The rapidly advancing infection finally began responding through the combination of the drugs, surgical abscess drainage, and debridement. I know I would have been hospitalized an extra week if I had just stayed on Vancomycin without the surgery, but I still consider this a miracle drug. I was able to leave the hospital after only a few days, with an infection that was limited enough to respond to Bactrim. Yes, I had side effects (I was/am still extremely weak and often shake uncontrollably when I walk) but these are decreasing as time goes on and are likely do to the combo of drugs plus the infection plus the trauma on my body (or so says the doctor), not solely from the Vancomycin. And I'll take that over dying from getting a cyst removed any day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sayala0729 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in constant pain nauseaus vomiting severe diarrhea and develop one Iglesias black rash in my groin I feel like I'm hung over loss of appetite and the pain in my chest muscles very uncomfortable I have an abscess in my neck it has reduced in size due to the vancomycin so I guess it does work but the rash is very uncomfortable and I guess the dr felt its necessary I have few more days to go but this medication has kicked my butt and I'm hoping never to use it again I lost my job because of the side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
llopiano | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2014
Condition: Infection of a Joint
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had dental work done with a artificial knee. I should have been prescribed antibiotics before and after. My knee became infected, surgery was required. Infected tissue was removed and I've been on vancomycin since 3/28/2014. As far as I know the antibiotic is working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karenba116 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
1/26/2014
Condition: Bone Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son (age 28) has been on this medication by IV infusion therapy numerous times over the past year. One side effect he has had lately (which I have not seen posted here) is nausea and vomiting. He cannot keep anything down, even water, for a full day. He also gets red man syndrome and has to take an antihistimine before each dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More