Show ratings & reviews for

2.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

3 People found this comment helpful

In 2005, I was a kidney donor and put on a morphine drip following surgery. It worked ok until I had to get up. Any movement caused lots of pain! This year (2011) I had a c-section and was given duramorph and everything was perfect. I did not have any pain in PACU. After returning to my room from PACU my pain was a 1. This was the highest my pain ever was througout my hospitalization. Later that n...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I was extremely itchy all over for about 36 hours. The itching started almost immediately during my c-section. If you have ever had a csection you know they strap your arms down not allowing me to itch my own face. My husband tried to help but it was so intense that the nurse finally released my arms. Then that evening as the feeling came back in my legs I felt like I had the worse mosquito bites ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2015
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Duramorph was horribly ineffective. I felt the entire C section with 10/10 pain. I was held down as my arms windmilled in pain. I not only felt everything , I remembered everything. 4 years later, I still have acute PTSD from this surgery. I will burst into tears at an image of a spinal injection. during my subsequent pregnancy, th e PTSD was so bad that I had thoughts of killing my toddler and self rather than go thru that experience again. I never want anyone to have to go thru that experience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paz4 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/2/2014
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 4 C-sections. The nurse had put a sign above my bed that read Duramorph. Within 8 hrs. I was up walking around, had the awful catheter taken out. I was very thirsty, drinking full pitchers of water quickly. I quickly vomited up the water. That was the only incident which may not even be related to Duramorph. My advice: be careful when you are given this long lasting medication. It worked so well for me I was walking around the hospital, picking up heavy bags, things that could have caused damage to my body. The nurses and dr's. We're amazed at how well I was doing. It definitely worked for me. I hope that many people benefit from this medication. When I was discharged. I decided to just take Tylenol , I get so irritable on any other narcotic pain relievers. To sum it up, it works and works well. TamiRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2012
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was extremely itchy all over for about 36 hours. The itching started almost immediately during my c-section. If you have ever had a csection you know they strap your arms down not allowing me to itch my own face. My husband tried to help but it was so intense that the nurse finally released my arms. Then that evening as the feeling came back in my legs I felt like I had the worse mosquito bites all over my body. To make matters worse I couldn't bend with out pain to itch my legs and feet. I couldn't sleep because the itching was so intense. The nurses kept giving me some drug as often as they could to help stop the itching but it didn't help much. I guess I don't remember how intense the pain was due to the itching!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frankiesgirl | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2012
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Post-Operative Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Duramorph prior to a bilateral salpingo oophorectomy with significant lysis of adhesions from a previous hysterectomy 16 years ago. I was told that I would experience approximately 24 hours of pain relief and nothing could be farther from the truth. I was told that I was writhing in pain even before I was conscious. I was not informed that Duramorph does not work for some people or that I would not be able to receive any other narcotic for pain. Morphine was ineffective for me with 2 other surgeries and I should have suspected that it might not work in a different form of delivery. They gave me Toradol IV which was also ineffective for pain relief and my peptic ulcer is back now. The anesthesiologist eventually did give me a PCA with a small dose of Dilaudid and I was told "You don't know how lucky you are to get this." Unfortunately Dilaudid is another drug that is not effective for pain control for me. To make matters worse the syringe in my PCA ran out and inspite of numerous pleas for pain relief my nurse did not show up for 3 and 1/2 hours and had the nerve to be nasty to me. I waited over another hour before I finally received an injection of Demerol and that gave me some pain relief. It would have worked better if my pain had not been so out of control for over 4 and 1/2 hours but that is another issue. When the on call anesthesiologist came in to see me the next morning he said "When Duramorph works it's wonderful. When it doesn't it is hell." Hell is what it was for me. I will never, ever agree to it again. This experience was a nightmare. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy New Mom | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2011
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In 2005, I was a kidney donor and put on a morphine drip following surgery. It worked ok until I had to get up. Any movement caused lots of pain! This year (2011) I had a c-section and was given duramorph and everything was perfect. I did not have any pain in PACU. After returning to my room from PACU my pain was a 1. This was the highest my pain ever was througout my hospitalization. Later that night and each day following my pain was a 0. (Even after I got up and showered the next morning.) I did itch really bad but as someone stated above, I'd rather itch than be in pain. Duramorph was a perfect drup for me and my c-section!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
babynumberthree | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2011
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is a God send if you ask me. I had my first c-section in 2006 and I was in the worst pain afterwards that I have EVER experienced in my ENTIRE life. On a pain scale 1-10 I was a 10. It was so unbearable. I was also on a morphine drip.. which did not work at all. With my second pregnancy I expressed my fear of having another c-section due to the pain I was in after my first one. Needless to say, I had to have another section and this time my doctor gave me Duramorph. It was a completely different experience. I had my baby late afternoon and by the next morning, I was out of my bed (on my own) and showering. The only side effect for me was the intense itching, which was well worth it. I would rather be itchy than in excruciating pain. I am now scheduled for my 3rd c-section and have al ready requested that Duramorph be apart of my pain management after. Everyone is different, but I have to say for me, this drug was awesome.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
c hansen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/2/2011
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Surgery
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given a duramorph injection prior to a total hysterectomy and was told that my recovery time would be less because of the excellent pain control. However, I was in severe pain in the recovery room and still required IV pain medications. I ended up having to return to ASU after 2 days with terrible burning pains that began in my arms and ended up with a spinal headache that was so unbearable I then returned to the ASU on the third day after my surgery for a blood patch which relieved the headache. I would not want a spinal injection ever again unless absolutely necessary! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Patient
9/13/2010
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a consult with the anesthesiologist one month before the birth of my first child. I discussed with him that morphine was completely ineffective for me in a previous surgery. At the time of the birth when, under great duress, it was determined that I needed a section, the anesthesiologist and my mother ( a labor/delivery nurse) both convinced me that duramorph would work because it used a different route and is sooo successful with everyone else. I relented and low and behold an hour and a half after surgery I was in severe pain. (24 hour relief my ass) I was then told I could not have another opioid because I had also been given 2 doses of versed in the OR. My recovery was excrutiating and it really marred my ability to care for my newborn. A note to healthcare providers...listen to your patients and don't insist on what is easiest for you and the rest of the staff! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NJMom1999 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2010
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a C-Section in 1999. Didn't know what to expect regarding pain management. Found out what I was given AFTER my bad reaction to Duramorph. While in recovery, I became very nauseous. The nausea got worse until I ended up vomiting once I got to my room. I was extremely itchy (my face) all day. I ended up with scabs on my nose from scratching so much. Anytime I've had surgery, I've told the Dr. my reaction to Duramorph. I never want to go through that again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EZsleep | 45-54 | Male | Caregiver
12/9/2009
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Post-Operative Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm very sorry to hear that Duramorph did not work for you. I have been using it for the last 3 years (100 pts/ year) and the failure rate has been less than 2%, mostly due to previous drug abuse from the patients which was not notified to me. I am not implying drug abuse in your case, just trying to educate future patients. There are secondary effects from it, like itching, but they can be treated and are less bothersome than pain. If I am the patient in need of spinal/epidural anesthesia, I will request Duramorph for post op pain control. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
river7495 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2009
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I too was given Duramorph following a Cesarean and received no pain relief from it. What was supposed to be one of the most memorable moments in my life ended up to be the most miserable experience I have ever been through. I was only able to see my baby for about 15 minutes and not again for nearly 6 hours. I had to spend the night in the ICU for pain management. If you are given a choice I would strongly advise not to take the risk with Duramorph.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2009
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a new medication available for C-sections (it was not widely used when I had my first child in 2006), no one informed me that Duramorph is simply ineffective in about 10% of patients - I learned this later on. Durapmorph is supposed to provide about 24 hours of pain relief after a C-section. For me, it only lasted baout an hour. After that, I felt like my insides were being apart. I could barely breathe from the pain, yet the doctors in the hospital were hesitant to give me more pain killers because they believed I should have been pain-free for at least another 23 hours. So a word of caution - if your doctor recommends Duramorph for a C-section, be prepared that you may not get the pain relief that you bargained for.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unhappy mom | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2008
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Cesarean Section
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was nauseated and itching for 24 hours

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
postmenapausalgma | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/23/2007
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Surgery
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Duramorph has made my recovery more difficult due to dizziness and nausea. I wish I didn't have it prior to surgery. I also fainted while receiving it. It's not worth the pain management it claims.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More