Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

86 People found this comment helpful

I have Graves Disease which effects my eyes, swelling, light sensitivity, muscles of eyes. Since taking Selenium MY EYES ARE NOTICEABLY BETTER in regards to muscle eye coordination and swelling. I take 100 mcg twice a day. I also take 500mg of Bilberry for the light sensitivity. Wow! Great improvement. (Not cured, just a tremendous improvement). I hope someone will be able to use this informatio...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I was poisoned taking this in a liquid vitamin, receiving 40,000mcg in a 1 ounce daily dose as compared to 70 mcg that is needed daily. Loss of hair, fingernails, malaise, diaherra, upset stomach, aches, sleepiness and the worst "blahs" imaginable are the result of this poisoning. It is not easily recognized or diagnosed by MD's. The symptoms are loss of hair and fingernails with red semi-circles...

Shared reviews and ratings

Ali | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/20/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm experiencing lightheadedness and will stop taking selenium immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/3/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/13/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
memememe | Age: 25-34 |
4/17/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have ibs. can't say selenium helped. i think it's better for skin conditions, perhaps, or as an antioxidant, but it makes my skin itch something fierce when i take a full capsule... anytime i take a full capsule. What's even up with that?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vitasupporter | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/4/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this for polycystic ovaries. 50 mcg everyday to reduce the cysts. Selenium was a natural occurring mineral that would be absorbed in lettuce and vegetables. We have over farmed the land in this area and it is not as abundant in our food supply. Higher levels of selenium have shown some toxicity.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aldag | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/14/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For years I suffered from a small irritated skin lesion at the base of my nose only on the right hand side. It was intensely itchy for such a small area of skin irritation. The dermatologist prescribed a cortisone cream which worked, but when the cream was discontinued, the lesion and itching came right back. Then I read an article about skin rashes that were the result of low selenium. A doctor recommended eating two Brazil nuts per day to obtain selenium for this type of rash. So I tried this solution and much to my amazement within three days the itching stopped and by the end of a week the lesion had cleared. Then I substituted a yeast based supplement containing selenium for the Brazil nuts and the rash came right back within days. This result was perplexing. Then I tried a better grade supplement, Swanson Albion Complex Selenium and the rash cleared as it had with the Brazil nuts. So the type of selenium supplement makes a huge difference. I would suggest for an atopic dermatitis type rash that the selenium could be tried for possible improvement. Results would be known within the first week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/13/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Graves Disease which effects my eyes, swelling, light sensitivity, muscles of eyes. Since taking Selenium MY EYES ARE NOTICEABLY BETTER in regards to muscle eye coordination and swelling. I take 100 mcg twice a day. I also take 500mg of Bilberry for the light sensitivity. Wow! Great improvement. (Not cured, just a tremendous improvement). I hope someone will be able to use this information to help find a cure. My Graves eye disease has been almost unbearable. It would be awesome for a cure.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sstrong | Age: 35-44 |
10/1/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Selenuim for about a year a a half along for my thyroids...and it have really worked out wonderful for me! Every time that I go to get my lab work at the doctor my lab work always comes back showing no signs of my thyroids being active! I am thanking God for this! I saw this doctor on you tube and he mention that using selenuim and Vitamin A, D, E each day will help make your thyroid inactive...and it really works!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frantastic | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/16/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since starting on the Selenium, I have found I'm not a walking zombie any longer. I feel like my endurance is back and my skin looks great and my hair and nails are growing again. I've only been taking for 2 weeks, can't wait to see how it works after a month!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
trust | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/1/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i use selenium with viniger and olive oil rub it on the pain its gone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abbi100 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/17/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Selenium is a trace bone supplement, but I found the 100mcg, to be a good sleep aid. Having Fibromyalgia and OP sleep was not very healing, due to the tossing and turning to find a less sore spot. I can't take the drugs, to many side effects, so want to go natural. Weight is a issue as I'm only 5 ft tall, so a pill was ideal way to get the supplement, with out exceeding my caloric intake. Since I take it at night, I've found I actually sleep better. To soon to tell about the effects of all the Bone Vit/mins and OP Next DX scan is 2015.. BTW my OP is caused by 30 yrs of Synthroid use. Wish some one had told me that fact 30 yrs ago when the doctors put me on Synthroid that is was a BONE DESTRUCTION hormone. I could have been on Bone protection for the past 30 yrs. I use Coral Calcium, 1500 mg, to 800 mg Magnesium Cheleated, Oxide Bound is not well absorbed by the body. Magnesium is the Second highest mineral in your bones. D3 at 4,000 UI, now adding in the trace elements. Will see next year if the DX has changed for the better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karla | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/9/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 weeks I could tell a difference. After one month I was no longer fatigued. I have lots of energy!! My hair is no longer splitting off and is back to very healthy. I have also noticed that I do not crave sweets like I did before going on this supplement. I can not say enough good things about it. I also was feeling "down" alot. I no longer have this feeling. I take one 200mcg pill every morning along with my multi vitamin. I love the way I feel again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rascal | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/7/2013
Condition: Cardiovascular disease (CVD)
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Years ago, I listened to a tape called "Dead Doctors Don't Talk" and it was MORE than interesting. It stated that thousands of Doctors and people in general who had autopsies and who had heart attacks(as reason for death) were ALL found to have bad HEART MUSCLES only because they had just about NO "Selenium" or very little "Selenium" in their systems. Selenium makes heart muscles STRONG. Also.....supposed to help with Prostate Cancer, Stomach Cancer, Skin Cancer, Macular Degeneration and Cognitive(brain) Function. Also, for Thyroid and.....Gray Hair!!! The main reason though for me is the Heart issue. Also....try "One A Day Women's 50+" Vitamins...much better as far as being able to swallow. Centrum has NO coating on them whereas One A Day does. Very easy to swallow. Complex B Vitamins VERY GOOD to take for stress and energy! Do not take Selenium for an extended period of time...only about 3-6 months at a time and do not take if on any blood thinner! Take care, God Bless everyone and good luck. SueRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/17/2012
Condition: Cardiovascular disease (CVD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started treatment with chronic fatique do to cardiovascular disease. After 1 week of taking 100mcg.Selenium along with 50mg.DHEA daily,100mg.B6 daily I can already tell a significant difference in my energy level and stamina.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LHF | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/28/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel much better taking selenium. it is hard to find one that is tolerable though. they all smell bad and some made me nauseated. fortunately, I found one I like. I don't think they are all the same.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Web MD | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/3/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

in surching for pain releif of my joints and undrestanding that my blood had a lot to do with my type of autheritius. This type can effect the heart if not treated correctly. Thank God for this herb from the earth. When I stay on this plan I have no pain. But I still have to watch my diet along with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe Walsh | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/15/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was poisoned taking this in a liquid vitamin, receiving 40,000mcg in a 1 ounce daily dose as compared to 70 mcg that is needed daily. Loss of hair, fingernails, malaise, diaherra, upset stomach, aches, sleepiness and the worst "blahs" imaginable are the result of this poisoning. It is not easily recognized or diagnosed by MD's. The symptoms are loss of hair and fingernails with red semi-circles forming under the nails. I was advised of it through the Pa. Dept. of Health. This has affected several hundred people throughout the U.S. There is no cure for this and no one can inform you of after effects or for how long it will occur.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DogsAreUs | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/26/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

within a month I felt that the overall inflammation was improved

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/12/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More