Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

198 People found this comment helpful

Berberine has been truly miraculous for me. A1c from 7.2 to 5.5 morning blood sugars 88-110. I had not had a blood sugar below 100 in years. I get 400mg tablets from Swanson. I take either 3 or 4 a day (1,2,1 or 1,1,1) Only side effect was some slight abd discomfort which cleared up after a couple of weeks. I couldn't understand why this is not more well known. The only think I could figure o...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

Berberine says it helps maintain a healthy blood sugar lever. It does not say it lowers blood sugar. I has done nothing for me and I am taking 900MG a day

Shared reviews and ratings

Andy | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/26/2021
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 500mg for the first 3 days, the 4th day I stopped because My blood pressure got a little higher, my blood sugar also increased, kidneys and belly felt bloated, urine changed color it was more heavy, passing gas increased, going to the toilet less, weight increased 1lb. The positive benefits, I was less hungry, more mental clarity, better vision, sweet mouth sensation, more libido and more blood flow, better sex drive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bee | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/1/2021
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read up on this after I got 6.5% on an a1c test so I started this at lower dose (250mg 1x at lunch). Immediately I noticed some mild constipation but didn't think much of it. So I increased the dose. I tell you, I didn't even get this constipated when I was pregnant. This was AWFUL and I tried everything to relieve it and it took forever to recover. I tried a few other times to start it and had the exact same experience. It sounds like it's worth a shot but if you have trouble with constipation, I would give it a miss. I was really disappointed because reviews were so good. (Also I was able to get my a1c down with diet and treatment for my anemia, so I didn't need it anyhow.)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cpaul | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/1/2021
Condition: Hyperlipidemia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My condition is hIgh cholesterol (234) and high LDL (151). I have been taking red rice yeast and niacin for a few years. In April 2021 Dr suggested I try berberine (500-2x per day). I went back for labs in June 2021 Dr and I were both very pleased with results. Total Cholesterol is 151 and LDL is 82. My weight is the same, I eat the same way as in April- mostly veg and protein - very low carb. and my excerize is the same. I have no other medical conditions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jharding | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
8/13/2021
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 1200mg daily in 2x600mg doses for over a year for diabetes. My doctor put me on 1000 of metformin ER twice daily and after the first year my A1C went from 8.4 to 7.6. After adding the Berberine myself my A1C went from 7.6 to 5.6 the second year, low enough the doctor cut my metformin in half. Additionally my cholesterol went from 165 to 105 and my triglycerides from 311 to 88. I will note that this change also included dietary lifestyle adjustments and weight loss, not just medication and berberine. My only concern with it long term are possible effects on the liver so I am keeping an eye on that.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UK viewer | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/15/2021
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Berberine in Feb 21 when my blood sugars went out of control and found I could not get a diabetes appointment. My glucose levels have come down from 12.7 to 7.7 mmol/l. (UK). I think this is 229 to 139mg/dl (US) I still have a way to go, but I am pleased. My glucose levels are now stabilising. I take 500mg 3 times a day. I am on Novomix 30 insulin 10 units twice a day and Fargixa once a day plus other medications for blood pressure. I have had no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nomorediabetesdan | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/2/2021
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Basically it does exactly what metformin does only without the side effects. Also has further benefits metformin doesn't. Big pharma does not want you knowing this. Non for profit medical system countrues regularly prescribe berbebrine not metformin etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gepe53 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/28/2021
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Berberine and other natural herbs did NOTHING to lower my blood sugar, all the stuff did was make me VERY SICK!! Like go to the ER and have pancreatitis!! I thought I was going to die! Be careful what you take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kbrake12 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/17/2020
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will start with saying im very new to this - only taken about 4 days. The first dat i took it, was after i drank a large banana smoothie and about 30m later i puked. I dont know if it was the berberine but suspect it was. The next time i took it was in the morning and it literally took away ALL of my hunger! I only ate in the evening because i felt i needed to feed myself. I took it again in the evening and it did effect my sleep as in I could not fall asleep - even after taking a benadryl and a melatonin. I will continue using this in the AM to lose weight.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gary712 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
10/12/2019
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Berberine, and Berberine GlucoGold for six years, I saw the results immediately lowering my A1C to 8.1. I take it three times a day, with meals. I was taking 70 units of Lantis glargine (insulin) twice a day, up until two weeks ago when I stopped. because it brought about low blood sugar. I saw my A1C drop to 6.1 in April 2019. about three weeks ago I purchased the FreeStyle Libre 14 day constant monitoring system by Abbot, I had a hard time getting the RX from my doctor, but she finally relented. One needs this device if they are serious about getting rid of diabetes 2, you know what your blood sugar is constantly, by checking by level. You know what foods to stay away from. According to my graph, and my blood sugar readings, my A1C should be about 5.1. I will keep taking Berberine for awhile, however, I feel that my system is pancreas is being healed.One really needs the Abbott Freestyle system if one is serious about treating diabetes 2. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zoomlady | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/19/2019
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 33 and have PCOS. I have been trying to get pregnant for almost 4 years. After several years of infertility treatments, in March I just stopped. I was emotional on all levels and just needed a break from all the meds. I did not have a period for 5 months (and I know I should have not waited this long) but I then did some reading to better understand PCOS and how it effects me. I ordered Berberine on amazon to try. Within 7 days of taking it, I got my period on my own. After looking further into it, its not good to keep taking if you are trying to conceive, so I discontinued it for now. I switched to Inositol after reading that is also effective. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paliku7427 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/12/2019
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1 Month ago I was on 1000mg Metformin and 40mg slow release Glipizide. I have fatty liver. I think I have metabolic syndrome. I have had type 2 diabetes for about 13 years. I am 49 years old. My A1C was 10.4 15 months ago. I tried to diet and moderately increase exercise. Only got A1C to 9.4. I was told I had to go on insulin if not reversed. My research introduced me to Chinese source for herbs. I read about berberine. I found out our NIH has done research as well as other countries. All positive. Rare. My GP does not support. I take 500mg 2 times a day of Berberine abd Turmeric supplement. In 1 month my A1C dropped to 8.4. I had to cut my prescription meds 50% (due to low blood sugar episodes). I am slimming down. I have more energy to exercise. I feel like I have more hope and incentive to improve diet. Less animal fats for me helps - but is very hard to do. Hopefully the berberine can keep working with my body to help my pancrease heal. I have reversed direction of my diabetes. to me a miracle.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/28/2019
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take 3 500mg a day. I'm still on Metformin 1000 2 x a day. Utimately want to be off of the pharma meds by next yesr. Started because my A1C1 was moving higher. I've been using Berberine since May 1st. The BS numbers are lowering, expect my A1C1 will have too. I'm also losing weight, 7 pds as of this AM. With Metformin, that was never possible. Yes have loose bowels, I'll deal.Can't believe the weight is melting. In my 20's was diagnosed with LOW BS, so watching it carefully.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/16/2019
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have PCOS and PMDD caused by Intense Accutane treatment in childhood together with oral contraception (Diane-35 and Cindy). Berberine is a game changer. I take it together with I3C and SAM-e. Since I started the treatment several weeks ago, I'm calm as a baby, very cuddly, no pimples and a beautifully loose weight, while my boobs look proportionally big as never. The only disadvantage would be less tolerance for alcohol, but that might be for the best. I think every few months I need to take a break to get that bile flowing. So far I'm pleased.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brensgrrl | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/30/2019
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Berberine is the same as Chinen Salt

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BJohn | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/28/2019
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wow. I get teary eyed. I was taking Metformin 2000 mg/day, typically in the 140s fasting. Taking Cinnamon, Berberine and Bitter Melon for six months, gradually weaned myself completely from Metformin. Blood work confirms AIC in the green. Daily in the mid-70s. Doctor says keep on doing it. Your mileage may vary.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/22/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Life threatening. Recommended by COMPOUND. CARE PHARMACY LOUISVILLE KY. BY JULIE. DR. RECOMMENDED

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/14/2018
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not seeing any benefit after one bottle. Will continue for at least 90 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/28/2017
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

depuis 3 mois pour 2cp/j de 500mg matin et soir

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/25/2017
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused severe constipation but gave me energy, clear thinking and made me feel not hungry all day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mommyflower | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/21/2017
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started Berberine two weeks ago, after taking Metformin for 2days before with terrible side effects. The Berberine has kept my weight down and glucose down. I have seen many comments and wanted to say, be careful of the brands with other supplements mixed in. I advise to take a Berberine HCL product. Do your research on products. Mine is working well at 1200mg daily Bio nutrition. And Low carbs 50-100 daily, no Bread/starch products, lots of water. Exercise walking mornings 2 miles.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More