Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

83 People found this comment helpful

I used to take Nasonex, a steroid based nasal spray, every day for my year around sinus allergies. I then switched to a daily routine of Allegra, after years of taking Nasonex, to get away from the steroid addiction. A combination of cost, and not wanting to be dependent on allopathic medication, led me to investigate alternative medicine treatments for treating allergic rhinitis. I tried bromelai...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Every time I take a single capsule, my skin turns red all over and "burns" for about an hour.

Shared reviews and ratings

Chava | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/18/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been breathing much easier taking 500 mg of stinging nettle. I noticed anti-aging effects on my face within hours of ingestion. However, I have to take a Tylenol with it. My blood pressure raised a bit. I believe that I may need to half the tablet and try a lower dosage. I am also taking Life Extensions super selenium complex 200 mcg and vitamin E, Carlyle Serrapeptase, and Resveratrol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/6/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My meds stopped working for my prostate problems so I tried nettle root and it worked. Stopped taking the prescribed meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rrhandle | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/21/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 days of using a liquid extract of the leaves, I developed cold like symptoms that have lasted for 4 days now. Still coughing and blowing my nose. I used the Nature's Answer brand not found in the drop-down of Brand products.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thalia | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/24/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

its so amazing, the pain in my joints are totally healed within 3 days of drinking the tea twice a day and it still is not aching though im no longer drinking it due to allergic reactions, palpitations.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
macromaven | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/12/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time I take a single capsule, my skin turns red all over and "burns" for about an hour.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alan | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/7/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There are probably dozens of herbs, vitamins, and supplements that purportedly help to relieve the symptoms of BPH. I've tried ALL of them, and I've tried them for long, long periods of time. Most of them are, for all intents and purposes, snake oil. That said, a few of them do offer some relief. Stinging Nettle (a.k.a. Urtica Dioica) is one of them. How many times have we seen the following: "Results are inconclusive." In my humble opinion,take it for what it's worth, that means that whatever the supplement in question may be, it's definitely working for some. I lucked out. Yes. The results are anecdotal, but it's definitely doing something positive for me. Full disclosure; I also take dutasteride (Brand: Avodart), and Cialis (Generic - not available - 5mg). I take both maintenance drugs on a routine, daily basis. I'd be lost without these two drugs. However, while I've been taking these prescription meds for nine years, and they HAVE given me relief, I've upped that relief by adding Stinging Nettle, and the difference is noticeable. Hope this helps.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HEARTY GUY | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
12/4/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NETTLE ALMIGHTY I drink 1 nettle leaf tea every evening before bed. No sugar (my taste bud are small and unimportant and they follow what the brain tells them). My tea is strong as it steeps for hours prior to drinking. This one nightly drink has transformed my lower limbs. I had dependent edema swelling up my feet, ankles and legs for more than 10 years. The fluid retention was caused by sitting in a wheelchair 14 hours/day. Just as the German health care system and MDs there believe, nettle leaf does indeed have a diuretic effect. In my case, a very BIG one BUT not something that overpowers my bladder-- the effect is slow and steady. Slow and steady has won the race for me. I no longer need to lie down 1x-2x times a day and have my health aid put thigh-high alternating air pump compression cuffs on to reduce my pitting edema! Freedom! One single nettle leaf tea (well steeped) every night does the trick. Take it from a true sufferer of dependent edema, nettle leaf really works well. I do NOT agree that there is "insufficient evidence that nettle leaf [is effective] against "water retention." I'm guessing from my personal experience that SERIOUS studies would show that nettle leaf is effective for water retention! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
10/30/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 2 in the winter mornings and 1 in the summer, in the morning and it seems to keep my allergies at bay.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alison | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/6/2016
Condition: Allergic rhinitis (hay fever)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had hayfever for 40 years and dutifully taken the medicines, never satisfied with the effectiveness and side effects. I tried using nettle powder about 7 years ago and I have never looked back. It is quick and effective. I take 1 heaped teaspoon in a glass of water(drinking it is not my favorite part) but the effect is the best. No side sffects and plenty of plses when it is rich in iron, vitamin C and antioxidants.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Opusdreams | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/26/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I drink stinging nettle tea to combat allergies and it works great, on and off season. In the early spring I actually forage the nettles and boil them to make my own tea. When that runs out I purchase it at our local Fred Meyer natural section...16 packets for under $4.00.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/30/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HoudiniB | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/6/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from UTI's and symptoms of UTIs which don't always show up positive when tested, but still experience the symptoms, for years. I accidentally stumbled across Nettles when someone gave me an iced tea with nettles in it. Almost immediately, I felt relief from the chronic feeling of the need to urinate. I have also found nettles in the pill form to be very effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimberlycs | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/6/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found nettle via an internet search after none of the medications worked that my urologist gave me. I had two surgeries for kidney stones (first one was a stint implant.) Nettle and dandelion used as a tea were the ONLY things that cleared my symptoms and gave me relief within 3 days. I now buy dandelion from the market and sautee the leaves with garlic, onions, green pepper, celery, and sprinkle oregano seasoning. An instant pick-me-up and it is delicious!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Handytim | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/13/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

on it for a week, and no more pain in arms/shoulders(tendonitis) I use Vitavcost brand...wondering if I'll get muscular stength back

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
4/8/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can be allergic to my cats if their hair gets in my eyes or face. I use this (along with flushing my face with water) for immediate results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/28/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Freeze-dried nettle capsules have been very effective at keeping my allergy symptoms in check. I am still adjusting to the best way to use it, however. The diuretic effect has decreased my quality of sleep, and I usually take a capsule around 5 or 6 p.m. (and one in the morning, too). I am going to experiment with taking the capsule earlier in the afternoon. But for allergies, yes, it works! No more Allegra for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lael | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
7/20/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have arthritis from a sports injury in the second toe of one foot. For years, I limped around because I didn't want to take prescription pain meds. Nettle was a miracle. No more limping. It's worked for over five years now and only recently has the pain started to return as the arthritis has progressed over time. It's effectiveness has been essential because I work on my feet all day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lara | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/2/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My gynecologist suggested nettle tea to help with my anemia. It apparently helps with iron absorption - and it really did help boost my iron levels. I hate the iron supplements - and I was needing around 200mg daily just to stay in the basement. I had 2 cups daily. I found a secondary benefit of helping with arthritis in my hands. No negative side effects. I found a bulk supplier which is much less expensive than the prepackaged.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gigan988 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/22/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to take Nasonex, a steroid based nasal spray, every day for my year around sinus allergies. I then switched to a daily routine of Allegra, after years of taking Nasonex, to get away from the steroid addiction. A combination of cost, and not wanting to be dependent on allopathic medication, led me to investigate alternative medicine treatments for treating allergic rhinitis. I tried bromelain (an extract from pineapple stem), and it didn't help. Also gave me an irritated stomach. I was lucky that the second supplement I tried, Stinging Nettle leaf, was exactly what I needed. To fast forward, I now take Stinging Nettle leaf daily, and only need an Allegra on rare occasion for very bad hayfever days. I take an Allegra about once a month now, while previously needed it every day. As for the stinging nettle, as an herb, it took a bit of time to take effect, but now I breathe easy most of the time. I experimented with dosage; I started with 300mg a day, then tried 500mg, then a whole gram, then 600mg, then 900mg. I find that 600mg a day works for me, although I sometimes take 900mg for the heck of it. I would advise anyone with sinus allergies to give it a try.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/16/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I walk in stinging nettles in our wood. The pain in my knee has improved and although the stinging is a bit odd, it is not as bad as one would expect. The tingling improves with regular treatment. Grasp the nettle and swish over the area to treat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More