Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

this is in total error IT DOES NOT cause cancer I am a chocktaw indian in louisiana and I have eaten file powder aka powdered sasafras for 75 years and have never known a person to get cancer from it....Lab rats yes but thats due to aspartime and neutrasweet

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Sassafras is the key ingredient in making Ecstasy which is probably why the FDA banned it, lol. I've never used it but wanted to post this to answer these posts questioning why the FDA banned it. I'm sitting here watching an expose about it and started wondering how sassafras tea was legal considering the Ecstasy connection.

Shared reviews and ratings

Shenecoy | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
10/29/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Collecting root bark after the sap goes down and putting shavings in a tea ball creates the most soothing hot drink for throat and lowering blood pressure with regular use. Will take with no symptoms for overall vitality.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/24/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried for years to find something that would ease my horrible cramps from endometriosis. No painkillers, heating pads, etc. would come close to helping. I was desperate for help, tried a few other holistic methods before discovering sassafras tea. My father-in-law sent me some straight from his land in Louisiana, chopped it up, added about a tablespoon to a cloth tea bag, let steep in boiling water for 10 min, add some honey and lemon. It wasn't my favorite at first, but it's the best thing I've found to help me not be couch-bound 4 days of every month. After I ran out of what my f.i.l. sent I found some at my local natural foods store and I keep it on hand to have for the first 2 days of my cramps, and the benefits last til the next month.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HiFiSi | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/9/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To answer a couple of the comments the FDA banned this because when Safrole oil is combined with methanol it creates MDMA(Ecstasy.) Which was legally sold until exactly the same time that safrole oil was banned by FDA. So yes old time Sassafras tea and root beer was/is delicious and I enjoy taking it to relax the oil was banned for other reasons then this article lets the public believe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tex7 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/21/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

During childhood my mother would brew sassafras tea occasionally. I liked the flavor and enjoyed the tea. The tea was made from tree root purchased at local stores. I consumed quite a lot of the tea. It was a good cold weather drink. I did not notice any ill effect. I grew up in cental Ill. I am 68 yrs old now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
12/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sassafras is the key ingredient in making Ecstasy which is probably why the FDA banned it, lol. I've never used it but wanted to post this to answer these posts questioning why the FDA banned it. I'm sitting here watching an expose about it and started wondering how sassafras tea was legal considering the Ecstasy connection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sassy | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/11/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Help with skin problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cdmphdlp | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
6/11/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I drink a brand of sassafras tea it is free of safrole, the substance that allegedly makes it toxic. I do not know how that affects its efficacy as a treatment, but it makes it safe to enjoy as a beverage, which is why I drink it. The brand they use is Pappy's.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chocktaw53 | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 10 years or more |
3/10/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is in total error IT DOES NOT cause cancer I am a chocktaw indian in louisiana and I have eaten file powder aka powdered sasafras for 75 years and have never known a person to get cancer from it....Lab rats yes but thats due to aspartime and neutrasweet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More