Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

177 People found this comment helpful

Back in June, I was diagnosed with Type2 Diabetes and my A1C was 11, my doctor and I were very worried but I told him that I would work hard to get the sugar down with medication and natural remedies (since I am a big fan of natural medicine) he agreed and gave me Metformin 500mg for morning and dinner time. I started the Gymnema a week later after doing some research. I got my A1C done on Sept. 2...

Most voted negative review

26 People found this comment helpful

just started too early to find out.

Shared reviews and ratings

pray777 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/25/2020
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used Gymnema on and off for about 2 years now. I do notice a decrease in sweets cravings when I consistently take it. I also do notice some appetite suppressing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LS | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/22/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I bought the Himalaya brand Gymnema caplets & they Amazing! I bought this to cut my sugar cravings (I always ate too much sugar, even tho weight was no issue, but have gained about 6 lbs. staying home & feel bloated) After the 1st one or even half of 1 my desire to eat was way less & my eating out of boredom (which has been constant) stopped & my desire for sweets is nill. Gymnema helped tremendously during Covid lockdown & not doing any yoga or exercise at all) and definitely lost interest in sugars. I actually force myself to eat some sweets so my blood sugar doesn't drop too low. And I feel my digestion is better, less bloated stomach & better digestion. The only thing I think it might be affecting a medication I'm taking for a different issue, so I have to be careful. But they warn you to check meds or talk to doctor. All I can say is WOW! how did I not know about this herb, ever. Also with any herbs you have to check that they test their products for metals, mercury, & arsenic (as they are in many herbs, especially from India) But this one was in the safe guidelines. 100% works!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jjdarlyn33 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/14/2019
Condition: Metabolic syndrome
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just had my real first health scare of my life at 57. I was having a hard time catching my breath, felt dizzy, and was experiencing chest pains that landed me in the ER. After a lot of testing they diagnosed me with an infection around my heart due to a recent bout with the flu... very nasty case I might add. Anyway, they also did a complete blood work up and told me my GL was 124 and my triglycerides were 1003... yes you read that right. My thyroid was also out of whack... shocker right. The dr in the ER put me on Gimfibrozol, but my dr later switched that to Viscepa for my triglycerides. My mom had type 2 diabetes and he thought I was experiencing the effects of genetics because everything else as far as my cholesterol went was normal. He suggested I get my DNA checked, which I'm in the process of doing. However, I wanted to see if there was any natural supplements I could take that would lower my blood sugar. Im not much on pills and GIM caused my kidneys to ache... not good! That is how I found Gymnema. I've been on it for 3 weeks now and I can actually feel the difference. I've lost about 5 lbs and my heart doesnt race after eating anymore. And, I can drink wine again. Also, I have not changed my eating or exercise habits one bit. I'm looking forward to my checkup next month to see if it actually lowered my GL.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shaaz | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
8/8/2019
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
57Chevy | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/19/2019
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Told at my last annual my A1C was 6.5 (5.7 the year before) and a fasting glucose of 170. I went to the Natural Foods store and was told to try the Gymnema Sylvestre. I sut all foods over a 55 Glycimic Index, focused on GL. 4 weeks later my A1C was 5.79 and my glucose was 101. Still over the 99 but going great. I also managed to go from 188 to 176 6-7 weeks. While going to complex carbs and monitoring GL was part of the equation, I believe the Gymnema Sylvestre was key for the quick reduction for the A1C which tracks over a 3 month span. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/28/2018
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I self medicated. Use Himalaya tabs. Being Indian it helped since I knew about this. I take 2 tabs a day and its part of my diet. I have had no complications and my weight has been managed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/21/2018
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jenniefl | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/12/2018
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Gymnema for 2 months. It has neither reduced my constant cravings for certain sweets, nor has it caused those sweets to have an undesirable taste. The weight loss I don't expect for months; but the cravings have not being reduced or tasting bad. I guess I'm one of the people that this does not work for, and I was SO HOPEFUL!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/28/2018
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gchairez72 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/27/2018
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Gymnema 11 months now, have been to the Dr. 2 times/ A1C check up and it has came down from 8.5 to 6.2, last A1C was 5.7!!! I have absolutely seen results. I'm even thinking of cutting down on my Metformin! SOO satisfied!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nlsn6 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/29/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I drink this supplement as a tea. I purchased it from a indian spice or health food store and was told to drink a cup before my meals and before I started using this product my glucose reading was 312 and I tried walking along with 4 different diabetes medications and the lowest it would go was 270 mgdl. After taking this for for two weeks, my readings are between 97 and 114 and my doctor recently cut back on one of the medications. Yes! It WORKS!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ks | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/17/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

increase peace of mind also just like brahmi

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/23/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have seen my blood sugar number normalize and have been able to eat some fruits without spikes in blood sugar.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frank | Age: 65-74 |
6/16/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not used it too long

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
3/25/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
victor | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/27/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am type2 disbetic for last 25years.now metformin and other combination are loosing their effect.in the last visit about 2 months ago my pc started talking about insulin, but i started taking gymnima insted,2 400mg morning and 2 in the evening.it has some what lower my daily fasting sugar like from 160 to 145.l am using for a month now,didnt notice any side effect,lets see what happens in next few months.i have NOT stopped my regular medication at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cpa808 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/6/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband blood sugar went too low as in 47 versus 179 yesterday. He took one capsule of Source Natural 550 mg last night with 500 mg metformin. I guess I have to reduce the metformin into 250 mg and watch for his blood glucose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gaspuzz | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/12/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My blood sugars have been in the high 200 to 300 for almost a year. I talked to a women that works in my local GNC and she informed me about Gymnema Sylvestre. I started taking the herb about 6 week ago. My blood sugars have dropped down to 80 to 150 on a on a daily average. It seems like the foods or candy I eat with sugar it even works better. However, with natural sugars like fruits it does not work as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
giftedwolf | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/16/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm take 550 mg 1 tablets 3 times a day with meals 75% Standardized Gymnema Acids "Source Naturals" It did take 2 wks. to start working. My blood sugar readings have dropped 50-70 points and have stop the up and down readings. I do not feel hungry all the time any more which is also great. I do not take any other diabetes meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
john | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/27/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lower blood sugar from 180 to 150

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More