Baking and Cooking With Food Allergies
How to cope with wheat allergies, milk allergies, and egg allergies in the kitchen.
Milk Allergy Tips continued...
Ingredients on label to watch for:
- Milk or milk solids
- Casein, like casein hydrolysate (some brands of canned tuna contain
- Lactalbumin, lactulose, and lactoferrin
- Caseinates (all forms) such as sodium caseinate, potassium caseinate, or
- Butter (some restaurants add butter to their steaks after grilling, and
there may be butter residue on the grill or cooking surface from foods prepared
- Butter "flavor"
- Lactic acid
- Natural or artificial flavoring
- Nondairy products (some products claim to be "nondairy" but
actually contain milk derivatives that can cause problems)
Substitutes for milk in recipes:
- Rice milk
- Soy milk (check the label to be sure it doesn’t contain milk-based
- Oat milk
- Almond milk
- Fruit juice can work (depending on the recipe, like in breads and
- Broth (vegetable, chicken, or beef), for recipes like casseroles or mashed
Substitutes for cheese in recipes:
Look for vegan cheese alternatives in your supermarket or natural foods
store. Vegi-kaas and Soymage offer several options.
Substitutes for yogurt or sour cream in recipes:
- Soy-based yogurt. Check the label to be sure it doesn't contain milk-based
ingredients (such as White Wave Silk soy yogurts.)
- Vegan sour cream substitutes, such as Yo-Soy and Tofutti Sour Supreme. The
first four ingredients in Tofutti's Sour Supreme are partially hydrogenated
soybean oil, isolated soy protein, maltodextrin, and tofu.
- Soft or silken tofu, beaten or pureed until smooth
Substitutes for cream sauces and white sauces in recipes:
- Wine or broth-based sauces
- Tomato sauces
- Pesto (olive oil and basil) without cheese
- Sundried tomato pesto without cheese
Substitutes for butter and margarine in recipes:
- There are several brands of vegan (dairy-free) margarines that you can use
for recipes. Earth Balance has several options, such as their soy garden
natural buttery spread and their vegan buttery sticks.
- Use canola oil when possible. (If the recipes calls for beating the butter
or margarine with sugar until fluffy, a straight substitute with oil won't
obtain this texture result.)
The biggest difference using these substitutes will be flavor, as the
natural flavor of butter, sour cream, and cheese are difficult to reproduce.
The vegan cheeses will melt differently than dairy cheese.
Egg Allergy Tips
If you are allergic to eggs, you have to avoid all egg-based foods and
dishes in addition to less obvious products and foods that surprisingly contain
them. People may be allergic to the egg white, yolk, or both.
Foods/products to avoid:
- Baked goods like cakes, muffins, and cookies (unless homemade with egg-free
recipes using commercially available egg replacements or ingredient
- Cake and brownie mixes
- Pancake and waffle complete mixes
- Custards, puddings, Bavarian creams, cream puffs
- Ice cream, filling for cream pies, and lemon and pumpkin pies
- Eggnog and egg creams
- Quiche, souffles, French toast, fritters, omelets, and other egg
- Pancakes and waffles
- Breads that typically contain egg (such as muffins, rolls, bagels,
- Meat & vegetable dishes that use egg as a coating or as part of a
mixture (like meat loaf)
- Some ethnic side dishes and entrees that feature pieces of egg, such as
fried rice, chiles relleno, and egg rolls
- Meringues and meringue powder
- Some frostings
- Anything made with egg substitutes (which are generally made with egg
- Sauces and dressings that contain eggs (hollandaise sauce, Caesar salad
dressing, mayonnaise-based dressing)
- Chocolates, marshmallows, and fondants
- Soups containing egg noodles or any other soup or dish made with egg