Find Information About:

Drugs & Supplements

Get information and reviews on prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications, vitamins, and supplements. Search by name or medical condition.

Pill Identifier
WebMD

Pill Identifier

Having trouble identifying your pills?

Enter the shape, color, or imprint of your prescription or OTC drug. Our pill identification tool will display pictures that you can compare to your pill.

Get Started
My Medicine
WebMD

My Medicine

Save your medicine, check interactions, sign up for FDA alerts, create family profiles and more.

Get Started

WebMD Health Experts and Community

Talk to health experts and other people like you in WebMD's Communities. It's a safe forum where you can create or participate in support groups and discussions about health topics that interest you.

  • Second Opinion
    WebMD

    Second Opinion

    Read expert perspectives on popular health topics.

  • Community
    WebMD

    Community

    Connect with people like you, and get expert guidance on living a healthy life.

Got a health question? Get answers provided by leading organizations, doctors, and experts.

Get Answers

Sign up to receive WebMD's award-winning content delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up

User Reviews & Ratings - LYSINE

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of LYSINE.

«LYSINE Information

Review this Treatment

Overall User Ratings

390 Total User Reviews

Average Ratings

See products with LYSINE

User Reviews

«Previous 91-95 of 196 Next»
Reason for taking: Cold sores
12/28/2013 6:10:48 PM

Reviewer: johnnyo, 35-44 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
life is not fair sometimes, 99% of people get cold sores but it seemed like i was the only one who had his cold sore turn into a nasty scabby mess that covered quarter of my lower lip and took two looooooong weeks to heal. sigghhhh. This wonderful event occured twice a year,every year all my life. like most of you i tried every known remedy without much success. 3 days ago, the dreaded tingly fell ... Show Full Comment

Reason for taking: Cold sores
12/18/2013 7:15:31 PM

Reviewer: 25-34 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:

Reason for taking: Cold sores
12/14/2013 11:05:21 PM

Reviewer: 45-54 Male (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I've had cold sores, inside and sometimes outside my mouth area all my life. Rarely two weeks would go by without having some kind of sore inside my mouth. I started taking lysine, 500mg 2x/day about 6 weeks ago and have not had a single cold sore or even slight flare up of any kind. This to me is absolutely miraculous, because my cold sores were genuinely painful.

Reason for taking: Cold sores
11/13/2013 12:07:19 PM

Reviewer: 35-44 Male on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
Lysine changed my life. I've been getting bad cold sores for the last 6 years. I started taking Lysine a year ago, and have not got one since. I take 1 pill in the morning everyday with vitamins..awesome!

Reason for taking: Cold sores
11/5/2013 3:05:54 PM

Reviewer: nightingale, 65-74 Male on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I have suffered cold sores for 50 years and was taking using zovirax cream and more recently the tablets, but did not like the side effects of an upset stomach and intense dreams (not nightmares). I now take one 1000mg tablet of lysine at the first sign, usually the itch and then one 1000 mg tablet each day for 5 days. It works and the side effects are much less than zovirax. Other benefits from l ... Show Full Comment

«Previous 91-95 of 196 Next»
Search for a Vitamin or Supplement

Ex. Ginseng, Vitamin C, Depression

Today on WebMD

vitamin rich groceries
Do you know your vitamin ABCs?
St Johns wart
Ease hot flashes and other symptoms.
 
clams
Are you getting enough?
Take your medication
Wonder pill or overkill?
 
fruits and vegetables
Video
!!69X75_Vitamins_Supplements.jpg
Article
 
Woman sleeping
Article
Woman staring into space with coffee
Article
 
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.