Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Tacrolimus since my Kidney/Pancreas Transplant in May of 2002. This is, quite honestly, the best drug that I'm taking right now and I've NEVER had any rejection. I lost the transplanted pancreas in Feb 2003, however, that was due to thrombosis when a blood clot moved into the artery and blocked the blood flow to that particular organ.....but my new kidney rocks!!!

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I really did not feel well because I newly experienced tremor. After switching to an alternative (ciclo) symptoms very quickly ceased.

Shared reviews and ratings

Teresa | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/29/2021
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this for 12 years and had one liver rejection issue in the beginning. They adjusted this med and I’ve been good since. I’m on 1mg in morning and 2mg at night. God is Good! Ty donor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EndPKDnow | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/4/2019
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So many awful side effects that leave me unable to get anything done or go anywhere. But My kidney is healthy which is number 1 priority!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bee | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/5/2019
Condition: Prevent of Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had my liver transplants for 25 yrs was on cyclosporine for the first 18 yrs then was changed to tacrolimus currently on 1.5 mg twice daily. it has stopped a episode of acute rejection but I have had several side effects including thrombocytopenia (low platelets of 50) headaches, ringing in the ears, insomnia, very slow muscle weakness, difficulty swallowing, heart palpitations, tiredness. I would like to know if any one else has been having muscle weakness?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DebiS | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2017
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

5 months out! I'm so alive! TY donor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ollivander | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/25/2017
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does its job very well as I haven't had any rejection that wasn't because of further surgery, but the side effects have been creeping up slowly. Started noticing my hair was very dry and thin and has started to come out more and more. I'm always confused, tired and generally just not stable with a rather pounding heart beat if I try to do anything remotely strenuous. the list is quite long with this one so attempting to switch to something else at the moment. It's been about a year and a half since I had my liver transplant and these effects have only just started.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pugluv | 45-54 | Female | Patient
11/14/2013
Condition: Prevent of Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This should say first side effect especially for woman like me it causes baldness this med is killing my hair ! When you people write side effects that is a big one and should be known for woman .tell us up front not after we start losing hair and going crazy because of it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bodie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/29/2013
Condition: Rejection of Liver Transplant
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In 1994, after transplant, I rejected under the two drugs of the time. Tacrolimus was not yet FDA approved, so I had to sign for it, but it has worked now for 19-1/2 years! I am down to .one capsule daily. When I first took it, my hands shook, my writing looked like chicken scratches and I could not cut my own food. I am also on ursodiol and azathioprine and am continually grateful for my second chance to live. I continuously have various skin problems and constipation, but who knows what to blame. I also had a heart flutter and rather sudden high blood pressure, but the Cleveland Clinic took great care of that, and I am still enjoying life at 82! Medical research has been a blessing to me, as when I was first diagnosed with primary biliary cirhhosis in 1983, I was too old to receive a transplant! I am in touch with the woman who made the tough decision to donate her husband's organs, and it makes me happy to know she is doing so well. God bless all the donor families!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/2/2012
Condition: Body's Rejection of a Transplanted Organ
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rumrazin | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/3/2011
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/2/2011
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had no problems what so ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/8/2010
Condition: Prevent of Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have had no significant problems with tacrolimus mild elevation of creatin in kidneys

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrsJackson | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/15/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill for almost a year now for FSGS(nephrotic syndrome). I had huge amount of fluid in my stomach and other parts. After taking this for a few months I went from 160 back to my 115 weight. I had no side effects at all like I did when my doctor tried Cyclosporine. This drug turned my labs back to normal and made my weekly kidney appt to 4-5 months apart. GREAT DRUG!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barb2rick | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first lowered my IGG with 1mg, but on 2 mg my IGG has increased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
surfer | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/23/2010
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a transplant for 9 years now and have had great success but for these dam skin problems...it sucks being a surfer with a transplant because I am at the skin doc every other week getting shiot removed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
randysandy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/17/2008
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Tacrolimus since my Kidney/Pancreas Transplant in May of 2002. This is, quite honestly, the best drug that I'm taking right now and I've NEVER had any rejection. I lost the transplanted pancreas in Feb 2003, however, that was due to thrombosis when a blood clot moved into the artery and blocked the blood flow to that particular organ.....but my new kidney rocks!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BOBBI | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/16/2008
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my FK level is 14.6 after a 13 hour of not taking any prograf....Is this OK?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wolfe | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/24/2008
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really did not feel well because I newly experienced tremor. After switching to an alternative (ciclo) symptoms very quickly ceased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ali | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
10/25/2007
Condition: Prevention of Lung Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
10/13/2007
Condition: Prevention of Cardiac Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since my Transplant,heart, Oct. 2001, I've had only one or two Rejections. I was placed on Prograf after having experienced numerous rejections the first months of my Transplant. I was apparently rejecting the Meds, not the heart!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More