Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

114 People found this comment helpful

Oxycodone is the BEST pain medication for CHRONIC SEVERE LOWER LUMBAR BACK PAIN! It works a bit less by the 4th year or so, but, at least takes the "edge" off more than any other pain medication. The problem is....many, many doctors will not take you on as a patient for "chronic severe pain" with anything...if you need any narcotic in order to function! They ALL seem to be "FRAIDY CATS" because...

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

Everyone Who is reading this and taking this drug, get ready for the your life is about to become. If you stay on it longer than 6 weeks you are now in the oxy-head club! Once you reach tolerance level, and taking over what the Dr. prescribes its over, you loose libido, the interest in going out , ya i've heard the whole Quantity over Quality life bit spoken like a true hooked, yes addicted per...

Shared reviews and ratings

# | 55-64 | Female | Patient
11/2/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been a chronic pain patient for over 15 years, with one good disc from my neck to my lower back. I have NEVER had such horrible, Poor Meds as in Rhodes brand Oxycodone. It has abosulely no effect on my pain. Nomrally I can get an hour-3 hours relief on a 6 hr script, Rhodes brand, which I had to pay more for, is like taking Tyllenol, Does Zero in helping my Pain. RUN from this Manufacturer!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CLI7648 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/27/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking Oxycodone 30mg for many years due to severe car accident. In the 20 years of being on pain meds I’ve rarely had problems with quality, etc., however, I picked up my meds yesterdays and for the first time ever, I received Rhodes brand Oxycodone 30m immediate release. Let me be very clear in that it does NOT work well as compared to others. First time ever in which I’m feeling withdrawal-type symptoms. Just called my Dr’s office to share that I would like to “surrender” these pills and asked that a new script be sent into pharmacy. I thought it was maybe just me but look at these reviews with the same feedback! Not good…. Do not accept these pills. Further, you can’t get your money back if you walk out of store with them. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T.P. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/24/2022
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had spinal fusion, i have had the nerves in my back burned, i have had steroids injected into my back, over an 8 year period, nothing except oxycodone acetaminophen stop's this pain, on Friday October 21st i received a prescription from CVS, R/P. 5/325. Oxycodone acetaminophen 5mg manufactured by Rhodes Pharmaceuticals. Today is Monday October 24th I have ingested 17 out of 60 pills with zero results to control my sciatica pain. It's my opinion I am now a victim of a pharmaceutical company Misrepresenting a controlled substance, distributing a placebo labled as oxycodone acetaminophen. I am going to call this Rhodes Pharmaceutical today and tell them that if they don't fix my medications problem I intend to hire an attorney and file a class action lawsuit against their company for misrepresenting a controlled substance, i take my pain relief very seriously and they have profited from my pain by giving me a fake pain reliever, I will give them an opportunity to fix my medication by the end of today and then I turn their garbage over to an attorney to have its ingredients tested, i did not agree to participate in any placebo study.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PUDENDAL SHARI | 55-64 | Nonbinary | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/7/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take this brand on an empty stomach with some fat to make it work better. Very odd. I got Rhodes brand a few years ago and had withdrawals, it was awful. Yesterday I got that brand again, pharmacist said it was all be could get, and Dr was closed for the weekend, so couldn’t get a new electronic script. I took it and couldn’t believe it. It works now. All I can figure is Rhodes has bad quality control, I must have lucked out this time and received a batch that actually has oxycodone in it. I’m talking to my Dr about this, I have to find a way to avoid this brand, it is not consistent, and usually is a placebo. The darned electronic prescriptions are a pain. You can’t just take it to another pharmacy, now you have to get the old one cancelled and a new prescription called in. Rhodes is awful. I’ve only had two instances where it worked, 5mg tabs and 10mg tabs at different times. I’d estimate 90% of Rhodes oxy is useless. Thank you God I got a good bottle this time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Twelve spine surgeries resulting in extreme chronic pain. Oxycodone works. I was able to work ten additional years because of this drug. No functional impairment. Yes, you get dependent but what choice do you have as nothing else helps at all. Agree that there is significant variability in brands. If you get a bad one, you are in severe pain for a month. Mallinckrodt brand of Percocet 10 mg and Oxycodone 15 mg have always worked well for me. KVK tech - side effects. SpecGx - about 2/3 as effective compared to Mallinckrodt.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NOT AGAIN! | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/8/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mallinckrodt is now absolute garbage. They are "now" the weakest most ineffective brand of all. I went through withdrawal and a week of hell when they switched me to this brand. I now have nausea, mood swings, and almost no energy or desire to do anything everyday not to mention almost no pain relief. These companies are more concerned with saving junkies than helping legit pain patients.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeff Rule | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/3/2022
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have degerative Disc disease in my lower lumbar. I'm bone on bone from L-1 to L-5. The blue oxycodone do a fantastic job elevating the severe pain I have. The white oxycondone do nothing. There horrible brand..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hoosier Carry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/28/2022
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried injections, nerve blocks, prescription Nsaids, etc. They all fell way short of how Oxycodone has helped me in my quality of life for 6 years now. I also have high blood pressure. Oxycodone actually helps me there as well. There are FAR more benefits than bad side-effects and the dreaded "ADDICTION." I have bulging discs and severe arthritis from working my butt off for 50 years. So now that I'm retired, I deserve to be as comfortable as possible no matter how many mgs I need to make that happen. As far as the CDC and DEA goes, they all can take a long walk off a short pier!! THEY are the problem, NOT my pain medications! So please, Government Alphabet Soup, stay the hell away from me and we'll all get along just fine!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/25/2022
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've noticed a number of reviews that mention Rhodes Brand Oxycodone as being ineffective. My two most recent prescriptions came from two different manufacturers, and when I went to look at the names the one that was clearly the most effective turned out to be....Rhodes. These were 5mg, immediate release tablets, so maybe the others' negative experiences were with other doses or not the immediate release version. One other recent review touted Rhodes also, so I'm not alone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chronicpain2 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I came to this message board because I’ve been on an opioid treatment ( oxycodone 5mg 3x a day) for a year due to 2 back surgeries and a rare condition called Cauda Equina syndrome which crushed my s1 nerve to complete mush. I hurt all the time but this drug makes it tolerable! I have noticed a difference in brands though just like many on here! Rhodes pharmacy is the best and KVk tech makes me SICK . I’ve had the latter for the last month and it’s been hell on my body , stomach and emotions. What the heck do they add to some of these brands that make them so awful? Anyone know? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Qwete | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from three types of severe arthritis, neuropathy and lower back pain Began taking Percocet two years, pain would always come back in 3-4 hours, pain doctor added Oycotim 80mg to take as I needed this and Percocet fro break thru pain. Within two months I instructed my doctor to take me off the Oxy’s cause there not relieving my pain for 12 hours and the Percocet pain still coming back too soon. My pain was so bad it put me into a depression and doctor decided to try Methadone with the Percocet. Had the same problem for years. Lived comfortable for 3-4 hours til time for my next dose. I would continue telling my doctor my pain was coming back too soon, just didn’t listen. Finally I asked my rheumatologist to refer me to a new pain doctor. My new doctor did the usual my first visit, drug screening and complete physical and notes from my rheumatologist and records from my old pain doctor. Returned a month later and doctor began trying me on different pain medications, NUCYNTA, gave me hot flashes, Fentanyl Patches, down for 10 days from severe side effects. Doctor was puzzled why all these meds I’m not responding to. She then asked if I ever heard of a Pharmacogenetics test, no. She gave me a list of illnesses like Pain, Psycotic, High BP, Anxiety etc….had me ask my primary care physician to order this test. It was done and within two weeks I received the results. All these years the medications I’ve been taking would never work have worked for me. It gave a list of medications your body will not respond to and a list of drugs that is recommended that my body will respond too. It’s all about your enzymes, metabolism, Hypersensitivity etc…ended up with is CYP2D6. This test broke down all the classes of meds I was taking, my primary care had to change my blood pressure medication, cholesterol, anxiety meds, all from this testing. What I’m saying is whenever your worried meds are not working for you, request for this test, it can really help you out in the long run. The pain medication I’m currently on now, is the best ever, haven’t had no relief like this in many years, I can now function and get out and live a little. It only takes you to find that one doctor to believe and willing to work with you and is a Pain Management Physician. I really hope this story will help. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AveCaesar | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/4/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this medication in various dosages off-and-on for approximately 5 years due to cancer, chemotherapy, and post-chemotherapy pain. I currently take the 7.25 MG oxycodone + 325 MG acetaminophen formulation. At this point, I am fairly close to giving it up entirely. It's not because the medication is ineffective, but rather it's because there is seemingly no consistency in terms of the quality of the batch you receive. I discovered rather quickly to avoid the Alvogen brand; the nausea was unbearable and it usually took about 2 hours for what was supposed to be an immediate release tablet to start working and would peak about 1 hour after that. The Rhodes Pharmaceuticals brand has been the one I've gotten the most. At first, it would reliably start working about 45 minutes after taking it, which is not quite "immediate," but also not unusual for me in terms of most medicines. I of course developed a tolerance to it over time, but it was still decent at controlling my pain. Most side effects were mild, except for the extremely negative impact on my libido. While this is of course not great for a married man in his 30s, it was a trade that I was begrudgingly willing to make since I could complete everyday tasks without hurting and be more active with my family outside of the home. Over the last two years or so, however, (let's say the summer of 2020 to the present) the Rhodes variety has seen a marked decline in quality control and product consistency. Some batches have presented me with essentially no side effects but little analgesic help. Others have been normal. Some begin working with almost alarming speed (30 minutes) while others take an aeon (2.5 hours) and lose effectiveness quickly. For 3 of the last 5 months, though, the side effects have been much worse and my pain is barely managed. I am frequently nauseated, regardles of when, whether, or what I have eaten in relation to taking a pill. I have so much fatigue that I struggle to complete basic tasks, regardless of how much I slept the night before. What little sex drive I had before is essentially gone, which is putting a major strain on my marriage. As a cancer patient in remission, I get bloodwork done every three months and have frequent office visits, so there's nothing new going on with me healthwise that's been detected. I frequently take breaks of 2 weeks or longer from taking this medication, and surprise, basically all of these issues go away when I do this. If I had to compare the feeling I get taking this medication now to anything, it would be the post-anesthesia hangovers I would have immediately after waking up from my surgeries. The anesthesia I received, of course, was fentanyl, so I'm genuinely beginning to wonder whether Rhodes has got some type of contamination (unintentional or otherwise) in their precursor when making these pills. I hate to say it, but at this point I'm ready to get my life back from the thing that's supposed to help me get my life back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/26/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had four failed back Surgeries, Been taking 30mg Oxycodone for basically 23 years. Here’s the Problem in NY, They Sued all the Pain Med Manafactures, and Now they won’t do business with NY, except for Methdone and those types of drugs. They (ny) thought they were smart, they put a heavy tax on the companies to Due Business expecting 100 million in revenue. NOT under 30 million. LoL ?? NY,NY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alma S. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2022
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched from oxycodome 10mg to oxycodone 7.5mg/325 acetaminophen. I have had 8 back surgeries in 4.3 months. My pain management person put me on this. I am also a gastric bypass patient and need immediate release of all medications due to how my intestines were rerouted. This medication they keep telling me is immediate release. It’s a lie. Immediate release almost melts as soon as I put it in my mouth to swallow. This pill from Rhodes is absolutely not immediate release. It takes 30-040 minutes to even work and only barely touches my pain. It wears entirely out of my system after only 3 hours. Regular release pills do that since I am a gastric bypass patient. There is absolutely no way these pills are immediate release as they keep trying to tell me they are. Don’t take them they are horrible and absolutely do not work on my pain more than 3 hours. The immediate release last the 6 hours they are supposed to last. These pills suck and are a wasteRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
7/7/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 45 mg oxycodone I r. 3 15 mg per day for several yrs .I have severe spinal stenosis in the c ,s and l regions .I had a recent mri as the previous one was about ten yrs old this last one was worse! But I manage I go to my Dr for the last 15 yrs he's about to retire but I've got one aligned up I think! But I thank my Dr for helping me but my insurance pays the firm nearly 500 bucks 4 times a yr to talk to me 5 mins ,electronically send my scripts in for 3 mos!! They get 2 grand a yr.i get my meds! Good ole American health care!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marmar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking Oxycodone for 30 years. Has been very effective, for the most part, in curtailing my chronic lower back and sciatica pain. However, my recent prescription is markedly less effective. I thought it was me, but the second months supply was the same. I noticed it was Rhodes Pharmacy and it is terribly ineffective. I need almost twice as much. I’m going to request another generic next refill. This med should not be allowed on the market. Chronic pain sufferers rely on meds like this to have a semblance of a normal life and this can really increase suffering. DON’T USE RHODES PHARMACY for Oxycodone!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ChronicPainPt. | 35-44 | Female | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have many chronic pain conditions and have been on oxycodone for over a decade. I have noticed the quality of pain relief from all brands in the last few years go down hill. I personally don’t have a problem with the Rhodes brand however my pharmacy has been giving me a brand made by Dr. Reddys. I haven’t read any reviews specifically about this brand but it causes me severe debilitating headaches and diarrhea. I am curious if anyone else has taken this brand and has similar reactions. WTH are they putting in this stuff? Pharmacist says they’re all the same, they certainly are not and have different filler ingredients. Unfortunately once you take possession of them they will not/cannot take them back. Even if you ask prior to picking them up to transfer to another pharmacy it’s not allowed. I’m now again stuck with a months worth of meds that make me bed bound instead of giving me quality of life to be able to work.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daniel | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/27/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got this Rhodes oxycodone for the first time and it didn’t give me any pain relief. What a nightmare having to take this stuff for a month. I couldn’t sleep last night because of the pain. The FDA is a joke to allow this crap on the market. I’m considering legal action for a month of pain and suffering.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joanne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/10/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have no side effects from Oxycodone IR. I take 10 - 15 MG 3 to 4 times a day. I have arthritis in my spine, degenerative disc, spinal stenosis and possibly fibromyalgia. The KVK manufacturer brand really works. Once Walgreens gave me Rhodes brand I literally thought someone gave me a placebo it was so ineffective. I complained but couldn't exchange. I had a very painful month. So now I always check the manufacturer before I get a refill or I go somewhere else. Now I have SPECGX which I don't like as well as KVK so I will say something again but it works ok. In researching Rhodes I found out that the guy who is in trouble about Oxy bought a small pharmaceutical plant which is Rhodes and is trying to pass something off. Or is putting a lot less amount of the actual opiod in the pill bcz it really doesn't work. Never again will I be duped. I'll change pharmacies.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/5/2022
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started having several episodes per year of severe pain in upper right abdominal quadrant (right under ribcage) at about age 33 (I'm now 68), which lasted a very predictable 2 to 3 days/episode, before subsiding. Worst pain was at night, when I'd stay awake tossing and turning and trying to self-alleviate (superstitious behavior, really). Usually, around 3AM, the pain would lessen enough to sleep, but then I was a basket case the next day, and often skipped work. I'd try Tylenol and Ibuprofen, which had very little effect. Fast forward 20 years. After having all 4 wisdom teeth removed, I was prescribed Endocet, an opiate, which was very effective for that particular pain. About 6 years later, during one of my stomach episodes, I noticed the unused Endocet in the medicine cabinet, and thought, "hmmm...six years past expiration, probably useless," but took one or two anyway, just to see. Wow! Two tablets relieved my pain completely, and I slept like a baby. Six years after the supposed expiration date! Next time I visited my doctor, who had no explanation for these flare ups, I told him about the leftover Endocet experience and he wrote me a prescription for Oxycodone. Of course, this worked at least as well (5 to 10 mg per episode, always taken at night), and I usually took only about 5 total 5mg tablets over 3 days before the pain subsided. I never experience constipation or any sense of tolerance, probably because of how infrequently I actually take this medication (4 to 7 episodes per year, usually weeks to months between each very unpredictable flare up). Since that discovery my doctor typically wrote me one 30-tablet prescription every 6 months. Having it available "when needed" completely eliminated the pain, and thus the ability of these attacks to derail my life for 2 to 3 days each time. That doctor retired a few years ago, and my new MD is more nervous about filling this prescription, although he has continued to do so. He always talks about "weaning me off of it," which make no sense, as I take it very responsibly and am at about the lowest dose and schedule of administration of anyone I'd every met or read about. The hysteria about addiction and overdose (almost always due to Fentanyl) has led to an overabundance of caution regarding opiates, and this really does a disservice to people who truly need an opiate to deal with chronic pain. As one writer on this forum already noted, research has shown that for people who truly take opiates for pain, the risk of becoming addicted is about 2%, and even that number is populated largely by individuals who struggle with other addictions (e.g., alcohol). I’d love to see the day when people who are at almost zero risk of addiction, like myself, can comfortably obtain this medication, by prescription, in whatever amount is needed to effectively treat their otherwise unmanageable pain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More