Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

I started having seizers at age 14 after I fell down some flight of stairs and ended up in hospital unconscious. I was being treated with Dilantin but on a rather irregular basis. I was having seizures about 3 times per year mainly at nights 3-5 am . At about age 30 I started taking this more seriously and was prescribed the generic PHENYTOIN 300 MG AT NIGHTS which I take regularly. I do not drin...

Shared reviews and ratings

Long time user first time writer | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/17/2020
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this medication for 10 years plus and the only time I've had a seizure is when i forgot to take it. Always worried about long time effects though concerning my liver. Currently taking 2 100MG capsules 3 times a day which is high but has allowed me to live a normal life so far. Prior to I couldn't hold a job and started to have severe depression from this. I'm happy its around but does not work on all people such as my little brother who is also epileptic. This medication had to effect for him.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2019
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angie B | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2017
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has anyone taking this for Trigenimal Neuralgia and am taking starting taking Phenyytoin 100mg 2x a day. Trigeminal neuralgia is a chronic neuropathic pain disorder characterized by episodes of sudden, severe facial pain. Pain arises from the trigeminal nerve, which carries sensory messages to and from the face. People with trigeminal neuralgia describe their pain as an excruciating shock-like or burning sensation on one side of the lower face, cheek or jaw or around the eye.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
post surgical period | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/7/2016
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/26/2014
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it does not seem to work. always feel like i'm going to take a siezure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jerry | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/14/2014
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started having convulsive seizures about three years ago and went to three hoptpials before they found the problem, I have a brain tumor with a anurisum attached which has busted since the first diagnosis, I have very bad headaches and get confused very easy but other than that the medication is working very good for seizures, I still have one now and then but they are not as violent and i am not sore for a week after words. but not going to do surgery just keep taking the meds they are safer than surgery. Guess when its my time it my time. lol Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
12/19/2013
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started having seizers at age 14 after I fell down some flight of stairs and ended up in hospital unconscious. I was being treated with Dilantin but on a rather irregular basis. I was having seizures about 3 times per year mainly at nights 3-5 am . At about age 30 I started taking this more seriously and was prescribed the generic PHENYTOIN 300 MG AT NIGHTS which I take regularly. I do not drink nor smoke I AM NOW AGE 63 AND STILL ON phenytoin. I show little or no side effects and have seizures on average once every 3 years.I have been to university and a Maths major. Seizures in my opinion is one of the most terrible illnesses, had it not for seizures, I would have had all 32 teeth in my mouth. After one attack lasting maybe 40 seconds, I am shaken up for at least 1 week, may even a month with bad feelings and head aches . I hate it . Pray for my recovery please. Thanks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/19/2013
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/19/2013
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Am on 200mg/day with excellent control. Have had one daughter born w/o any problems while on med. I have developed tinnitus in both ears since being switched to generic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FIVEPENNYS | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2013
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2013
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
martha parks | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/20/2013
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

has worked so far, but now having more seizures

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/9/2010
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has helped me not have any seizures but I am very confused all the time now ! Today I was telling my husband something and forgot what I was saying right in the middle of it . I would change drugs but at the moment have no insurance to do so . I took this med. when I was younger without this happening .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fileta | 55-64 | Female | Patient
12/4/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sugarbear | 45-54 | Male | Patient
10/30/2009
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/15/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Dilantin Ex for over 17 years now, with no problems. But, due to a loss in drug coverage, I am now having to switch to generic, and my pharmacy only carries TARO brand... which does not look familiar to me... Has this specific brand been rated/reviewed before? I need help...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/25/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/28/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
strempie | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/21/2009
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking for over 13 years, Dilantin was first prescribed and didn't seem to have noticable side effects. Insurance soon forced me to use generic phenytoin by refusing to pay for dilantin, which became unaffordable. Since taking Phenytoin Sodium Extended Caps at the rate of 800mg a day, (400mg am & 400 pm) I haven't felt like my old self in years. Who makes this stuff anyway?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jazzynan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/31/2008
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Dilantin or its generic for over 35 years now. I have had 10 seizures total and only when I have mistaken, tried to change medication (by doctor suggestion), or had one too many drinks!!! I take 350 MG daily with virtually no side effects-no gum problems-however, I am 59 and sometimes have memory problems, but that could be due to my age!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More