Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

I get frequent upper respiratory infections and when my coughing interupts my sleep this is the only medicine that is effective at stopping the cough and allows me to rest. It starts working in like 15 minutes and allows for a cough-free night. I would suggest taking it during the day for the first time so you know how you will react to it. You MUST take it with at least one full glass of water or...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Have sinusitis and bronchitis...Tessalon works fairly well for about 4 hrs except it does nothing for my drippy nose and mucous in my throat. After 4 hours (when I take at night) the effectiveness is gone, and I am still wide awake. I wish it would make me drowsy, but it does not! I get to sleep around 3 a.m. I won't be taking it again.

Shared reviews and ratings

N M | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First time I have used it...covid cough. Was very effective and I didn't have to resort to using cough syrup. For those who it didn't work for---it's just not the right medication for you. Z-pac never works for me, that doesn't make it worthless, just not right for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
P'Ross | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does nothing. Doctors would rather you suffer than prescribe a narcotic cough suppressant that works. Disgraceful! Start caring for your patients well being and comfort and stop worrying about the DEA. The government has no business sticking its fat nose in doctor patient care .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donttake | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took one pill, as directed, and had to go to ER two hours later to get medicine to counteract it. It felt like I was being choked. I got progressively more confused and kept drifting off mid-sentence. Horrible feeling. Never had any relief from the coughing either. Nurse told me to get rid of these pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It made absolutely no difference. My cough continued. No relief from my cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TJR | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been prescribed this many times over the years. It does nothing for me at all. I hear others say how much it helps them. I wish I was one of those people.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K9GSD | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been prescribed three time over 5 years for cold and flu related coughs, absolutely no difference before or after.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had terrible coughing fits and nothing worked. I’m finally able to get some sleep with this. This was probably my last resort to stop my cough. Nothing else seemed to work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Loli | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first time I've been prescribed this medication and after an hour and 20 minutes I'm actually coughing more and harder than before. OTC meds helped more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moe | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/28/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Completely ineffective for my bronchitis. A waste of time. Doctors are claiming there is nothing they can prescribe. This is the worse, I'm back to over the counter options.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sweet | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with a horrible case of pneumonia. I also have asthma. These did nothing for my cough after about 4 hours. They did give me terrible insomnia so instead of sleeping to get better I am wide awake and not even feeling tired. My all natural cough medicine works much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had COVID and this helped me so much. My cough attacks were so bad I wanted to die.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/5/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Garbage. Have tried these several times and they never work. No reduction in coughing at all. I don't know why doctors keep prescribing this junk. The last time I went in for bronchitis, the doctor prescribed this and I didn't even bother getting it filled - didn't feel like wasting my money again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MJAtlanta | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I've had a cold with a cough, tessalon perles provided a lot of relief. It controls the coughing so you can get a good night's sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julz | 45-54 | Patient
7/30/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been coughing for three days and just started doing it all night. I took one of these in the middle of the night in 20 minutes I stopped coughing and was able to sleep. They worked wonders for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/7/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this for bad cough. It doesn’t work AT ALL and my cough worsened to the point that I had to go back to the doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momcwoz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three months post covid, I have been coughing so hard that I am having serious nose bleeds. One day into treatment and I am already coughing less.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
11/22/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MegTexas | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don’t work IDC WHAT ANYONE SAYS WASTE OF MONEY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wren | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely useless and ineffective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Itsallrelative | 45-54 | Female | Patient
11/5/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is a joke it does not work don't waste your time or your money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More