Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

my 17 year old son was diagnosed w/Tourette's at 3 years old and this medication has been a life saver for him!

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I HAVE TOURETTE SYNDROME AND MY DOCTOR WANTED ME TO TAKE ORAB. AFTER TAKING IT FOR 2 WEEKS I STARTED GETTING DEPRESSED AND HAVING MUCH ANXIETY. I COULD NOT CONTROL MY IMPULSES. WELL I HAD TO CALL 911 DUE TO A MENTAL IMPAIRMENT AND JUDGEMENT IN MY BEHAVIOR FROM THIS MEDICIDE. IT DOES CAUSE SUICIDIAL TENDENCIES. THIS IS OUT OF MY CHARACTER. I HAD NO CONTROL OVER MY OWN THOUGHTS. I INTEND TO TAK...

Shared reviews and ratings

TSmom | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/23/2015
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 15-year-old son was on it for two weeks and we saw absolutely no relief of his tics. Doctor said to stop taking it. I think I'm grateful, as there seems to be a lot of anxiety issues with this drug. Going back to Abilify, after being off of it for almost 4 years. Hoping it brings any relief. We liked the results of risperdal, but not the weight gain, and possibility of gynecomastia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thingsarebetternow | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/28/2013
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was/have been on this medication for over four years. I started weening off the medication this summer and have been off for over two months, and my tics haven't come back. I'm hoping I've outgrown the Tourette's, which my doc said could happen. Side effects SUCKED! For the first four months of being on the medication, I couldn't stay awake for more than 8-10 hours, which isn't good for anyone, much less a kid in high school with extracurricular activities. Slowly got over these, and things seemed fine for a while. Then I started having these uncontrollable shaking of both my upper eyelids. I quit two summer jobs, and dropped out of college the year after. I saw several specialists, had a CT Scan, and one doctor even thought what I had was life threatening, and wanted to operate right there. Safe to say we got a second opinion, and that fiasco was cleared up. Still though, my miserable life went on... For almost two years until I thought, "hmm. Maybe it's a side-effect of the Orap." I weened off the medicine and I haven't had one seizure in 7 months (they were almost daily occurrences before) and now am no longer dependent on the medication. It's a great medication which does its job, but be very wary of side effects (it's a nasty drug) and always be in touch with your doctor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim D | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/6/2013
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Orap for 25 years. It's very beneficial to me. Without it I make uncontrollable noises and face movements. I most likely will be on it for the rest of my life. The side effects I've adapted to are a severe case of tremors in which I take other medications to treat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wendy21 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/14/2012
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on orap since i was 12 yrs old, after i tried everything else. I am now 29. I do suffer from anxiety i do not know if it's from te orap, but i have almost no tics with it. It has been my life savior i will probably be on it forever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/23/2012
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Orap for 15 years and it has been a life saver. I would not function in my daily life without it. I only take enough to suppress tics during the day so I don't overmedicate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/28/2012
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Orap immediately took care of my facial and hand ticks but gave me SEVERE anxiety. I was on this drug for two years before I realized why I was so anxious. I went thru 8 jobs in two years because of it. Wish I would have pin-pointed the cause earlier. Would have saved me A LOT of grief. Stopped taking it and am back to my normal laid-back self!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ChrisN | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/20/2012
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Tourette my entire life. Orap worked for me however the side effects were too much for me to handle. I was scared all the time, had severe panic attacks, would hear and see things that no one else heard. Thought about suicide on a regular basis. I finally decided to get off of Orap and it took well over a year for the anxiety and depression (even with depression RX) to get back to normal except now my Tourrettes is worse than it was ever before. I have an appointment to go back to the doctor to once again try Orap. After stopping Orap my Tourrettes has gotten so much worse that I'm willing to be scared, see & hear things that others don't just to stop the tics. In my opinion Orap is a give and take relationship. Take Orap and have back part of your life but give up feeling safe, tight spaces, airplane rides, just about anything that might have a little excitement that cause the panic attack. Oh, and the facial movements that could become permanent that I got the first time around I'm willing to take back. Just because movement is much quieter in a quiet place than a tic. My tics were foul words and weird noises. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/12/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 14 yr old daughter suffered from severe motor tics. She tried Tenex but that had no effect. She was place on Orap, 2 mg a day, and her tics have disappeared, even during periods of extreme stress. I have not noticed any side effects from this dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tikker | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2011
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Tourettes since I was 10; I'm now 71. I have been on Klonopin for 25 years and thought I needed to try something new. Orap was a huge mistake. After two weeks I felt like crawling out of my skin. I stopped and it took 2 weeks for the side affects to discontinue because of it's long half life. Orap was a huge mistake!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jc3chandler | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/31/2011
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Tourettes late in age of 23 but suffered since I was in 2nd grade. I have now been on orap(2mg) for 26 years and it has been a life savor. Since going on the medication I have raised a family, gotten a BS and Masters degree in Education and am able to live a normal life. I am very thankful for this drug and do not intend on trying anything else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
7/3/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it did stop the tics almost immediately. as far as long term I now have numerous problems that have surfaced since discontinuing the medication 15 years ago. tardive Diskynesia, vocal tics, restell, parkinson symptoms..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
2/8/2010
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dawnwark | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/22/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a 16 year old daughter who has OCD but also tics. The drug immediately made them disappear but the personality change, mood swings and moderate depression are scaring me. I cannot tell if this is 16 year old behaviour or a true drug interaction. Anyone have an idea about how to distinguish...I have never had a teenage girl before nor remember my own childhood closely enough to know if this is "normal" behaviour. I guess we can try another drug to remove the tics and see if her mood improves...any ideas?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2009
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE TOURETTE SYNDROME AND MY DOCTOR WANTED ME TO TAKE ORAB. AFTER TAKING IT FOR 2 WEEKS I STARTED GETTING DEPRESSED AND HAVING MUCH ANXIETY. I COULD NOT CONTROL MY IMPULSES. WELL I HAD TO CALL 911 DUE TO A MENTAL IMPAIRMENT AND JUDGEMENT IN MY BEHAVIOR FROM THIS MEDICIDE. IT DOES CAUSE SUICIDIAL TENDENCIES. THIS IS OUT OF MY CHARACTER. I HAD NO CONTROL OVER MY OWN THOUGHTS. I INTEND TO TAKE THIS TO A CIVIL CASE IN COURT. NO ONE SHOULD TAKE THIS MEDICINE. IT IS NOT WORTH IT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2009
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It only mildly worked, and it caused my 9th grade daughter to have severe diarrhea, it was so thin that it was sliding out without her knowledge.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/21/2009
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nearly immediately got rid of tics. Tics will rarely "break through" when I get very stressed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Baileys Mom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/1/2009
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was given to my 64 year old who has always battled with TS. This drug made her very slow, walked stiff and slow, slow reation time and had memory issues. She is seeking an alternative. From a daughters point of view....I don't agree with Orap (for her anyway).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/9/2009
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter is 11 years old and was diagnosed with Tourettes Syndrome 8 months ago. After watching her tic for hours at a time, I have been very please to see what Orap has done for her. She still has tics, but only when she is stressed, excited or in extreme heat. I have been very pleased with Orap. I feel parents should always be knowledgeable of what their children are taking and take the time to research it yourself because our children are our responsibility.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
helpless | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/23/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter who is 7 years old and weighs 48 pounds was put on ORAP because we were told that she had Tic Syndrome. She did fine the first 3 days with 1mlgm. The doctor told us that she need 1 pill in the morning and 1 in the evening. We started the second pill on a Sat. Monday evening we had to call an ambulance because she was not responsive. To make a long story short, we were told by several doctors that she was way over medicated. We were also told that kids under the age of 12 shouldn't be on this medicine, because it is to powerful!!!! To all you parents please research other drugs for children under 12. This almost killed my only daughter. I did all kinds of research and explained to the doctor what I found, and he still told me that she would be fine. Not True!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | Patient
4/24/2008
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my 17 year old son was diagnosed w/Tourette's at 3 years old and this medication has been a life saver for him!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More