Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

99 People found this comment helpful

I take my dose and wait 20 min. or so until I feel it coming on, then it puts me to sleep very well and quickly. I feel taking it and going right to bed is not as effective as waiting till you feel results, regaurdless of what my doctor says. Don't wait too long to go to bed though, when you feel a little light headed, lay down immediatly. If you wait too long it feels like it is not as effecti...

Most voted negative review

34 People found this comment helpful

This medicine almost killed me yesterday

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took trittico as an alternative for zinovat because my doctor told me it would be better. Since I had it, I was dizzy, nauseous, blurry vision, extreme headache, felt like I’m gonna pass out AND I threw up. Had these for a whole day. Never taking it again. Really bad experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ray | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/20/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No major issues or side effects. I have had vivid & scary dreams at times. I take 150 mg nightly and sleep solid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neurotoxicity | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/18/2023
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Trazodone for almost 40 years over the past few years I started developing debilitating neuromuscular issues. From severe headaches, muscle weakness and cramps and paralysis. I have been to several Neurologist and testing no answers My condition is now debilitating. His only response was it is a great possibility that long term use can cause these symptoms

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/18/2023
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Trazodone for almost 39 years. Over the years I have developed severe neurological and muscular issues. I have been to several neurologist with extensive testing and there is no answers to my debilitating condition. Along with years of horrible nightmares am wondering how a drug that was meant for use for a short period of time could have been prescribed for such a lengthy period

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ACM | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I want to post my experience because trazodone has worked wonderfully for me, to the point of changing my life for the better, and I often think that all the extreme negative reviews online can scare people off of what might be a very safe and effective treatment for them. I've had disregulated sleep for most of my life. It might be related to anxiety, constant body aches, street noise, or it might be independent of all that. But I was at the point where I couldn't treat my anxiety or even do more with my life than work, eat, and sleep because I was so tired all the time -- not sleeping at night, then unable to get up in the morning. Taking half a lorazepam at night sometimes helped, but it wasn't a good long-term solution. My psychiatrist told me that if I routinely found myself using lorazepam 3 or more nights a week to get to sleep on time, I should fill a Rx for trazodone and take half a pill nightly, instead, up to a whole pill if half wasn't effective. It has truly changed my life. I know it's probably a temporary fix, but for now, I can just take it after dinner and reliably wind down over the next 1-2 hours. You hit a point where you're almost dizzy sleepy, and that's when you want to promptly get into bed. Taking it made me realize that I haven't been naturally "starting to feel sleepy" since maybe 10th grade, and the lack of that sensation was causing me to NOT want to brush my teeth, get into pajamas, wrap up what I was doing, and climb into bed at night, because I literally felt no physical desire to. With trazodone, now I do, and maybe I can start retraining my body into it once more, if therapy and meds in combo can start to alleviate my anxiety -- which is turning out to be less body-chemistry-based and more situational than I had realized. It also doesn't cause me any drowsiness or "drug hangover" the next day -- it gets out of your system easily. In fact, the only complaint I have is that you can sort of "miss your window" with it, if you put off going to bed for too long. My tips would be: * Start with a low dose and see how much you need. * Don't give up if you experience some mild side effects at first. It gave me _serious_ drymouth for the first two weeks, but then it just cleared up completely once my body had adjusted to the med. * Take it after eating dinner or a significant snack. It hits me HARD if I take it on an empty stomach -- after 10 minutes, it hits all at once and I feel like I'm going to fall over (although I don't). (That sort of extreme feeling can kick your anxiety into overdrive, too, so it isn't necessarily the trazodone causing racing heart or panic or diarrhea, etc.) But after a full dinner, it gives me a nice easy 2-hour descent into sleepiness. Good luck to everyone, and I hope you all find the treatment plans that work best for each and every one of you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jason | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/16/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I sleep ok now but I add 300mg of quetiapine, melatonin, GABA and 5-HTP to the 100mg of Trazodone, so hard to say who is doing the heavy lifting (1mg of alprazolam worked just as good as all that but we don't want to use what works) plenty of sleep but very odd dreams and wake up hungover. Anxiety and depression still the same....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/15/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on trazodone 100mg for 3 months for insomnia (racing thoughts at night). Overall pleased with results when taken 20mins before bed. Minimal side effects and minimal hangover in the morning. Everyone is different but I’d say this is worth a try for most people before trying the stronger, addictive sleep drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Promenader | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/5/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Almost died on this medication. It made me dizzy with blurry vision and gave me diarrhea. I tried to get up in the middle of the night and fell out of bed. I almost lost consciousness. I had to will myself to stay alive for the next hour. Finally fell asleep again and woke with headache but OK now. The mediation is toxic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Might as well have taken rat poison! Trips to ER. So weak couldn’t walk, felt nauseous all the time, couldn’t eat anything. Either had to use restroom every half hour during the night, or didn’t go at all. What was most discouraging was everyone saying all your tests look good. I’m dying! Why wont anyone listen! Finally figured it out myself. Be your own advocate! Sometimes you’re just a Guinea pig!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/8/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was prescribed Trazodone and was an alcoholic and battled depression. He would hide his drinking and began abusing the Trazodone to keep him asleep for the entire night. When he developed jaundice, I took him to the emergency room and he panicked because he couldn't find his Trazodone. He died a week later from liver and kidney failure. Although Trazodone didn't cause his death, he did develop an addiction to it according to his doctor. Bottom line is, if you are drinking alcohol, don't use Trazodone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JennyMaize | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been dealing with insomnia for years in perimenopause. I am fit, BMI <22, healthy diet (low processed carbs, low sodium, nothing processed, drink only water. Took 50 MG, which made me feel awful and dehydrated me to the point of swollen ankles with no change in fluid uptake, so I drank more and reduced the dose. Took 25 MG for over a year… slept well but… developed kidney stones. No risk factor. Stopped cold turkey. I stopped taking Trazodone after getting another UTI, which may have actually been me passing a kidney stone. I was only taking 1/2 tablet a night… 25 mg. People take 300+ mg for depression. Seriously, within 2 days, I felt more alert and clear-headed… generally in a better mood. I sleep like crap but dang! Never again. I had no idea it was make me feel so blasé. I had chalked it up to menopause and COVID/ working from home, etc. I felt like creating art yesterday (did my best to draw something), wanted to go for a walk. How can this be considered an antidepressant?!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works really well, helps me get a good night sleep and helped tremendously with my anxiety. Only noticeable side effect is lack of appetite which isn’t a big deal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jaber | 45-54 | Male | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to sleep one hour or two hour every day since I start to used this medication I stop sleeping at all The second day I was crying make all me body week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DONOTTAKE | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking for years worked at first but had chronic muscle pain then it stopped working weened myself off 300 mg after Dr increased it then decided to go back up because I couldn't sleep,woke up with eyes looking like golf balls (swollen REAL bad)and had a bad alleregic reaction it always did make my throat sore/nose stuffy I assume it was because it was swollen(allergic reaction) I have 3 joint replacements so I associated my pain with that but after not taking it for only 2 days pain went considerably down and energy levels came back up which I didn't even realize this crap med had anything to do with it until I stopped after reading side effects almost feels like I've been reborn with energy.I DO NOT RECOMMEND.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/2/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was given to me due to insomnia and I gotta say is the worse medication first couple nights worked then after that wouldn’t. It was hit or miss with this medication. The side effects cause worse inmsonia, racing thoughts, panic attacks that occurred the longer I took them, night sweats, blurred vision, dizziness increased in anxiety once the medication would wear off, headaches and dry mouth and eyes. One of the things that I notice suicidal thoughts that came out of nowhere. Something that i don’t think think about at all. I do not recommend this for people with inmsonia Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ME | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible terrible dreams. I was given 100mg for sleep and cut it in half so 50mgs. I slept and felt ok but only slept for 41/2 hours so I took another 50 mgs so 100 in total. The dreams after the 2nd dosage was so terrible and vivid which only carried on after I woke. I felt so groggy and depressed that I will not be taking this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trazadone | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/5/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When a drug like Trazadone is prescribed its really for depression and its does knock you out for sleeping disorders. But the side effects for me where terrible I had long sleeping secession 10 to 12 hours of being out. It also started restless legs and body triggers. Sweating in the morning so bad I had to wear a tee shirt and take it off due to my sheets would be soaked. It caused more depression in the am to the point I was on the couch just watching more depressing TV. I had the most vivid dreams and not all good ones dreaming to the point of exhaustion. They where very lucid and some very disturbing some were so real like traveling to other countries very bizarre. Very tied and druggy feeling in afternoon. So if you have major depression it might work or send you into more depression. I still suffer from manor insomnia I went back to Zolpoline its still not the answer but less issues. It's the USA our ridiculous stress and over sensitizes electronics, overloaded way of life. Simple things like walks communication with people and hobbies would help me better. Corona did a number on the population of the world this will be studied for decades to come. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jerry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/2/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trazodone works great putting me to sleep at night. I take it when I go to bed and , I am normally sound asleep within 30 minutes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ROB60433 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed for sleep. Horrible stuff. Took a long time to take effect. Unpleasant dreams. Groggy the next day. Not recommended.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peace | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I originally started this medication because I had trouble sleeping. Since taking it, I feel more rested. I simply feel better. My mood is better. Now that I'm learning it also treats depression, I think I may suffer from depression because I feel so much better since taking Trazadone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More