Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this drug for about 15 years and it has always helped in controling my gout. The side effect of this medication according to two of my doctors are numbness of fingers and feet. I am experiencing this effect now. It is worse in my fingers due to lack of being able to determing if my fingers are actually touching or are in contact with items that I am attempting to minipulate i...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Have been taking allopurinol 300 for about 4 months. During that time I have had the most severe and longest lasting attacks I have ever had. Prior to taking it I had attacks about once in a two month peroid, and those attacks were almost always a result of letting my guard down on diet. Now, I have the pain for weeks at a time and have watched diet closer than ever. I am suprised to see so ma...

Shared reviews and ratings

Robert | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
9/3/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Joints due to Gout
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking zyloprim from last 40 years, but now since they change the color-pink of this tablet, my both leg is like broken. My shoulders are broken . I can work very slowly in my house only. I can not do nothing now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmutsch313 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/13/2013
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well the drug worked great for the gout, Completely gone for 2 years. But tightness and tingling in feet is progressing. Went to several different doctors and were unable to diagnose. Stopped allopurinol and has been gone for a week already.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tannia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Joints due to Gout
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes me too sleepy when taken with Sulindac 200mg oral. I had a swollen knee and gout.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/14/2011
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on allopurinol, 300mg-dose daily, for five years now. Recently I had a diagnosis of hematuria and of "an enhancing mass in the left kidney" indicative of renal cell carcinoma, found during a CT scan. Does anybody else have my experience?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2011
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking allopurinol 300 for about 4 months. During that time I have had the most severe and longest lasting attacks I have ever had. Prior to taking it I had attacks about once in a two month peroid, and those attacks were almost always a result of letting my guard down on diet. Now, I have the pain for weeks at a time and have watched diet closer than ever. I am suprised to see so many success stories using this drug because my condition is worse than ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/2/2010
Condition: Inflammation of the Joints due to Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was a lifesaver for me. Before going on it, I was on crutches and missing work the pain was so severe. I was on it for about 6 years with no side effects. I was also able to give the crutches away too. It worked fantastic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brown bear | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2009
Condition: Inflammation of the Joints due to Gout
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed me this drug due to swollen ankle caused by high uric acid. It worked after just about a week of taking it. However, after about 2-1/2 weeks of taking it, when I was pain-free and swollen-free I stopped using the drug, immediately after a day swelling and pain came back and had to take it again. Now I think I have to take it forever as I feel that if I stop using it the pain will come back. I also now experience tingling sensation in my left armpit, don't know though if this is a side effect of the drug. My doctor prescribed me 1x of 100mg.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/5/2009
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for about 15 years and it has always helped in controling my gout. The side effect of this medication according to two of my doctors are numbness of fingers and feet. I am experiencing this effect now. It is worse in my fingers due to lack of being able to determing if my fingers are actually touching or are in contact with items that I am attempting to minipulate in my daily routine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/27/2009
Condition: High Amount of Uric Acid in the Blood
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

causes nausea almost all day after taking it in the morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/18/2009
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill always helps me with GOUT. I get GOUT so bad that i have have Zylprim and it always helps. The brand name brings it on so i dont take it thank u for letting me tell u.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luvbug | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/16/2009
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Allopurinol for years now. I haven't had any problems with gout.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FoxyDon | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/2/2009
Condition: Uric Acid Kidney Stones
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been satisfied with this drug,but now I find the FDA is approving a new drug and throwing this drug overboard/What gives?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ml gaymont | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/26/2008
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I may not have been on this drug long enough to make an informed judgement only 3mos. So far I'am completely satisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rwwaregle | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/20/2008
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have not had any gout problems in over 10 years.Prior to that they were routine and extremely painful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/13/2008
Condition: High Amount of Uric Acid in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MY URIC ACID LEVEL WAS HIGH WHITCH CAUSED GOUT. MY DR. PUT ME ON ALLOPURINOL, IT KEEPS MY URIC ACID LEVEL UNDER CONTROL. NOW I HAVEN'T HAD GOUT IN YEARS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jordan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2007
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

zyloprim (inmy country, Indonesia, we found "zyloric" of glaxo wellcome)is well known drug for treating gout and high uric acid due to its effectiveness and quite an affordable medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More