Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I WAS SUFFERING FROM EDEMA TO THE POINT I JOINED A HOSPICE JULY 2007 AND NOT EXPECTED TO SURVIVE.AMILORIDE WITH LASIX {WHICH BY ITSELF WAS INEFFECTIVE)BROUGHT MY WEIGHT DOWN FROM 200LB TO ITS PRESENT 176 LB, MY BREATHING HAS IMPROVED DRAMATICLY I OWE MY LIFE TO A FINE "HOSPICE" DOCTOR WHO HAD THE BRAINS AND EXPERIENCE TO PUT ME ON AMILORIDE, WHEN A HOST OF OTHERS DID NOT.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I have only taken this med for about a week and I just thought I would see a more noticeable difference. I don't think I am urinating as much as I should be being that this is a durietic.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/29/2014
Condition: Prevention of Low Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Actual reason for taking was to lower blood pressure without reducing potassium.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fred | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2014
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have just started treatment for my edema ,,illkeep you up with my hopeful progress

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Knuckles | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/30/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was responsible for the death of my husband after only 3 days on it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJhere | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2010
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this medication & an antibiotic for severe pitted edema . The fluid started going down slowly . It did go down some but a few days after the antibiotic dosage was completed the fluid started building back up again. It was totally ineffective with my high blood pressure. It reamaind high . I am going to go back to the Dr. tomorrow morning after 5 weeks to see what she will try.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Odysseus160 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One month after a double bypass surgery, I experienced an elevated blood pressure that rose to become malignant (240/130.) After trying everything else (Diovan, Accupril, Tekturna, Toprol, and furosemide) I left my cardiologist who had thrown up his hands in frustration. I saw a nephrologist who sent me for an MRI where they found an adenoma on the left adrenal, pumping out noxious substances into the blood stream. 5 mg of Amiloride a day brought the blood pressure down to 109/63! Unfortunately, when I went to see my internist for another matter, the blood test revealed hyperkalemia which had developed over the last 3 weeks since my last blood work. So there was a lot of rushing to and fro as I had to show up at the hospital last night, and again this morning to check the potassium levels. Needless to say, I was taken off Amiloride and furosemide. So I am sitting at home drinking Kayexalate (sodium polystyrene sulfonate) that is supposed to get the potassium level down. Followed by, you guessed it, more blood tests over the foreseeable future. What a drag it is getting old ...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
poohbear31163 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2008
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only taken this med for about a week and I just thought I would see a more noticeable difference. I don't think I am urinating as much as I should be being that this is a durietic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mabel | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
1/9/2008
Condition: Prevention of Low Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It tends to make me retain fluids

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAGNUM4449 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/7/2008
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I WAS SUFFERING FROM EDEMA TO THE POINT I JOINED A HOSPICE JULY 2007 AND NOT EXPECTED TO SURVIVE.AMILORIDE WITH LASIX {WHICH BY ITSELF WAS INEFFECTIVE)BROUGHT MY WEIGHT DOWN FROM 200LB TO ITS PRESENT 176 LB, MY BREATHING HAS IMPROVED DRAMATICLY I OWE MY LIFE TO A FINE "HOSPICE" DOCTOR WHO HAD THE BRAINS AND EXPERIENCE TO PUT ME ON AMILORIDE, WHEN A HOST OF OTHERS DID NOT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More