Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

Lost 5 back teeth,3 top, 2 bottom, due to bone loss and gum disease. Used Peridex for post removal healing. Been using it ever since to keep gums healthy. Gum checkups have been near perfect ever since. If I had known about benefits sooner, could have prevented lost teeth due to bone loss. Due to possible tooth discoloration, I use it as a pre-rinse at least 30 secs before flossing/brushing. After...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed this mouthwash by my dentist, not knowing what the reason. After a week of use, I noticed my teeth became to look dirty. I thought this might be from my own habits, so I began to brush more. However, after a months use, my bottom teeth look as though I have been dipping (which I do not use tobacco or alcohol). All of my teeth had dark brown stains. After discovering this was due t...

Shared reviews and ratings

Megara9099 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this Thursday after my cleaning for gingivitis. Thursday I was really nauseous. Friday still really nauseous + sick to stomach and had a small rash pop up. Saturday so sick to my stomach I can barely eat, and the rashes! Literally from my head to my feet. (Scalp, face, neck front & back, chest, stomach, right upper arm, left forearm, my whole back, right hip, left thigh, right knee and calf, both feet & ankles) My mom (former nurse) said to stop using it Saturday afternoon, and symptoms are getting better. It's Sunday afternoon now I'm no longer sick to stomach, nausea is minor, rashes are getting better about ? of what they were last night. Also others mentioned a metallic taste, that is not what it tasted like to me! It tasted like sour milk and cheap alcohol. ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
APersonThatIsHere | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/1/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wish I would have found this years ago. The same area gives me trouble over one tooth and this med is the only thing that ever works to decrease pain, bleeding and tenderness. I don't even have to use it everyday anymore. Never worried about stains and still get compliments on my smile. If staining became a problem I would still choose a cleane pain free mouth over vanity.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KJ | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This oral rinse was prescribed because of bleeding around one tooth. It left my tongue sore, my mouth dry, and persistent metallic taste that lasted for days. My oral hygienist warned that it would stain my teeth. This stuff is terrible. If you haven't opened it take it back. Enough said.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this rinse following a dental implant surgery. After about a week, I began to experience extreme dry mouth which has persisted now for five weeks. I was informed that I need to wait for the medication to "wear off"....I will NEVER use this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chet | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a large cavity in a molar that must be pulled, but not until after a root canal is finished. The cavity was causing sensitivity to heat and cold. Just 1 day after starting to use the product, no more sensitivity ! I like the way my gums feel now also. The taste is strong, but the benefits more than outweigh the taste.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
here2help | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/8/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lost 5 back teeth,3 top, 2 bottom, due to bone loss and gum disease. Used Peridex for post removal healing. Been using it ever since to keep gums healthy. Gum checkups have been near perfect ever since. If I had known about benefits sooner, could have prevented lost teeth due to bone loss. Due to possible tooth discoloration, I use it as a pre-rinse at least 30 secs before flossing/brushing. After 1 year of use, has been very effective controlling gum problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
betty | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Periogard has my gums looking a little better but just as with the other reviewer's experinece, I started to notice stains on my teeth and have stopped using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephanie.M | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this mouthwash by my dentist, not knowing what the reason. After a week of use, I noticed my teeth became to look dirty. I thought this might be from my own habits, so I began to brush more. However, after a months use, my bottom teeth look as though I have been dipping (which I do not use tobacco or alcohol). All of my teeth had dark brown stains. After discovering this was due to the mouthwash, I immediately dumped it down the drain. I still have no idea why I was prescribed this since I have no problem with my gums, but I do know that it changed the taste in my mouth after use (I very metallic taste) and I now have terrible stains which I have to get removed professionally. I am honestly embarrassed to smile.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
june | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2011
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used this mouth rinse for 2-1/2 days for inflammation/sore gums after a dental cleaning; I have noticed no difference yet. However, with that said, I have this heavy feeling in my chest that radiates into my stomach....I just feel strange. It last a couple hours. Not to mention the horrible taste! I am to use it for a week and if no change, see my dentist again, but I'm not sure I should use it that long, feeling as I do? I have Fibromyalgia and a lot of things affects me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More