Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

other drugs could not get my A1C down. on glimepiride 2mg in the morning has gotten me down. from a steady 150 to 180 down to 100 to 120. only side effect seems to be a tired feeling all day. will check with my doctor at next visit.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Horrible product. Sugar levels went through the roof consistently. It does not work. Make you nauseous dizzy sleepy. Light headed feeling and unable to focus. Stopped taking and all went back to normal. Nothing but snake oil.

Shared reviews and ratings

OrchidsRbtyFul | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Explosive Watery Severe Diarrhea. I am paralyzed in one leg which made this a nightmare. It worked perfectly to keep my blood sugar at normal range. It worked so good I had to lower the dose down to 2.5mg once a day and was still in normal ranges. BUT after taking for about three months I got explosive watery severe smelly diarrhea. I could hardly finish a meal before I was jumping up onto my potty chair to go. Everything

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/17/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Getting weight increase

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erani | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible product. Sugar levels went through the roof consistently. It does not work. Make you nauseous dizzy sleepy. Light headed feeling and unable to focus. Stopped taking and all went back to normal. Nothing but snake oil.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shekhar | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am fully satisfied except few episodes of Hypoglycemia encountered by me necessitating to take glucose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been a Type 2 Diabetic since 2010, and was keeping my BG somewhat managed with Metformin and Diet, until this year. My numbers shot up to the low 200's, so my physician put me on Glimepiride. My numbers have come back down to the 120's. I haven't gotten an A1C with the drug yet, but hopefully it'll be lower.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jim | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/16/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

other drugs could not get my A1C down. on glimepiride 2mg in the morning has gotten me down. from a steady 150 to 180 down to 100 to 120. only side effect seems to be a tired feeling all day. will check with my doctor at next visit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Augusto | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/27/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had tried metformina and Onglyza before and in my Glimipirida is the best drug so far. I'm taking 1mg after breakfast and another one after dinner. I can keep my levels below 140 after meal and in the morning I wake up with 80

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/20/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had Type 2 since 2009. Take 2000 mg Metformin nightly, but was still not able to control my fasting BGs. Started Glimepiride 1 mg nightly before dinner. Sometimes my BG level 2 hour after dinner is in teh 90's and my morning numbers are usually in the low 100's. My last 5 A1Cs have been below 6. My new doctor suggested stop taking Glimepiride since my A1Cs were so low and the Glimepiride could keep me from losing weight. I've been off it for almost 2 months now, I haven't lost a bit of weight and my morning numbers have been above 130 and one day it was 178. I think it's time to go back on it and maybe get another doctor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AK | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/4/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has not helped me at all. We have increased dosage and still no help. I am limited to the drugs I can take due to kidney disease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tpdragon | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/18/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken metformin since 2002, started at 500mg a day, up to 2000 a day. 3 years ago I had started to have major pancreatitis, sugars went up, A1C went up. I wore out my ability to utilize metformin. My doctor switched me to Tradjenta 5mg and Actos 30mg to replace metformin. After 6 months I started to use Glimepiride 2mg a day just now, first day I crashed a little because I dropped 100 points within 2 hours. When youâ??re not used to that big of a drop you it does not feel good. I had 2 spoons of honey and within 10 minutes felt normal. I have lost over 60lbs over 15 years, lots of hard aerobic exercise, zone diet foundation for eating. One thing that really works for constipation is lots of fiber, I mean psyllium husks based is the most effective aside from fruits and vegetables that are really high in fiber. Itâ??s a lot of work to be a healthy diabetic but worth it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shanchan | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking for 11 months, it did reduce my A1c but had bad gastric reactions. Constantly constipated. Also, raised my liver counts dangerously high. I would never had known if I had not participated in my company's health fair. Regular doctors don't check your liver if you are not a drinker. If you are feeling tired all the time, have your doc check your liver!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 65 years old male.I was taking 1000 mg of metformin for about 5 years. I started to get itching and hives so my doctor prescribed glimepiride 2 mg. it has controled my blood sugar level but I feel tired all day.may be I should talk to my doctor about adjusting my dosage. I also should be eating lunch regularly.It really makes more hungry for food.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/16/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beaverton OR | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/17/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has really been beneficial - I couldn't get my A1C down on the highest dose of Metformin alone. In six months, it has dropped from 8.4 to 7.1 with zero side effects. They said it could possibly lower your blood sugar and you'd get really dizzy, but I am always anyway so haven't noticed a difference!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BarbH213 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/1/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 1000mg metformin 2x/da. A1C kept rising; daily meter readings were erratic. Started glimepiride; no change in A1C; readings were quite high in a.m. Started 30 units of insulin; A1C dropped from 9 to 7.9 to 6.8; morning readings still very high; afternoon/evening readings often drop to 45-60. I attribute this to having to take glimepiride in the morning and not at the same time as metformin. Asked doctor if I could stop glimepiride and take one of my two doses of metformin in the morning instead of noon; he said no because its working and I just can't see it. Meter readings consistently range between 45-350. I'm seeking another doctor. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/15/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Glimepiride(1mg,1/day), it was working well. I had a new doctor, and she switched me to Metformin (500mg, 2/day). With Glimepiride, my A1C dropped from 6.4 to 5.7 in six months but with Metformin my A1C went from 5.7 to 7.8 in 8 months, and with terrible dizzy spells and nausea. So I am now back to Glimepiride! No liver or kidney problem!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tiger4life | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/8/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Janumet but decided I did not want to risk cancer so the doctor put me on 2mg of glimepiride and 1000mg of metformin. It has been great just have to watch low blood sugar when working harder than usual. I have since dropped to 1 mg a day, I wish Metformin did not tear up my stomach as bad as it does.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tomselina | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Struggled with Metformin and Onglyza duo for a year or so. Dr. added 2mg glimepiride and BAMM - numbers are much lower. A1C dropped dramatically from over 7 to 5.0. Just make sure you have steady meals as it does drop glucose levels to the 70s if you're not eating at normal intervals. Overall, very good so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kathythump | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started off on 2mg didn't help my counts. It made them go up. by the time i got to 8mg, i started getting really weak, tired, chest pressure,effecting my eyes and felt like my skin was crawling and it messed with my kidneys. stopped taking this medicine after 30 days. Went back down to 2 mg.. it didn't help. stopped taking it all together today. my skin no longer feels like it is crawling and my eyes are getting better. now have to go see a specialist since he isn't sure on what to do now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/10/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

went from 1mg, then 2mg and did not help blood sugar. Two days ago was switched to 4mg and my blood sugar has sored. 289 yesterday and 233 today, after meals check. Had to quit taking metformin due to kidneys. Why would the stronger dose make my blood sugar go way up? Had lettuce salad with chicken strips the first day and veggies with smoked beef sausage the second day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More