Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

I am not finished taking this medicine yet but it causes a very strong metallic taste in your throat/mouth starting 5 minutes after you use it, continuing for 10 minutes after.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

taking one drop 3 times a day for 3 months now, and still having problems. Doctor told me it was dry eye and inflammation, however I believe it's from a Lasik Surgery that was botched.

Shared reviews and ratings

Trillian | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2019
Condition: Dotted Lesions or Damage on Cornea of Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a life saver for me. I was losing my vision and had no idea why. The doctor, also, did not know what happened but it was severe. I did not think these drops along with artificial tears, ointment and warm compresses would work. After 3 months my corneas are almost healed and my vision is returning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/12/2018
Condition: Inflammation of the Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

taking one drop 3 times a day for 3 months now, and still having problems. Doctor told me it was dry eye and inflammation, however I believe it's from a Lasik Surgery that was botched.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2015
Condition: Severe Inflammation of the Cornea with Rosacea Involvement
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started using do to another eye drop that did not help the ocular roseacea that I have. I found that my eyes felt so much better after just one dose but just now my second day my throat is killing me do to the horrible taste this has been leaving in my mouth, but I think a sore throat is better than the burning in my eyes prior to these drops was unbearable. I do think they helped and much better value than the more expensive drops

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Outer Ear due to Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not finishing this medication, I called my doctor to get a different prescription. After only a few minutes I experienced a horrible taste in the back of my throat and did so every dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jayjay | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/2/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been treated for acute eye dryness for two years with no relief. My eyes hurt and were extremely light sensitive. Changed doctors and was prescribed this med and my eyes are 98% improved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
goldann | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr gave me a sample of Alrex which worked like magic to alleviate the severe eyepain associated with chronic dry eye (a condition that i have been unsuccessfully treating for 5years). I have punctal plugs in both eyes and the Alrex worked great -- I could even wear contact lenses again! Then a prescription substitution by MEDCO and they sent me the Fluorometholone drops. I started using the Fluorometholone drops and thought it was a generic form of Alrex (I was mistaken). from the beginning, the drops sting my eyes, the nasty taste in my mouth, and warm sandy eye pain was very pronounced (all conditions that i did not have with Alrex). Also, after wearing my contact lenses while on this Fluorometholone, my eyes got very red and irritated (apparently your not supposed to wear contact lenses with it, but you can wear contact lenses with the Alrex. BTW, i was fitted with contact lenses the very same day as my Dr. gave me a 2nd sample of Alrex). Dr took me off Fluorometholone immediately, as it was not his intention for me to be on it. Now i have to patch my eyes (one at a time) alternating for 4 hrs each one for a week! And he instructed that i cannot wear contact lenses for at least 3 weeks. Nice of MEDCO to chose a substitution of an entire different product --one that my Dr already knew was NOT for me and my condition! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KALIFORNIA | 25-34 | Female | Patient
3/7/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DR GAVE AS TREATMENT TO STYE. NOT GOING AWAY AFTER 2 DAYS WILL UPDATE ON DAY 7. TAKING TOO LONG. APPLICATION IS OINTMENT DONT LIKE HOW IT LOOKS ON EYE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2010
Condition: Inflammation of the Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My eye doctor instructed me to take FML 4 times a day for the 1st week, 3 times a day for the 2nd, and so on for a total 4 weeks. The eye drops cause a mild burning for about 3 seconds, but nothing severe. After about 5 minutes, I can taste the medication. The taste is disgusting. I dread taking each dose, due to nearly throwning up(due to the taste). I am contacting my doctor to see if there is an alternative! The medication is effective, however the 'ease of use' is difficult. If you can bear the nasty taste, go for it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2009
Condition: Inflammation of the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not finished taking this medicine yet but it causes a very strong metallic taste in your throat/mouth starting 5 minutes after you use it, continuing for 10 minutes after.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2009
Condition: Scratch Wound on Cornea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe damage done to my eyes from Sjogrens disease and this medication is preparing the eye for the use of other medications. It has improved my eyes so that they don't always feel like there are sticks scratching them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zdq18 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2009
Condition: Scratch Wound on Cornea
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine worked well for me. I was diagnosed with a scratch on my cornea. The only side effect I had was a horrible taste in my throat 5 to 10 minutes after using the drops. The taste of it was almost enough to make me sick to my stomach!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tdavis | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/3/2008
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed to me after my eyelids/eyeballs became severely infected and my cornea was being scratched so bad it was horribly affecting my vision. This medication worked like a charm and since my condition is ongoing, I use it from time to time. Be forewarned, do not take this for a prolonged period of time as it does contain steroids which can damage your cornea. In limited quantities, it works great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More