Show ratings & reviews for

2.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

70 People found this comment helpful

I began Fosamax in 2005 with a diagnosis of severe osteoporosis of -3.8 at age 53. In 2011,my dexa scan was still-3.3, but I had no fractures. A random Vitamin D blood test showed I was severely deficient of vitamin D. I was put on 4000iu of vitamin D3 daily. My memory improved, my bone pain resolved, foot pain resolved, my vision improved, and urinary incontinence resolved, my diabetes improved! ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Jennie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a question...I just took my 3rd dose of Fosamax, why did I do that? Anyway, yesterday, my back, neck and jaw started hurting, all of a sudden. My heart palpitations increased. I will never take this drug again. What can I do to get it out of my system? How long will it take to get it out? This is ridiculous...glad I didn't take it longer....I cannot imagine the side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oberann | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2022
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Muscle and nerve pain after using for 2 months (thigh) neck stiffness and dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fosamax user | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis in Male Patient
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thanks for others posting in this website. I’m 59 yo and recently diagnose osteoporosis and injected 1st dose Prolia without any side effects. But after further studies of Prolia, I decide to stop Prolia and switch to Fosamax plus. Now I have taken Fosamax plus nearly six months and also have NO side effects. I wish to share my positive feedback to encourage others to try this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ROSE | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2021
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking fosamax generic form tablet in July after a bone density scan showed my bones are very bad in lacking calcium. I take it once a week. I have had symptoms that we are not sure are related to the pill. I had throat burning, tickle in throat, red eye for two weeks, swollen lip a few days with blister inside lip, peeling skin below my nose as if it were chapped. NOT any of these symptoms are proven side effects so It is watch and wait. If i see any other symptoms that are strange I am going to stop taking it. Other than that i feel ok. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/30/2021
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My rheumatologist completed a decade scan and told me I needed to take Fosamax weekly. I started in February and by March I could not climb stairs thought my knee caps were broken. Every week the pain was worse and some other area of my body ached. I felt like there was a war going on inside my body. Before starting I was very active gym 7 days/ week golf 3-4 times per week. My doctor told me to hold for 4 weeks at the end of June and drink plenty of water. It is almost September and I am still in agony all over my body. My stomach is awful as well. I will never touch this medication again and only hope this resolves. I feel like I aged 10years in 5 months. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 75 or over | Female | Patient
8/11/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took my first pill on Sunday morning. By evening I was having very soft stools. By Tuesday it turned to uncontrollable diarrhea. I hope this ends real soon as I'm afraid to leave the house.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JW | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after 1 year developed severe pain in, left hip, thigh and knee. Other side aching. Continuous muscle spasms. Stoped taking it two weekends agon. Slight improvement. Still having trouble walking and lying in bed. Try to sleep in recliner. I will tell my family members to never take this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patty | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After only one dose of fusamax, the side effects of this drug left me with muscle aches and spasms across my chest, sides, and back. This made breathing very difficult and i thought i was having a heart attack. There were also shoulder and hip pains as well as neck muscle pain. 2 days of ibuprofen and 2 1/2 days lost from work. WHY is this nasty drug still on the market????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/14/2021
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this medication for the start of osteoporosis. An hour and a half after the 2nd dose I developed severe middle back pain that I could feel climbing up my back to my neck, right shoulder, right jaw and ear. I did go to my doctor and she prescribed tramadol for the pain which helped a small bit and prednisone. Pain moved to my R arm, shoulder and chest. Woke up in the middle of the night the next day with severe R jaw pain. Pain went away only to return today with a vengeance. My R jaw is very painful-have a hard time opening my mouth. The best part is...my doctor does not think this is r/t Fosamax. So far I have been off this medication for 10 days. I am afraid what tomorrow has in store for me. This medication is dangerous to a lot of people and I am going to report it to the FDA.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was told I had osteopenia and should take it. Caused joint pain and after 5 yrs stopped it and my scans are fine. didn't need that drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ana | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2021
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 1 tablet on Saturday morning as it was diagnosed, did not have any issue all day until I sat down for couple of hours before going to bed. when I got up, I had severe pain in my back, muscle spasm and pain on my sides and chest. I could not sleep in my bed since every little movement made the pain worse. Sunday I had severe pain and muscle spasm all day, Monday morning I could not get out of bed as the spasm got worse and worse and my husband had to help me get up. I am not sure what tomorrow will be like. My doctor is ordering a muscle relaxant so hoping this symptoms will go away soon. This is the worst medication that I have taken in my life. Never again, the side effects are worse than the help this medication is going to give you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CAP | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2020
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only taken 3 doses of this medication. I have been very careful to take with a glass of water and stay in an upright position for an hour and have experienced no GERD issues. I have osteoarthritis and am in constant pain. It is hard to determine if the Fosomax is increasing the pain. My ribs have been aching since I started the medication so I would attribute that to the Fosomax.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dixiechick | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2020
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had pretty much all the side effects that they said are less than 1%. Hair loss, joint pain, swelling of hands and legs, lost of ability to grasp or hold anything in hands, confusion, cramps in legs, scared me badly. I took the medication for 3 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cjm | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/3/2020
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a second attempt to review. After taking fosamax for 2 years a test showed minimal improvement in bone density. Also after 2 years I began to experience increased knee pain and was told it was due to arthritis. I continued taking it and experienced increasing knee pain and decreased mobility. I exercise very diligently but instead of improving I continued to experience increased pain and decreased mobility. After reading reviews on this site, in particular someone saying they experienced muscle weakness, I stopped taking fosamax after 3 1/2 years. The difference is life changing. I was ready to investigate knee replacement due to the constant pain. Now, 7 1/2 months later I feel almost normal mobility, little discomfort, and I believe my knee joints look physically different, less distorted. Also, I am continuing to feel improvements. So grateful for the reviews here. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cjm | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/3/2020
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for 3 1/2 years. There was very minimal change(improvement) in my bone density when tested after 2 years. After 2 1/2 years I experienced increased knee joint pain. I was told it was due to arthritis. I continued taking it. Discomfort/pain continued and increased. I exercise very regularly and it seemed my ability to move was becoming more difficult and painful rather than improving. Finally, after reading here about other peoples experiences with fosamax a light went on. The most telling thing was someone saying they experienced muscle weakness. I made the decision to stop after 3 1/2 years. I began to see some changes immediately, such as less acid reflux which had been happening increasingly. As time went on, knee pain decreased, mobility improved, I even believe the physical appearance of my knees has improved, less distorted/enlarged. It has now been 7 1/2 months off the drug and I am still experiencing improvements in mobility and decrease in discomfort. I am grateful for this site and changing my life. I was considering seeing a surgeon because I was in so much constant pain. Now I feel almost normal, and I am still improving, gratefully!uk6fnrRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pb | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2020
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Fosamax for 8 weeks now. So far I have had no real long lasting issues, I walk 3 miles a day and try to stay active. My scan is -3.5 high risk for fracture so I hope that in time this medication will help and reduce my risk after a year or 2.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/13/2020
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 24 months I experienced extreme pain in bones and joints. It became painful even to sit. My doctor acted skeptical when I absolutely refused to continue on Fosomax as if he didn't believe how much I was hurting. After a month off the stuff, the bone pain went away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ring | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/30/2019
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is listed on the TOP of several ototoxic drug lists. I took it for about 8 months before I read and read to find out what was causing my tinnitus. Tinnitus is awful and NEVER mentioned as a side-effect. Now I don't know if it's temporary or permanent damage. It's been three weeks since I stopped and the tinnitus continues. Be careful with this medication!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ragtag | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2019
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

User beware. I only took 3 doses. That was 5 months ago. Over night, my fingers, hands, knees and feet began to hurt. I grew large, hard lumps on the heels of my hands and on my right foot. Most days it is difficult to open a packet of sugar. I went ANA positive (cells attacking themselves) and had none of these issues minus minor arthritis in a thumb. Now I take a daily injection of a different med. Thanks a lot Fosamax. You turned me into an old lady in 3 weeks time. Incidentally, I do not have rheumatoid arthritis. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
notagain | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2019
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this pill for the first time at 6:30 am and stayed up like it said. Walked my dogs at 8:00 like normal and noticed my knees hurt.Tried to jog at 8:30 my normal routine and could barely jog for the knee pain. Continued through that day and the next morning I called my doctor and told her I could barely walk and felt 100 years old,needed a walker,knees were in horrible pain,ankles hurt,ribs hurt and hips ached. She said I had an allergic reaction and to stop taking it.The next three days I could barely move.Saw her on Friday and she and her nurse were shocked at the difference from Monday when I was there. Got an injection of Ketorlac and prescription of Naproxen. I told her I had no intentions of living on pain pills but she assured me this would go away. I am 13 days out,my knees still hurt especially the left one and am tired of pain pills to walk. I see my orthopedic doctor Thursday to make sure the pill did no permanent damage. One pill and in hours I went from a pretty self sufficient and healthy 61 year old to a near invalid.I will never take another Fosamax and would encourage everyone to never take it. It should be off the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More