Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

My doctor made a wise choice as per usual. I had no idea of the power of this med until I searched online. It checked the early stage of infection from the start of use. I will be cautious in its use and enjoy watching the healing of my 2nd degree motorcycle exhaust would 4" above the ankle bone. Found the pain of the stretching skin each time I'd get up in the mornings or afternoon naps, a bit of...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

A doctor prescribed this for my daughter even though she is allergic to sulfa. Her burn is worse and she is having an allergic reaction on top of everything. I am very upset with her doctor. She is an adult so I didn't know what she had put on her burn since she has her own house. Doctors should be more careful.

Shared reviews and ratings

M. Mts | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The doctor gave it to my dad to treat edema of the skin made him worse. Obviously, medical malpractice on the dr.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chestersrotten | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used Silvadene cream along with spraying silverhorsecare colloidal silver on a burn. I put it on the burn immediately and it didnt even create a blister much to my surprise. I think getting it on the burn or wound immediately is a benefit to pain relief and healing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
10/15/2017
Condition: An Infection in a Burn Wound
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

GREAT PRODUCT, but only available as a prescription, unless you get it from vet supply. it is wonderful for 2nd and 3rd burns. rapid healing. keeps infection from setting in . cam be used with BURN GEL. This product should be in every households medicine cabinet. it could same many people pain and scarring. My hubby and I have used it several times for burns and bed sores. the dr at wound care offered me a job, because I did such a great job with my honey.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lily | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/25/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Around 2009, my husband had several skin tags removed and silvadene cream was prescribed. I also had it prescribed (without asking) for minor cellulitis. This was in Vermont. When we moved to North Carolina, it was like this didn't even exist and wasn't on anyone's radar at all. Now we're down to the very last bit in a tiny jar and use it sparingly. It makes no sense why doctors here don't know it or prescribe it. I asked and one doctor even yelled at me (she generally had stress issues anyway). This "drug" is so benign, I don't know why it's not OTC. You can get silver solution from Curad, but it's not as strong. You'd have to use the whole tube to get it to work half as well. I broke out in MRSA boils soon after moving to NC. Maybe we should move back to where sanity reigns. Instead of applying some cream and it's done, I had to be humiliated by having some doctor "drain" a disgusting boil. It's just illogical to keep this as an Rx drug, especially if some docs don't know it. The cream works well, though, I imagine the failed stories are because it was an infection that doesn't respond to sulfa. Not all bacteria will be stopped by it, so you still need your doctor if it fails. But compared to Bactitracin or Neosporin combinations, it's much much better and faster. On simple things, one application magically works. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sally | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2016
Condition: Minor Skin Infection caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a mole removed and my wound got infected . The doctor prescribed silver Sulfadiazine 1% but nothing happened. I could also feel it was not working and after 10 days of using it twice a day I went back to the doc but she said to use it longer. After another 3 days I went to a different doc and he prescribed oral antibiotics and a different topical cream. Let's hope for the best my wound looks terrible and is still infected.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimi'sMom | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2016
Condition: An Infection in a Burn Wound
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a miracle cream! I was prescribed it for an open wound on my stomach from medical tape taking my skin off. It healed up wonderfully in a few days. Then, I spilled a cup of boiling water on my hand a few months later. I put this cream on it and within 2 hours the swelling in my hand went down and the redness was gone. That was only one application. Too bad you can only get it with an Rx.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
burny | On medication for less than 1 month |
1/10/2016
Condition: An Infection in a Burn Wound
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a cookie pan in my hand when I touched my thumb knuckle to set it down. the blister popped on the skin within five minutes I put Ice on the sore. Then a few hours later I needed to have a rinse not seeing the healing I went to see the doctor and recieved my tetanus shot along with the silver sulfadiazine cream 1%. Remarkable healing within the next few days I used it only one time a day as prescribed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mumof3 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2015
Condition: An Infection in a Burn Wound
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a fairly decent second degree burn on my chest from a curling iron, I had been using otc triple antibiotic cream which didn't get me anywhere. After one use I could already tell it was working. In less than a week it has healed the surrounding area almost completely I still have a ways to go with the main part of the burn but I will keep this on hand for future burns!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/16/2014
Condition: An Infection in a Burn Wound
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the emergency room they used Silvadene on my burn which worked great. When I got my prescription filled at the pharmacy they substituted the generic. The generic did not work as well. It was more difficult to spread over a large burned area and it did not totally stop the discomfort as the Silvadene did. It also dried out faster than the Silvadene.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
livinHealthy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/21/2014
Condition: Minor Skin Infection caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Received this medication YEARS ago for 2nd degree burn and began using it for EVERYTHING even acne. Works wonderfully. I got a new prescription to keep on hand for all preventative wound care. Be sure to ask your prescribing Dr for it in a tube, much more sanitary than the jar!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LauraE | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a permanent toenail removal, and perhaps the doctor gave me this cream because he chemically burned the nail bed, because it's usually for severe burns. Unfortunately, the cream caked into my nail bed so deeply that I could not get it out, and the doctor had to scrub it out until I bled. It's been 2 and a half weeks of using the cream, and I still have pain and a burning sensation. I have never been so slow to heal before; I know it takes a long time with toenail removal, but I've had this done twice before and NEVER had such an issue recovering. I've had major oozing, redness, swelling, and some bleeding. I've about given up, especially when the doctor's office told me I should use hydrogen peroxide in my wound to try to flush out the caked cream. I'm going to stop using silver sulfadiazine and start using some antibiotic ointment and see if there is any improvement. I already feel relief from the burning and the pain.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aftab | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: An Infection in a Burn Wound
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PLXC-CTC Dengue Remedies | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2014
Condition: An Infection in a Burn Wound
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor made a wise choice as per usual. I had no idea of the power of this med until I searched online. It checked the early stage of infection from the start of use. I will be cautious in its use and enjoy watching the healing of my 2nd degree motorcycle exhaust would 4" above the ankle bone. Found the pain of the stretching skin each time I'd get up in the mornings or afternoon naps, a bit of a surprise but disappears as I walked through it in a few minutes. Excellent choice by a wise doctor. But reading online is where I really learned of the benefits and cautions.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/10/2014
Condition: Skin Ulcer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wonderful, works quickly to clear up skin eruptions

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HAD A REALLY BAD SUNBURN. TOOK THE HEAT OUT OF IT AND SPEEDED UP HEALING.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jjberg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2013
Condition: An Infection in a Burn Wound
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used this on second and third degree burn (sunburn) and it worked wonders by immediately taking away the sting and healing the burn quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abby | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2013
Condition: An Infection in a Burn Wound
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a 1st/2nd degree burn on my forearm from a hot cookie sheet and developed cellulitis several days later after some of the blisters popped. My doctor prescribed antibiotics and this cream since the area was still oozing. My burn finally started to heal after just one application!! I've always been a very slow healer from cuts and scrapes, so it's quite impressive that after just a few days the area is starting to look about halfway healed. It's a little tricky to apply evenly, and causes me to itch, but it's definitely worth it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
3/26/2013
Condition: Minor Skin Infection caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

heals fast better than others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kitty cat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2012
Condition: Minor Skin Infection caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BondGirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tripped and fell in a parking lot skinning my knee and face. This cream healed it quickly with no scars. It's a miracle!! Highly recommend this for all cuts, scrapes and burns!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More