Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

34 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed this after a miserable 7 months with what was eventually diagnosed as IBS. I had a CT scan, numerous doctors appointments, etc., for lower-left abdominal pain that would last all day, every day. It was pretty much all I thought about all day for those months. I was finally referred to a GI who prescribed this medication, and within days of taking this medication twice a day as ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Ann | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/20/2021
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could see no change in my problem. And the dry mouth was quite severe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2020
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bad reaction to this drug. Tightness in chest. Heartburn (I never get heartburn.) Drowsiness, I felt sleepy all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reddoxiechick | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2019
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve sufferer here, my GI thought this would help after I was in the middle of a bad diverticulitis bout. This only worked on day one, then it was downhill from there. It upset my stomach very bad made me more sick , and gave me extreme diarrhea , never again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rory1908 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this on my most recent ER visit for abdominal pain. My pancreas level were elevated causing me severe pain. I've been on it for 3 days and so far the pain is manageable. A little dry mouth but other than that it's helping with abdominal pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bird | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told after two years of pain. I had EMGs, MRIs and a C-T Scan. My Primary Care Doc, read all the reports and my history. I have "Adult Colic". Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I'm enjoying feeling better after all the pains. When I return to my PC, I'll be wearing a pink baby pacifier around my neck on a pink ribbon. If I am in a "baby stage", I want to behave like one. Now to be free to sip my Jack & Coke from a bottle. ;-) ;-)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get severe bouts of abdominal pain that makes me want to go to the ER (ibs). I asked the doctor if there was something I could take at home to stop the bouts of pain and I was prescribed this medication. It works! I still can feel the waves of pain, but it is managable at home now. I no longer have to run to the ER! It makes me a little drowsy and my mouth is dry, but it is worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/10/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this medicine for almost a year for debilitating cramps. I only take 1 .125 mg as needed. So far, it is the only thing that has worked. I have tried everything else and thankfully, this has worked! I have not noticed any bad side effects. Would definitely recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boscoe1 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/24/2016
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before beginning treatment with Hyoscyamine, I was experiencing either dysentery or bloating and constipation. Using immodium and a probiotic was not enough to stabilize my bowels. I wound up getting constipated if using the immodium, and dysentery if I chose to go without. Once on the Hyoscyamine, a sense of normalcy returned and my morning routine returned on a very regular basis as well. While I hate taking pills in general, I'm so glad I saw my GI and we agreed to try the Hyoscyamine. It's been over two years now, and I wouldn't go without this medication ever. I tried accidentally to go without (I ran out), but that was a Huge mistake. All Hell broke loose. I swear by this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
casper | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2016
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after operation on my bladder I had lost control of my bladder and made many trips to the bathroom every 30 minutes. this pill seems to be working at least for the past few days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2016
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had IBS forever and have suffered terribly. This is the first time that a drug has worked for me. I take .125mg, one hour before lunch and dinner and have not noticed any bad side effects. I feel like I have my life back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/3/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had water coming out wrong end periodically. Increased fiber and 8 tabs/day for four months. Helped some but not completely. Very very dry mouth and blurred vision. Using up to 12 xylimelts per day. Second dr diagnosed internal hemorrhoid. Very acid stomach stopping the meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
azmove | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/21/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The gastrointerologist perscribed this drug, a minty tasting pill I was to put under my tongue..worked great calming down my spastic attacks. Internist substituted generic, white pill 0.125 inscribed KU..not as affective at this time. I just took one and continue to have bowel movements with severe cramping..doubled over and it is Sunday and do not know if I can take another one. I never had side effects from the one that melted in my mouth. This is not a constant condition, happens maybe serverly 2x a year...but I am in a quandry over how many more dosages I can take. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/19/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been prescribed 0.375 mg twice a day for abdominal pain associated with IBS. I only take one pill a day though, because with two I get extreme dry mouth. I still have the occasional flare-up, but this medication has vastly improved my stomach pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
callih | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed a rash after taking three pills. My lower back is killing me and I have to wonder if the condition is associated with the pill since my back has never really been an issue. Feels more like the kidneys actually. The rash is not severe,showing up on the tops of my hands first and spreading slowly up arm. Some on my legs but it is not all that bothersome. I am stopping the pill until I consult with my physician. Hope the lower back pain subsides. Anyone else have this 'side-effect'?? As for the abdominal pain, it seems under control. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KSM65 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed approx. 2 months ago for irritable bowel syndrome. Helpful in reducing cramping and pain. I have experienced some blurred vision and dry mouth but not terrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
polly1 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/9/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works well at keeping my symptoms at bay most of the time. I take .125 mg tablets, and the prescription is written for 3 times a day, but I only take one tablet in the morning with my breakfast. I tried to quit taking them a couple of months ago, just to see if I REALLY needed them, and what a mistake that was. After about a week of not taking them, I had a full blown attack, which lasted about a month before I could get my symptoms under control again. One pill a day prevents most of the discomfort for me. It is worth noting, however, that I don't have constipation or diarrhea with my IBS, just severe cramping.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pooped Out | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/28/2014
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first few times I took this medication to stop diarrhea, it worked but went too far and caused constipation. It worked after this for a few weeks in controlling spastic colon and anal spasms but now it is ineffective and does nothing for the symptoms it was to control and I am back at square one. I have never received an actual diagnosis from general practitioner and GI specialist but I am assuming it is IBS(D) although I am more convinced it is Chron's. It is back to both physicians for me in the hopes of getting this under control because noone can LIVE like this!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
888 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/8/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stops pain somewhat

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steph | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doc gave me this for stomach and intestinal pain caused by excessive gas build up. It's been 3 days now, taking 4 pills a day, and the pain has "somewhat" diminished.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More