Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

I have been in the hospital for 6 days and it was finally determined what is wrong with me and hopefully what combination of drugs will make me well. I receive Merrem IV every 6 hours and already I am starting to feel better. Up untill now, nothing was working.

Shared reviews and ratings

Old Roadie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2015
Condition: Infection of Urinary Tract with Complications
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have Anaphylactic reaction to most antibiotics, particularly Penicillin, Sulfa, Vancomycin, Levofloxacin, Cipro. Merrem binds to the same receptors as penicillin without side effects. One short bout of diarrhea, one odd dream... only noted side effects. Merrem considered usually for catastrophic illness, the big-gun in fighting bacterial infections. It was my only option, and it is working. Will return to edit if any long term side effects occur. Currently in hospital, in treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
steve | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2013
Condition: Sepsis Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication isnot made for baratric patients and is very infective as a result. I have taken it for 10 days 3 x day and all it has done is cause me to be sicker and not better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Merida | 65-74 | Patient
4/21/2013
Condition: Diabetic Foot Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorraine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/15/2013
Condition: Bacterial Meningitis caused by Streptococcus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This Drug saved My life. This was the second time I had Bacterial Meningitis which was caused by a tear in the lining of brain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/18/2011
Condition: Abscess Within the Abdomen
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son was on Merrem for two days and his toes started to have pain. Was on for a total of 10 days and pain increased. His infection cleared up and after his surgeon researched the secondary pain in his feet, he told us that he found out that that 5 cases have been reported having fibromyalgia as a side effect. I guess because it was such a extremely low # of cases reported, it is not general knowledge on ANY web search we could find. We are hoping now that he is off antibiotic, the symptoms will resolve itself. We are happy that the infection cleared up, however a little disappointed that the HH Nurse, Pharmacy and Dr's could not find this side effect info easier.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/14/2010
Condition: Cystic Fibrosis and Infection from Pseudomonas Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter is on Merrem. We have been doing quite well on this medication. It is easy to mix and administer. My only complaint is that it is SO expensive! Luckily, we have good health care coverage!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chick | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/31/2009
Condition: Infection of Urinary Tract with Complications
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was administered with a mid line PICC line so the 98 year old patient (who is fully self sufficient) could remain home during treatment. The Meropenem was mixed from powder form with 20 ml sterile water every 12 hours. It was difficult for the patient to do all the steps before injecting into the iv line because of redulced vision, however as the caregiver, it was workable. Patient showed remarkable improvement in 36 hours. as treatment is ongoing.... 10 days 2 times a day, we have no report on full effectiveness yet.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MIITALIAMA | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2008
Condition: Abscess Within the Abdomen
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I AM ALLERGIC TO MOST ANTIBIOTICS. THIS NEW ANTIBIOTIC IV WAS GIVEN IN THE HOSPITAL BEFORE AND AFTER SURGERY. WOULD LIKE TO FIND A PILL FORM OF THE SAME SO IF I NEED IT ,I CAN RECOMMEND IT TO THE DR. WHAT SIDE EFFECTS ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wildheart | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/25/2007
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in the hospital for 6 days and it was finally determined what is wrong with me and hopefully what combination of drugs will make me well. I receive Merrem IV every 6 hours and already I am starting to feel better. Up untill now, nothing was working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More