Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I previously reviewed these drops after using one time. I decided to try them again & have used them now for almost 3 months with no side effects that I can say are coming from them. I do have bad sinus allergies but I hope they are from the outside air & not these drops. I use them at night, & they have lasted almost 3 months.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I was on Alphagan P for about 6 months and my left leg hurt so much my doctor had me get a cardiogram to see if I had a cardiovascular problem. I checked the Side Effects for this drug on the internet and found that it could cause muscular weakness. I stopped this drug and was given Briminodine about 3 weeks ago. My leg is beginning to feel weak again, like it's going to give out on me. The ph...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had many of the side effects like blurred vision, dizziness, and inflammation in and around the eye with matter build up. I am being treated for all the symptoms and when I had an eye appointment, the eye doctor said the eye drops were my problem and the eye pressures had increased from 18 to 24 in both eyes in 3 months time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jack Jones | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/30/2019
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me very dizzy had to stop could not even go out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/22/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eyelid crusting which I had trouble convincing my provider. This was followed by red eyeballs and irritation. Eyes often glued shut by morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using over 10 years. Eyelids itch sometimes. I am 67 yrs old. Seems to work. Better than going blind.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/9/2018
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused burning and redness of my eyes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dellrocks | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2015
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I previously reviewed these drops after using one time. I decided to try them again & have used them now for almost 3 months with no side effects that I can say are coming from them. I do have bad sinus allergies but I hope they are from the outside air & not these drops. I use them at night, & they have lasted almost 3 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dellrocks | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2015
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My eye doctor prescribed these drops for my eye pressure. I used it one night, & have had terrific irritation & tearing ever since so I'm afraid to use it again. Directions say not to use if you have low blood pressure, which I have & wasn't mentioned by my doctor or pharmacist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
3/4/2015
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father had been on this for over a year, and like another reviewer mentioned; I feel like he developed an allergy or some other reaction with it. developed lots of itching, red bloodshot eyes, redness and discoloration around the eyes, eyelid crusting and pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
W311 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2014
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have glaucoma and my dr. Prescribed brimonidine to decrease the pressure in my eyes. Initially the only side effect I had to cope with was DRY mouth. It was uncomfortable but I sucked candy and drunk water repeatedly. However, after using the drops a couple weeks, my blood pressure began to drop even to the point where I almost fainted and had to be taken to ER. Of course this was very scary since I had never experienced this before. I tried the drops a couple of times afterward to ensure I was correct. Again my blood pressure dropped below 100. I don't know if it dropped my eye pressure but I know I would not recommend it based on my experience. I have made an appointment to see the doctor. I called the doctor's office after my ER visit and was told the eye drops would not cause a drop in BP. Not true per the pharmacist.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
helenstone | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2014
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Alphagan P for about 6 months and my left leg hurt so much my doctor had me get a cardiogram to see if I had a cardiovascular problem. I checked the Side Effects for this drug on the internet and found that it could cause muscular weakness. I stopped this drug and was given Briminodine about 3 weeks ago. My leg is beginning to feel weak again, like it's going to give out on me. The pharmacist said it has some of the same ingredients as AlphaganP. I go to the doctors on 10/4 and will see what she says. I really don't like this drug. AlphaganP worked well except for the muscle weakness problem.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cjr | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2014
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel like I have been more tired since I started using this eye drop. I didn't know this was a side effect in combination with 3 other drugs I take for other conditions. I will bring this up with my eye dr. next month. I'm glad I saw this interaction on here by inputting all my meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ranchomirage gal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2012
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having too many allergic reactions, as headaches, fainting spells, blurred vision, etc and had to discontinued the use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/4/2012
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been taking these drops for 12 years and never realized that i was having bad side effects such as swollen ankles which i have been taking meds for.irregular heart beat fluttering sometimes pounding beats peeling skin bleeding easily sinus infections.i recently had radiation therapy for basil cell carcinoma under my right eye the eye in which i take these drops,maby coincidence maby not!!!as this is healing it became infected until i no longer took these drops. i am never going to use these drops agsain.iforgot about verry hoarse throat whe talking for more than 5 min.pain in legs and hips and more.since i stopped about two weeks ago i feel like a new person i sleep for more than two hours at a time no more urinary problems.i had a prostate biopsy for nothing.i will perhaps move to a state where medical marijuana is legal because these are the states that really CARE about their people and are not governed by the FDA and their money making drug industry.shame on the US governmentfor keeping a helpfull drug away from the people who need it yet they allow these drug companys to kill people on a daily basis.WATCH TV it is a disgrace.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/3/2011
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed an eye allergy after being on this medication for 1 year. There were no side effects until now. My eyes started itching, I had a lot of redness in the eyes and around the outside of the eyes. Also, dry scaly skin on the eyelids and under the eyes. My eye dr. said that an allergy can sometimes develop from this medication, even after taking it for a length of time. So the dr. said to stop taking it for now, and gave me a prescription ointment to use on the eyelids, and its much better now. I would not use Brimonidine again, although it did lower the pressure.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2011
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is one of three different drops I am using. I began on it three weeks ago and have had terrible drozziness and lowered blood pressure.I don't know yet if it has lowered the pressure in my eyes yet as my check up is next week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mumof3kidz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/22/2011
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Brimondine Tartrate Opt for the treatment of open-angled Glaucoma and at first was fine with switching to this medication as the last med I as on was beta-blocker and I was not able to take anymore due to possible adverse reaction to allergy shots I am required to take. In the past two months I have gone through eye allergy hell-I am certain I have developed an allergy to this drop yet my healthcare does not feel so. I have developed a severe sensitivity to light (even indoor lights), have terrible bloodshot eyes that go away when I stopped taking this drop for a few days, and have constant horrible looking scabs that have developed under my eyes (I have a blister that then turns into scabs)these resemble black eyes that look horrible and hurt. I would not recommend this medication at all although it has lowered my pressure numbers my eyes look like I've been in a fight.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RG | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2010
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very satisfied with this medication. The drug lowers the pressure on the eye with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/6/2010
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a great help with my eye care. I have to use the generic version because I am allergic to the preservative in the name brand. I have used this drop longer than any other drop. Usually the effectiveness of the drops last just a couple of years. I have been using this for 5 years now. I use Lumigan at night to lower the pressures even more because I also has VSR disease in one eye.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/23/2008
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although the drug is working to bring down the pressure in my eye, it has caused considerable anxiety and muscle stiffness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More