Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

42 People found this comment helpful

I've been using this drug for about 20 years and it has been extemely effective in controlling my Crohn's disease. I've had no side effects and no reoccurances since I been on this drug. I have my blood checked every 3 months, no problems.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

i hate getting sick to my stomache

Shared reviews and ratings

BB | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2021
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Azathioprine for over two months now (May 2021) for my lupus. First on low dose then it was raised after a few weeks of taking it. There has been no improvement for me but there has been problems that was caused by Azathioprine. There has been blood in my urine, stomach irritation, occasional nausea, fatigue (even though I'm often fatigue because of lupus & other medications) as well as hair loss. When I was first diagnosed with lupus in April 2020, my symptoms were getting worse & hair loss happen majorly. By mid-October 2020 I was hospitalized for over a month. I started to improve but still not my full self. Still aches & pain but my hair was starting to grow back. However, taking Azathioprine has caused me to lose my hair again but in noticeable areas. Azathioprine isn't working for me & causing me problems.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/6/2017
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ulcerative Colitus for 6 years. Used Prednisone to bring UC under control, and Imuran has been a stable med during remission. Using for 3 years. No know side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When arthritis flares up put on to control however, I am a diabetic and glucose levels get extremely high. Also tapering, don't like to take steroids swell up and hunger increases.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2017
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first started with this medication on 50mg. But after 5 days I started getting side effects. Abdominal swelling, pain, red blotches on my forearms, and unusual small bumps on my forearm. Now on 25 MG for 4 days now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rick_G | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/4/2016
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was diagnosed with ulcerative proctitis in 1985. Was upgraded to UC in 2012. Tried canasa, anusol, budesonide, uceris, etc., all didn't help much. Started Imuran 100mg daily, as well as Lialda; been taking for 15 months now. Pretty much been in remission. Changed my quality of life for the better. I almost feel normal!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gian | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/5/2016
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Similar to another reviewer, I have been taking Imuran along with Prednisone for over 35 years. It has worked well for me despite repeated instances of treatable skin cancers which may be related to the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Engr | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/11/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on imuran since surgery in 2006. I've been system free except for some diarrhea and short gut B-12 deficiency which I attribute more to the surgery than the Imuran. I've had crohn's since 1968 and this has been the most consistent good time I've had.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coco | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/4/2015
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking imuran along with prednisone for 32 years as an anti rejection drug, it is definitely working for me. The only issue I have with it is that besides my recurring skin cancer bouts that I have had (about 7) my skin is showing more brown spots and catatonic. Dermatologists insist that it is not due to the imuran, I tend to differ. What do you think?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lupie loser | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2015
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I also have a heart condition and taking Imuran 50mg daily. My symptons are worse and am barely able to function. My doctors don't seem to listen or care, take drug and let me collect insurance is what i am getting from them. Has any one had hallucinations with this drug? I see things move that I know are stationary. Bridges moving 20 feet in air, makes for scary driving. Some one please help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Little bit | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/22/2015
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had systemic lupus since 1993. Have been on plaqunil since then and started Imuran a couple of months ago and have had no side effects yet. The meds seem to help. Just worried about side effects tho. ALso have Fibromyalgia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/1/2015
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug saved my life. I have tried every treatment nothing worked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jgrif | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2015
Condition: Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had U/C for almost 6 years, tried many types of medications. A couple weeks ago, my doctor prescribed Imuran. On the 9th day I had a major allergic reaction and was sent to the ER. Severe diarrhea, dehydrated, red blotches all over my face, arms and legs. My potassium had dropped dangerously low. After a 6 1/5 stay at the ER, receiving medication, fluids and monitoring, I have recovered. Guess Imuran is not a good option for me. Back to the drawing board, Doc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rabbit | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2014
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

An hour or so after taking the drug, i experienced severe nausea followed by projectile vomiting lasting for at least 30 minutes. I was disoriented, difficulty walking, and needed assistance getting to the ER. I was hospitalized for 5 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It added pain over my neuro pain. I had to take it at bed-time so that I could not feel this side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bern- galway5 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/2/2014
Condition: Liver Inflammation caused by Body's Own Immune Response
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After years of being more ill after being sick. With anything, I finally got Ulcerative Colitis. My LFTs were over 400 when I got into Hospital, I had what I thought was a chill, and turned out to be The Ri-gors. I was sent up to Hospital. Put under A Brillient To the researchist who put me?.. I was born with this Disorder. I was also born Dyslexic which this darn thing will not make allowances for. So despite all the above I now. Have Thyroid problems, and after Abdominal pain since Xmas I had a gastric scope yesterday, so now I have inflammation in stomach. Mostly I,m good the Immuran has changed to Puri-netthol 50mg daily I don't get ill so often and feel pretty most of the time. But when I do get something it,s usually a big thing. I was diagnosed in 2007. I feel I was born in 1943 with my own bundle on board. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ihaveucbutsowhat | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Imuran for nearly 2 months at various doses before my doctor finally agreed to let me discontinue use. During its use, I lost 20lbs and developed several permanent health concerns. I now have bronchiolitis, chronic bronchitis, chronic pharyngitis, and muscle dysphagia involving my voice box. It hurts when I breathe and my voice often sounds strange. I wish I would've refused this medication. My disease is now under complete remission by following the specific carbohydrate diet. I was on Remicade IV 500mg for 11 months prior to and combination with Imuran and I've also been able to stop using that. If you have UC, even severe pancolitis like me, consider the SCD. It could save your life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having many heat flashes, sweating a lot, bad joint pain, increased abdominal pain, bloated, bruising very easily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
badmedicine | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2014
Condition: Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not all meds help everyo9ne. I was sick the whole time I took it. I have increased abdominal pain and was ready to commit suicide. In quit and now doing alternative health. I am getting well. I wouldnt give this drug to to the devil its so bad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nancy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/17/2014
Condition: Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had U/C for 15 years, with several bad flareups. Asacol and prednisone did nothing to help, but after 6 months on Imuran I got my first clean colonoscopy in 15 years. I can run without flareups for the first time in more than five years. The only side effect I've noticed is some slight joint pain in my hips, but that could also be my 50 year old body after a long run!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Imuran | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/16/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

can this Imuran oral cause blood sugar to raise?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More