Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

After reading all the reviews I was scared to take this. So, I made sure to drink a full glass of water before I took it and right before bed. I took it with lunch and with dinner, in the middle of the meal. I never experienced any symptoms and took two a day for one week.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I had a bladder infection, I took the first pill and fifteen minutes I was shaky,it has been about 3 hours now and I am so nauseated that I want to cry. I hate this medicine. No wonder the pharmacist said to me that if I started to feel sick to stop right away and call the doctor and have him prescribe another antibiotic, obviously she knew what I was in for...I just flushed all the pills down the...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sheila | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely terrible medication given for first uti after one tablet felt nausea took second one woken in the night with nausea,vomiting up water. Had to call out of hours Doctor for the first time in my life couldn't keep any fluids down for about ten hour's. And still not anywhere near myself for days after two of these tablets. With the uti itself I felt OK Amoxicillin give uti cleared up. This medication should not be given there are lot's more to choose from I which I had read the reviews first.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miss Janis | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have another two days to be taking this prescription… But so far it has been working quite well… I had diarrhea the first day but I had also eaten a lot of grapes… Mostly I’ve just been very tired… But that is understandable as it is releasing dead bacteria into my system and I have to drink a lot to flush it out… But all in all I am feeling good and I have not had any serious affects… I will know in another two days or so if it has worked completely

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ChelseaGirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed over the phone. Took first one okay started feeling a bit rough so (thinking it was the infection) took second tablet. Felt extremely nauseous and sleepy had to go to bed. Still got watery diarrhoea two days later and very weak. Thinking of going to A & E but a Sunday. It’s literally like putting a poison into you body. Throwing probiotics and dioralite down me. Awful experience! God knows whether I’ve still got a UTI?!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AmyH | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was really scared to take this medicine based on all the negative reviews and I’ve never had a UTI before (40 yr old, female). But I had no issues with this medicine. The only side effect I experienced (on day 3-4) was a change in my urine color (common) that was it. Within a day of first dose I started feeling better and improved each day until being completely better by day 5. Blood & urine sample showed as much on day 5 when my results came back infection free!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lreiff75 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this for a UTI and took the first pill at night, after dinner. About 7 hours later woke up in the middle of the night with diarrhea and then an hour later, severe nausea and then threw up 8 times. Thought I had a food poisoning so I took another one the next day and sure enough, same thing so I stopped and just waiting for it to get out of my system so I can feel better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nitrofurantoin | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/5/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was prescribed this over the phone ! She came out in hives ( I gave her antihistamine immediately) she collapsed minutes later , being sick and her tongue swelling 999 was called , ended up in A&E ..... luckily she only took 3 - dangerous antibiotic should never be given !!! Esp when not even having a uti test ! DO NOT TAKE!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 5 days 2x/day for a UTI. No issues at first. 5 days later, hives started. 7 days later, terrible upper stomach pain, burping and gas/pressure in esophagus with acid reflux. Has lasted 5 days and I called doc who didn't think it was for sure the medicine. After looking here I am convinced it is! He prescribed Nexium and I am hoping that repairs it. Also have taken some probiotics and will continue to do so having read others here. I have NEVER had issues with other antibiotics like this. Writing my doc and having it added to my and all my family members notes to NEVER prescribe this to any of us. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Riley | 19-24 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Definitely got rid of my UTI, but on day 7 had really bad stomach cramps and diarrhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vince | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Klebsiella Bacteria
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed nitrofurantoin after klebsiella was found in my urine. Started off fine then by day 4 began to experience side effects such as bad palpitations, numbness and nausea so had to stop using.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
name | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2022
Condition: Infection of the Urinary Tract caused by Enterococcus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed Nitrofurantoin for a UTI after a course of a different anti-biotic, Amoxycillin, failed to resolve the issue. This resolved it and I didn't experience any side effects whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa J. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started experiencing dizziness after the first pill and by the third pill, the dizziness became Non-Stop. I began researching on the internet and found where a doctor said to discontinue immediately if dizziness occurs and so I stopped after the third pill. It has now been 3 days since stopping the medication and I still feel dizzy and groggy. I'm going to quit seeing my doctor who prescribed it and if asked by anyone, I would recommend they not take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A Muffin | 19-24 | Female | Patient
2/23/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Y'all listen please, Most people that give negative reviews are probably elderly people, and due to there age, they will probably have worst side effects then those who are young. Yes this medicine WILL cause side effects and that is okay! Don't let Google scare you or anyone else please! I'm a 19 year old female and this is my first time. (Yes I have a anxiety disorder so taking a new medicine wasn't easy).. The side effects I'm dealing with are: Headache Eye Pain Dark Urine Drowsiness Dizziness Cramps (quite use to them now since I deal with that every month) Remember, we are all different! If you have bad anxiety like me, getting scared of the having the side effects will make them and your anxiety worse. If you get a headache, the thing that calmed me down was milk. Then again, milk probably won't work for all. I looked up the interactions to this medicine and Goody Powders, Tylenol and Ibuprofen and I didn't see any interactions in them. Anyway, that's my experience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OrdinaryStudent | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this prescription on two separate occasions. First occasion, on my second day of only taking one a day, I had to leave work early and almost wasn’t capable of driving myself home. I had a severe fever, chills and a pretty bad headache. I also recall a distinct sensation of feeling like I wasn’t able to take a full breath. I practically wasn’t able to move and blacked out the minute I got home for 6 hours. I didn’t take any more. This week, I had to take another dose for a UTI infection undermining how bad my side effects were the first time. I had the same results, except worse. I wasn’t able to get up to even go to the bathroom for about 10 hours because my entire body had gone numb/ felt like every limb got a vaccine. I don’t want to take this anymore but my UTI symptoms are going away.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nine hours after my second dose I developed a severe headache followed by extreme nausea and vomiting which continued for an entire night and all of the next day. I also had chest pain for a little while. I finally went to urgent care and received treatment for the nausea, pain and IV fluids; also was prescribed medication for nausea. Nitrofurantoin should not be prescribed EVER!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janeen | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was in this medication for a week 4x per day for 7 days, had an upset stomach during yhqt week. When I took the last dose within 12 hrs I was very ill. Severe abdo pain, felt like entire digestive system from just under diaphragm to lower abdo was soaked in acid. Bloated abdomen, very sore just to touch. Vomiting, had to go to hospital fir IVFluids and morphine for the pain and I can handle a lot of pain. Next day burning reduced abdo very sore to touch, exhausted, aching all over with some nerve pain. Slowly improving at this stage. Got rid of the UTI but will never take again. I am age range 45 - 49 but the age selector wouldn't allow me to select that age range.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/2/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok, so ive read the reviews just like everyone else here.. i just got done with this med i think 4 days now.. it makes perfect sense that black and yellow pill didnt look right to me anyway.. so heres my experience, First day felt a little nausea but after that first day it went away BUT when i tell you the chest pain oh no baby my chest was tightttt, felt a little dizzy and made me tired, closed my eyes i was seeing white sparks, it made me really sweaty and was like an anxiety booster! rised to anxiety to the roof. prob wont be taking these again though.. but i needed to, to get treated. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nitrofurantoin | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I almost died from this medication! I broke out in such severe hives, and anaphylaxis two days after finishing a 5-day dose. I ended up in the ER getting epinephrine to stop the reaction. I've been on steroids for days and still feel all off. There is no telling what else it has done to my blood cells and brain. The serious side effects and amount of injury it has caused innocent victims should be enough to get it off the market! Up till now I have trusted Dr's without looking into medications myself....NO MORE!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CGE | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: Infection of the Urinary Tract caused by Enterococcus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug almost killed me and has hospitalized me 3 times. It mimics sepsis but the common denominator was this medicine that almost killed me in September. This drug should be taken off the market. Its dangerous! I need to know if anyone reading this has had the same experience. 1 dose and it caused me to go to the hospital twice. The 2nd time, I was in the ICU and almost died. Just got out of the hospital again after taking one dose and now we know for sure it is this drug causing this severe sepsis mimicking reaction.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lis | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only taken for one day but it’s really helping me . I took trimothroprim for a week before this and felt awful and didn’t help me . I took nitro with food and felt fine after taking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nitrofurantoin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not clear up the infection fully.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More