Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

81 People found this comment helpful

This is day 9 of being smoke free. This stuff is amazing! I did a lot of research on this drug and was terrified by all the side effects. I take it with food as everyone advised and I am fine. The dreams are ususally really amusing and can be remembered vividly upon waking. One thing I did as I am 125 pounds and can be sensitive to drugs is that I would break the starter pills in half and take par...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

This is the first time we know of that aggression/violence has been clearly documented as a side effect in a peer reviewed scientific journal. This raises the question of whether (Chantix) is suitable for use in the military, by police and others who are already in stress situations. One key characteristic of these events is uncontrollable rage. Not a good side effect for people paid to carry guns...

Shared reviews and ratings

Colleen | 35-44 | Female | Patient
12/1/2022
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I succeeded in my goal to quit a smoking using Champix. I however having issues with my sleep and nightmares into about week 5 of taking the drug. I want to continue the full prescription but the interruption in my sleep affects my day and my work. So since I don’t have any cravings I’m feeling confident that I am now a non-smoker I feel like I don’t want to take the prescription anymore I also was reading an article this morning about a carcinogen that was found in champix in 2021 snd a huge recall, so now I’m worried that I am taking a medication that has a carcinogen that could cause cancer even though I’ve quit smoking. So do I get cancer from smoking or do I get cancer from quitting smoking I’m confused. All I know is that the nightmares I had last night were more than nightmares they were almost night tremors and night terrors and I do not want to experience that again I am exhausted this morning and to be honest I’m still a little shaken from the dreams I was having so yes champix helps me quit smoking but it’s also driving me insane at night. I’m thinking maybe I will take my morning pills and not my evening pill and see how it goes I’m definitely going to contact my pharmacy and doctor today to ask them about if this pill still contains the cancer-causing carcinogen that causes the recall1 year ago, and if it happens to still contain this carcinogen I will be quitting this medication and possibly getting a medical review and quite frankly I will be contacting a lawyer. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Glenda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/17/2022
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No benefits for me. I had bad headache in the back of neck and head, for the second week. I became very angry with family and friends. I threw my beloved dog on the floor.I stopped taking immediately after hearing my family and friends tell me how bad I acted. I actually felt my actions were justified. I threw my beloved dog on the floor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kim | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/26/2022
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been smoke-free for 16 years thanks to Chantix. It eliminated the effect I got from nicotine and cravings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NoSmokeNow | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The BEST way to quit smoking - and I've tried them all! It basically 'takes the edge off' the stress and agitation. I'd missed a dose one night when teaching and was crabby and agitated by the end of the night - so I could see how the dopamine was effective against agitation. I quit SO VERY easily!! And, I was going to stop Chantix after 1 1/2 weeks not smoking....but.... I've decided to give myself some grace and wean off Chantix over the 2nd month so as to 'ease into life's stresses' again. It's great, works great and nowhere near the side effects of other meds/gums/etc!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 0-2 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I smoked for 52 years and tried to quit at least 15 times. In 2019 I gave chantix a try and I have been smoke free for two and a half years now and no withdrawals.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
todd charlton | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/15/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My wife and i took a chantix starter pack and we didnt even finish the 1 mounth supply, and we bolth quite smoking. It has been 20 months since we quite. the cravens are gone, and we bolth live a better life,becuse of chantix. Thank you to this Drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teresa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Chantix at only 1/2 the dose because the 1mg made me too nauseous, and at the end of seven days taking, didn't want to smoke any more... I got through the physical withdrawals from Nicotine and took .5 Chantix for less than 3 months and stayed quit. A few days after stopping taking any Chantix, I noticed my self becoming VERY depressed, agitated, mad over nothing, so sad all the time and always feel like the world is about to end...and think of killing myself quite often. I never thought about killing myself and that has came after 1-2 weeks of stopping taking the Chantix :( Maybe 10 years ago, I had a bout with depression, I got past it. No one counselled me that this drug could make me depressed AFTER taking it, the drug precaution only stated to tell your doctor if you had symptoms while taking it. Other than normal withdrawal from smoking, I had no adverse symptoms until I stopped taking it. I had no idea this drug could change the happy happy me into this sad wants to cry 24/7 me that I can't stand. My family doesn't want to be around me at all. I just a lot of people's experiences who became depressed and suicidal after they stopped, and most are still suffering sever depression years later. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GinaLee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 53 and have to have a full hip replacement. My Dr informed me I had to quit smoking in order to do this. 3 years later, I've accomplished it by taking Chantix. I had already pretty much stopped by my initial week and 2 days in to full script, I stopped a habit I've had for 40 years. I have very few urges and they are easy to get thru. I've not had one single side affect. No weird dreams or thoughts. Didn't mess up my sleep pattern. No physical health changes. Aside from keeping my mind occupied when the urges come. They are short lived also. So glad I finally asked for help. I am now on my way to walking again and couldn't feel better about my decision. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
7/5/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started chantix when I was in rehab. Cause I didn't want to become dependant nicotine replacements like patches I'm on the continue pack now and haven't smoked at all for over 2 months . I do still have strong cravings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ray | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chewed tobacco for 20 years, tried every other method to quit, all failed. I did not even want to quit when I started Chantix. If figured I could at least try it to prove that I did everything and to keep my wife happy that I tried. Started the pills, pick a end date of 8 days from the start. That day came and I was still chewing like as much or more than ever. (1.5 packs a day) Then on the 9th day I had just finish by early morning chew on the way to work. Then about 4 hours later I noticed that I had not chewed all morning. I took a huge pinch of tobacco and started to chew. I was then I noticed that there was no taste, do flavor, no high. If felt like carboard in my mouth. I spit it out and was trying to figure out what was going on. So, I stopped the morning to see how long I could go before I went crazy. The rest of the day went by, and then the next and next. There was do desire at all, and I felt normal. The only side affect was remembering better my dreams in week 2-6, this was kind of cool. So after 3 month I stopped using Chantix and was fine. I did have a craving about a month after, but it only lasted for about 20 seconds. This was all 5 years ago, and my only regret was not doing it earlier in my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Now non smoker | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is amazing I didn't really want to quit I just knew I needed to It takes the cravings away I could stand right beside someone that smoked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kappy98 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 42 years old and I have been smoking for about 18 years. I've tried quitting cold turkey, nicotine gum and lozenges. Needless to say, none worked. My last resort was Chantix and fast forward to today I am now 3 months in smoke-free. This product has worked a miracle in my life! I never thought I would ever be smoke free. My experience with Chantix has been great. I smoked during the first week of taking Chantix while the medication was building up in my system. I set my quit day to coincide with me taking the first full dosage of the medicine. I did experience a little nausea the first day, but that was because I did not eat before I took the medication. Taking it on a full stomach stopped the nausea. I also experience somewhat vivid dreams, but they were actually good dreams and not nightmares. The first two weeks the cravings were intense, but I kept myself busy by working out, reading books or taking long walks. After that, the cravings started to subside. I still have cravings today, but they pass after a minute or so. I did not avoid situations that would be triggers because for me avoidance was not an option. I am a sociable person and have many friends who smoke, so I had to meet that challenge head on. Surprisingly, it was not as hard as I thought it would be. I am in the process of preparing to stop taking the medication, so I am gearing myself up for any potential downsides. I highly recommend Chantix for anyone who's considering quitting smoking. Talk to your doctor and go for it! It has changed my life and I can wake up everyday and say I am a Non-Smoker! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janice | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 51 years old and have been smoking since the age of 14. I've tried and failed several times at quitting smoking and did not try Chantix in the past because someone told me negative side effects they had had. I started Chantix on March 1st 2021 30 day starter pack. The 30 days were easy no cravings no side effects at all in fact I felt like it was a little happy pill. I'm now over 3 months not smoking and I feel fantastic. I do get cravings every now and then that lasts a few minutes and go away. I really wish I would have tried this Years ago . Janice .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lvh | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been smoking got about 20 years. By the end of the 1st week cravings were gone, 2nd week I was able to break the habit. As far as side effects go the dreams aren't bad very few scary ones but a lot of vivid dreams. The only real down side is the stomach issues. For about 20 mins after taking the pill I feel really nauseous and I've experienced a lot of gas and diarrhea. I've tried taking it before eating, after eating, without food, with water, with milk, everything I could think of to try to ease the stomach issues but have found nothing that works. Ultimately the few minutes of nausea and upset stomach are worth it in the long run for how easy it is made it to quit smoking. I've been able to be cigarette free for two months now even though I live with two smokers. To my to talk my husband into trying it. I want him to stop to for health reasons and I think it will be easier to stay smoke free if we both do it Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Antoinette T. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been smoking almost 30 years. After taking a stand and wanting to quit. I started on Chantix.The first week I continued to smoke and take Chantix. It did made me feel a little queasy to the point where I did not want a cigarette for the reason of being a tad nauseous. By week two, I no longer craved a cigarette. I learned that my smoking was more out of habit than addiction. Week three, I told myself I will not buy cigarettes at all. I was truly amazed that the craving was no longer there. At the end of week 3 I had quit completely even with the fact that my husband still smoked cigarettes right in front of me. He also wanted to quit so I encouraged him to use Chantix. It has been 4 months for me and 3 months for my husband of being SMOKE FREE!!. I sometimes forget that I used to even smoke cigarettes. I definitely would encourage those who are wanting to quit smoking cigarettes to use Chantix no doubt.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I smoked since I was in my 20's. I tried everything to stop but nothing worked. I tried Chantix and was amazed at the change in my urge to smoke. After 2 weeks, I was able to stop smoking because the urges had been diminished to a slight level, enough to keep me from lighting up!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had smoked for 44 years and tried many times to quit. I decided to try Champix and by the end of the first packet I had stopped smoking . I did not have any side effects other than feeling nauseous when I thought of a cigarette after day 8. I did not need the second months dose but had them on hand just in case . I have been smoke free now for 16 mths and do not crave a cigarette even when around other smokers. I was a packet a day smoker.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KAM | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One week in to quitting smoking and it’s been much easier than previous attempts. I don’t have the nicotine cravings, and I’m also practicing deep breathing throughout the day to deal with stress. I started the second week taking both pills but it made me nauseous. I’m only a 3 cigarettes/day smoker so I cut down to one pill a day and have been doing just fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wendi | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/9/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have bipolar. Iâ??ve smoked 38 years and was down to 6 cigarettes a day. I took Chantix for two months and had to stop due to acute anxiety and panic attacks. They are everyday. Iâ??m on short term use of Xanax to help control the attacks. I had to get help from urgent care and the ER for all day attacks. I have to go through a few specialty doctors before I can see a psychiatrist to help me deal with this with possibly more medication of some sort. For the people it worked for-fantastic! I had high hopes. I would use with caution. Psychiatric side effects can last months after stopping Chantix. Iâ??m in bad shape and smoking again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Timothy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just finished the first 28-day course. It didn't do a thing for me except upset my stomach greatly. The frequency of my smoking and my cravings haven't diminished one bit. Recently I tried to just stop smoking completely while taking Chantix. I was a wreck and didn't last a day. The nausea caused by this stuff is intense. A couple of times I took the 1mg tablets without food. I dry-heaved all day. Even taking with food and drink, my stomach gets upset. I haven't decided if I'll get a second subscription. I probably won't.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More