Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

Took 10 days of 500mg tablets for severe sinus infection (horrible swelling of my face around brow bones, under eyes), my worst infection of my sinus area in a very long time. I get an average of 2 sinus infections a year, due to malformation of the sinus glands. I have taken Levaquin before and never had a problem, so when I began to get these wierd side effects I looked for causes all over ...

Most voted negative review

13 People found this comment helpful

I take warfarin because of mechanical valves and combined with this drug, I could have died. A week in the hospital because my INR was so high after my legs gave out and I landed on the floor (called 911). Four months later I am still dealing with the after effects.All this having taken only TWO pills. This drug should not be on the market.

Shared reviews and ratings

Alan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2021
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad Sinus Infection, after first dose, I lost my hearing totally in Left ear. It's been 3years and I am still profoundly deaf in one ear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sewcat | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to immediate care with a low fever and was diagnosed with possibly urinary tract and bronchitis Took one pill and had diarrhea off and on now for over a week. Now am waiting results of a stool sample. This pill is overkill and side effects are too severe

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jacquelyn Boyd | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2020
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't ever take this medicine! The last day of my medicine I developed tendinitis 10 days later I ruptured my Achilles tendon no fall twist just a normal step and SNAP! 10 days after that I had surgery to reattach my tendon. I've been and physical therapy for A little over 2 months. Along the way I notice some knee discomfort which is something I've never had problems with. I still have leg discomfort. This is vert DANGEROUS DRUG you have to be dyeing with something no other antibiotics can fix. I was 3 weeks out of pneumonia and my doctor said well lets try one more antibiotics to make sure. I said I feel pretty good getting strong but if you say so OK. Now I don't know when I'll be back to my normal. VERY PHYSICALLY ACTIVE & WAS PHYSICALLY FIT. IM A MESS NOW!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Levaquin Rash | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ER doc prescribed this for my diverticulitis. Two doses left me with huge welts on my face, neck, & back. Read the warnings that came with it & was worried, then read reviews & was horrified. Ask your physician for something else!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nelliesvt | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection of Kidney due to E. Coli Organism
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 5 doses of 250 mg. Only took 2 doses and i have had massive headaches all over my head, unbearable sinus pressure and tendon pain. I havent taken in 5 days and headaches are not going away. I never get headaches and feel like my head is going to explode. It also threw me into a seizure and severe shaking. Do not take this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

7 day treatment only took 5 .my knees hurt so bad can barely walk ..i do not recommend this drug to anyone..been 3 weeks off drug still same effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shell | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2020
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took my first Levaquin pill and 4 hours in, I had sever muscle pain in my left arm. I then read all the warnings about Levaquin. Two days after taking just one pill, the pain has spread throughout my whole body, the worst of it being in my low back and legs, similar to Sciatica. I have painful headache and constant ringing in my ears. I canâ??t sleep and I am afraid to take any pain killers or sleep aids as I am terrified it will make my condition worst. I pray that I do not have long term side effects like prior reviews I have read. I took one pill and stopped and two days later the pain is getting worst! Never never never take Levaquin. This stuff is poison!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Levaquin in the ER for pneumonia since I am allergic to penicillin. I filled the prescription, then read about all the possible side effects and read all the negative reviews. I was terrified to take it, but I knew I had to. Within one day I felt better. After three days I knew it was working as advertised. I took the full 10 day course as prescribed with no problems. I�m very grateful to have found an antibiotic that worked for me. I don�t discount the reports of side effects, but not everyone experiences them. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emarie521 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I promised myself I would write a detailed review once I finished the course of antibiotics. I tried Omnicef first which I was allergic to then I took a ZPack which wasn’t strong enough to knock it out of me so my dr prescribed me levoFLOXacin 750mg for 7 days. I’m am one of those ppl who read all the reviews and scare the crap outta myself so this was no different. All the reviews had given me a massive panic attack after the first dose. Here’s my experience. I did have crazy insomnia I couldn’t sleep without 50mg of Benedryl I also had loss of appetite and very mild anxiety attacks but this all resolved after the medicine was finished. My dr told me I could stop after 5 days bc I was clear! I will say none of this side effects outweighs the benefits. In my experience if a medicine works for you then you probably won’t be on the internet reviewing it so 80% of these ppl had a bad experience but no one tells you the good news is that it works and just listen to your dr and your body. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
choosey | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treated for a boil after culture of drainage indicated a species resistant to most antiobiotics. Before the culture I was given Augmentin but this was stopped after the culture due to resistance to this medication. Started on Levaquin and after first dose of 500mg., I was extremely shaky, anxious, and my legs felt like they were in a vice and numb.I could hardly walk. I am very sensitive and allergic to medications so my doctor started Ceftin. I am on my third day and so far not too many side effects. Levaquin is horrible, should be taken off the market, and I would not advise anyone to take it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary Coleman | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2019
Condition: Bacterial Infection of Kidney due to E. Coli Organism
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was admitted in the hospital after an ER visit. I had severe infection due to complications from a kidney stone. I was given Levaquin first intravenously then 5 days at home orally. I had horrible side effects, chest pain, anxiety, headache, all my muscles aching, and severely tendon pain! I again went to the ER with these symptoms after I read about the side effects. Itâ??s been about 6 weeks and I still have a lot of the symptoms still! I keep hoping the pain will gradually subside with no further damage, but after reading these reviews now Iâ??m very concerned. My chest pain did go away, but I still have horrible pain in my joints. My ankles feel like theyâ??ve been scraped raw and arenâ??t getting better. Same with my wrist, they always hurt. I had bi-lateral total knee replacement in 2016, and the pain in and around my knees are almost as bad as after the surgery. This medication doesnâ??t effect everyone this way, however, when it does cause side effects they are very serious and obviously in some cases do not go away. It needs to be taken off of the market ASAP. I keep praying for relief soon!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2019
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Any doctor that prescribes this drug should go to jail on their way to hell. I took one dose and was awake and alert for 72 hours. Itchy, tingly skin, constipated, and knee pain. I hope my message is heard clearly. I will use every social media platform to be heard. Hold on its coming.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elle | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this for a bacterial infection in my lung(possible). I now have pain and ache in my arms. over 2 months now, do not take this drug unless you have the plague

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carolc | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2018
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I contracted pleurisy two years ago and was given this drug. It took care of the infection, but I was left with intense pain in my knees and other joints. I could not walk easily or take the stairs. I have been tested for arthritis and other ailments. I tell my doctors that this was not a problem until I took this drug. I am getting better, but it's a long journey. Thank goodness, my husband can take care of me, otherwise I would be in a rest home.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2018
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just 3 days into taking Levaquin, I tore a tendon in my right wrist. Within a week, I could barely walk from a pulled Achilles tendon in my right foot. Then both elbows and my right knee. Then my left Achilles tendon. I developed a cyst in my left hand, fast heartbeat, dizziness, bouts of temporary vision loss, nightmares and panic attacks.The burning pain that wracked my body made me feel like I was dying. I had no idea what was going on. Turns out Levaquin has a black box warning and all my symptoms were listed. It's been two Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bitterly floxed | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus H. Influenzae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In early October 2017 I was a healthy 18 year old girl with a bright future ahead of me. Then I was given levaquin for a sinus infection. Now it is late April 2018 and I am a severely disabled 19 year old girl with no future to speak of. This drug and other fluoroquinolones are poison. Poison that strikes quickly and without mercy. All it took was 7 pills to ruin my life. I spend every waking moment in extreme pain. My worst days pre-poison are leagues better than my best days post-poison. I'm in pain to the point where it keeps me from sleeping at night. I need a stairlift just to get to the second floor of my house. I'm confined to a wheelchair outside of my house. I have extreme nerve pain, fatigue, migraines, tendonitis, brain fog... I once had to go to the ER twice in a week. I think I have too many symptoms to even fit in this box! So I'll keep it short- this is a failed chemotherapy drug. This drug was used to combat anthrax in the gulf war. There's an FDA black box warning on this drug, saying it is only to be used in dire situations. I was not informed of any of this. It's too late for me. But if I could save someone from taking this watered-down cyanide, that would be enough. Please, I'm begging you, stay far away from levaquin and all fluoroquinolones. Seek other options. If your doctor keeps hounding you to take it, seek other doctors! Research. Study. Please, consider these lifelong symptoms and ponder if this is really the best option. If you absolutely MUST take it, try to take as little as possible. 7 pills destroyed me. For many others it takes less. Please... you don't know how good you have it until it's gone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2018
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Levofloxacin 750 mg tablets for 7 days for bacterial pneumonia. I started taking the drug on a Friday and it is now Sunday. I haven't slept since I started taking this drug. After reading the reviews on here I plan to stop taking this drug immediately and have my doctor put me Azithromycin. It seems much more tolerated without all the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Merrykay | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2018
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Urologist prescribed drug for a complicated UTI caused by Ecoli. Took one pill and threw up. Was sick for 2 days with nausea, overall body aches, insomnia and anxiety. I regret taking even the 1 pill. I resisted using the drug initially when Dr. suggested it but I was so sick and went along with her recommendation as she told me it would be a "good fit" for my UTI. I called to chew her out the next day when I had enough strength to do so. Needless to say, I started a different regimen to treat the UTI successfully by going to an infusion center for intravenous Rocephin which is what I had initially asked her to do. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shronalee | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2018
Condition: Acute Inflammation of the Maxillary Sinus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for 10 days and on the 8th day I woke up with extreme shoulder pain. Now a week later I'm still feeling muscle pain and tendonitis throughout my whole body. I have a Dr. appointment to treat a bad case of oral thrush. The sinus infection is gone but I didn't know about the side effects. Please before taking this drug do some research.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
In pain | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/6/2017
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects with me have been going on for 10 years. Vision problems. Damaged optical nerve, Headaches, dizzy, Neuropathy. Tendons still over stretch easy and painful. Walking out to get the mail can cause pain who knows where. Ringing in ears. Don't expect help from class action lawsuits either. Only people that get rich on class action lawsuits are the attorneys. I got $40,000 offer. Attorney takes 40%. All money paid by health insurance gets taken out of the 40K and they get paid back. I would get about $15K for a lifetime of misery. People that sued outside of class actions got up in the $million range. Stay away from Baron and Budd law firm would be my advice. I am on lyrica which cost ME $120 a month after insurance plus my insurance deductible must be paid by me before anything is covered. Taking Levaquin suffering from it and hiring Baron and Budd to help me with my lawsuit was the second most disappointing thing in my entire life. The first was the death of my son. Levaquin and Baron and Budd is second without question. Perfectly healthy in my 40s to feeling like an 80 year old man within weeks then given a false sense of compensation by lawfirm, Bad situation for sure. I wish I would have never allowed Baron and Budd to represent me. The false hope ending with a slap in the face of $15,000 is absurd. Did I mention the depression? Got even worse after the Baron and the Budd let down. Promise of help and hope and then the rug is yanked out from under you. I feel sorry for anyone going through this. You are not alone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More