Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

46 People found this comment helpful

I have taken this drug for the past two cases of sinusitis. I kept the empty bottle to remind me of what worked before. I now have another sinus infection, three winters in a row and I will see my doctor asap to get this drug again. It worked very well for me although it did make food and water taste funny for the duration. I had some weird dreams too but only for a few days. I will gladly ta...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Had severe bronchitis for 6 weeks, was put on levaquin and levofloxacin within that time period. after taking the last pill of the 2nd dose, 4 weeks later I still have severe pain and stiffness in my ankles,and feet, back of knees are painful when I try to lower myself like kneeling or sitting on floor and calves hurt,my right knee hurts, horrible in the morning or if I do any exercise, also const...

Shared reviews and ratings

Gerry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took levofloxacin for 10 days two years ago. I felt some swelling in my achilles tendon after the very first pill -- but the doctor had said that might happen, so I just ignored it and continued to take the rest of the pills. I've had joint pain in my knees and elbows ever since. My calves cramp up all the time, which never happened before. I think I've torn something in my left knee, but am too depressed about it all to look into it. I had to stop running -- I've always been a runner -- and am even having difficulty walking with a comfortable gait. I urge everybody to think long and hard about taking this medication. it took me from an active guy of 58 to an achy and inactive old man at 60.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug to treat epididymitis and aside from a bit of soreness in my shoulders and some vivid dreams there were no side effects. Worked great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/30/2020
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Will never take this medication again, nausea and dizziness not the worst part, my leg muscles and joints so bad that I was in tears most of the time and eyes twitched for almost 2 months after stopping the medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was able to breath quickly, but then starting getting pain in calves.Took it for 7 days and now shoulder pain going down arms and hard to walk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patti Wood | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

65 yrs old and I was being treated for Acute Bronchitis,after a week I got worse ended up in ER they prescribed this med for me to take for 5 days, I have had no problems except for my heart racing a little!! It really helped me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patti Wood | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

65 yrs old and I was being treated for Acute Bronchitis,after a week I got worse ended up in ER they prescribed this med for me to take for 5 days, I have had no problems except for my heart racing a little!! It really helped me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patti Wood | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

65 yrs old and I was being treated for Acute Bronchitis,after a week I got worse ended up in ER they prescribed this med for me to take for 5 days, I have had no problems except for my heart racing a little!! It really helped me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/18/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never had any problems with other antibiotics but this one almost killed me. I became so dizzy and I almost had a heart attack and I felt like I was really dying. Please don't take this antibiotics because it might kill you. Shame on all those doctors prescribing this stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Levofloxacin | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2019
Condition: Bacterial Infection of Kidney due to E. Coli Organism
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot recommend this kind of medication, I cannot sleep, I experience hallucination.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ROBB | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2019
Condition: Complicated Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on 2 x 5oo mg a day for 10 days.(this is day 8) Has sorted out a 'surgical wound infection'. I too have had some restless nights/sleeping difficulty - but no other problems it seems

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jack | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Klebsiella Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took for 7 days worked great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stevesr | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication started to cause me shouting pain when walking after taking the first pill!!! I had to stop it right away!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2019
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Streptococcus pneumoniae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In June, 2017, I went to the ER 9 days after I got the flu, which was actually bacterial pneumonia. My Rx was for Levaquin 500mg 1 p.o. for 10 days. I showed no improvement. On day 5, I awoke nearly unable to move due to severe muscle pain. I was unable to get out of bed except for agonizing trips to the bathroom. I quit the Levaquin, but had the severe muscle pain for two weeks afterward, as well as swelling of my finger joints that exists to this day. (I had no history of swollen finger joints before this.) Two years later, I still have muscle stiffness in my legs that dates from me taking this medicine. I am furious that I have permanent problems from this terrible medicine. I have been an RN for 41 years and feel that the pharmaceutical company is sweeping the problems with this medication under the rug due to lawsuits.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2019
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked great for me. I had some pains in joints, but nothing that would have made me stop taking it. I was on a 750 tablet for 7 days. I had been on a ZPAC prior to this drug, but it had not helped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drew | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2019
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I currently have a bacterial infection in my chest and spent a week on Clarithromycin 500mg with some resolution, but not much. I was prescribed Levofloxacin 500mg and after 1 dose I'm almost completely resolved (I was prescribed 7 doses/1 day). So far, I'm really happy with this medication. I have read that some folks have sore joints or cannot sleep, but I do not have either issue at this point, but it's early and as long as the chest crud resolves, I don't care. Everyone is different, so reactions to this drug will be different. So far, it's working for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dongkq | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

a few side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Some of my symptoms were persistent coughing with headache,wheezing,congested nostrils,problem breathing,sore throat.Dr.said I would have ended up in hospital with full blown pneumonia had I waited another day.She treated me with Levofloxacin 500 mg for 7 day at 1 per day,promathazine DM Solution and an inhaler.I started to feel better after the 3rd day and almost back to normal on this the 7th day.Some side effects are as follow.My sleeping was affected but began to improve as I felt better.Hearing in my right ear was affected but cleared up and is back to normal.I also experienced left knee muscle spasm when lying down for the first two nights.I am VERY HAPPY with result I got.I just used my last tablet and all of my initial symptoms have disappeared except a very slight occasional cough which I am sure will totally disappear in another day or two.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2019
Condition: Acute Inflammation of the Maxillary Sinus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 1 pill and 2 hours later terrible head ache, dizzy, could not walk, bp down to 90 felt going to pass out, arms hurt, shakey, drank lots ow water and feeling a slight better. Never, never take this again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a walking pneumonia and this Medicine just provide a little effect and it didn't fully cure the problem. just a waste of time and money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2018
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Several months ago, after 5 days, I took the last dosage. I began to notice unusual pain in my shoulders. Unfortunately it got worse. I couldn't sleep at nights due to the pain. I couldn't use my arms to do the things I would normally do. Out of nowhere, the pain handicapped me. It was a horrible experience and turned out to be an allergic reaction. It has taken months to heal and to be able to have use of my shoulders and sleep comfortably again. This drug should be removed from the market, if it hasn't been already.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More