Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

46 People found this comment helpful

I have taken this drug for the past two cases of sinusitis. I kept the empty bottle to remind me of what worked before. I now have another sinus infection, three winters in a row and I will see my doctor asap to get this drug again. It worked very well for me although it did make food and water taste funny for the duration. I had some weird dreams too but only for a few days. I will gladly ta...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Had severe bronchitis for 6 weeks, was put on levaquin and levofloxacin within that time period. after taking the last pill of the 2nd dose, 4 weeks later I still have severe pain and stiffness in my ankles,and feet, back of knees are painful when I try to lower myself like kneeling or sitting on floor and calves hurt,my right knee hurts, horrible in the morning or if I do any exercise, also const...

Shared reviews and ratings

Female | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2022
Condition: Acute Inflammation of the Maxillary Sinus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for ear infection because amoxicillin didn’t clear it all the way. It gave hallucinations sleep paralysis night tremors nightmares when I did fall asleep but unable to stay sleep! Took ONE pill and won’t be taking another ever in my LIFE! This medication is HORRIBLE!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephanie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken one 750mg dose of this antibiotic. I took it at 10:30 p.m. before bed, and I have had the worst time. I have not been able to sleep at all. I had a fever that broke shortly after taking my first dose, to which I started to feel hot and sweating and very cold at the same time. I then noticed I was getting more and more awake, and nervous. I took two melatonin, and still no tiredness. I eventually tried to sleep and did fall asleep only to wake up in a panic attack sweating profusely. I also started to notice a weird burning sensation in my stomach, my heart pounding, difficulty breathing, and sheer panic. It has been 5 1/2 hours and I feel absolutely crazy right now, and I can’t wait for this drug to get out of my system. I will never take this or any of these type of antibiotics again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Francesca | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with pneumonia and was treated for 5 days with 750mg. I felt better within 2 days but ever since I started taking the medication, I cannot sleep or have trouble falling asleep and have some anxiety and chest pains.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnDoe | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed me this antibiotic for a treatment of mild epididymitis. 500mg for 2 weeks. I read about the dangers online and asked the doctor if this was safe to take and he assured me it was. By the second dose, my joints and Achilles tendons hurt so bad I could barely walk down stairs. I decided to stop taking the medication immediately and inform my doctor. It's been three days since stopping it and the brain fog is gone and the tingling in my feet has mostly subsided. My Achilles tendons are still a bit tender and I get mild pain in them if I walk too much. AVOID THIS MEDICATION UNLESS IT IS ABSOLUTELY YOUR LAST RESORT!! Do not end up like me. Get a safer antibiotic first and use this only if the other doesn't work. If your doctor refuses, find a different doctor. I would bet that this drug will be pulled from the shelves within the next few years. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vox999 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me serious heart rate problems and was hospitalized because of it. I hope nothing permanent. Further tests needed. Will not take this drug again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mashi | 19-24 | Female | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Chronic Infection of the Prostate due to Enterococcus faecalis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on levo for 3months because I was reacting to refampicin. I had severe swelling on my knees and calves interchangeably. The effect last for over 2 months after I finished my admonition. Got same infection and am now on levo again for 3 weeks with same knee swellings. Pls any other recommendation?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VS | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/12/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Levofloxcian after a bacteria in my after a bacteria infection in my hand. The medication weaken my Achilles Tendon in both feet. Both tendons ruptured. I has surgery on my left foot now waiting to see if the right foot will heal with PT. This is the most painful issue i have ever experienced

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BMills23 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
4/7/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 87 year old father was prescribed levofloxacin Feb 2022 for a sinus infection. After four days and one 500mg pill per day he stopped because of the terrible pain in his legs. He had never used a cane or walker before levofloxacin. In fact, he still lived on his farm and had been very active all his life before levofloxacin. Went to another doctor who drained two vials of fluid from a knee and then did a MRI where he discovered my father had both Achilles tendons severely damaged. Following week my father had surgery on both Achilles tendons and had to be moved to a nursing home where he remains today. Dr told him this week he gave him a 10-15% chance of walking again after surgery (two weeks ago) but now he gives him about a 50% chance of walking again. If he does walk again, his left leg will require a permanent brace. It has been a nightmare and continues to be one for my father who must remain in the nursing home for another 4-6 weeks. This drug is dangerous and should be pulled from the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs008 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/11/2022
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Streptococcus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My second round of pneumonia this winter. Third antibiotic I’ve been prescribed. This one works!!! Woke up with a sore throat three days before Thanksgiving and I feel better after 6 days of therapy than I have all winter (it’s March 19th). Wish I hadn’t wasted all that time with penicillin and it’s derivatives. Only side effect I’ve noticed is inability to sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
You | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dont take this drug.bad experience for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was shocked at the multiple pages of potential serious side effects that came with this drug. I had a dental implant and this was prescribed to AVOID infection, I don't even have an infection. I am a huge runner and yoga practitioner for over 40 yrs and this is the last thing I want to end my running career. I took one pill and couldn't sleep for most of the night and when I did I had bizarre nightmares and hallucinations that made me feel like I was going nuts. Not waiting to see what happens next. DONE.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shannon McKenzi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication aka Levofloxacin Oral for diverticulitis. After being on it for 3 days my body started to shake uncontrollably from my neck down. When my doctor looked at the dosage that the ER provided and saw how bad my body was shaking she recommended that I not finish it. It was the worst experience ever and still to this day I have issues with hand and leg tremors. If you research Levaquin, which is the brand name of Levofloxacin you will see that it was pulled from the market in 2017 with hundreds of complaints of nerve damage, neuropathy etc. According to the FDA, doctors should stop treatment with Levaquin, Avelox and similar drugs immediately if patients report experiencing central nervous system side effects, psychiatric adverse reactions, or blood glucose problems Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LetzGoBrandon | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2022
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an ear infection and walking pneumonia following a respiratory infection. Perscribed this drug because Doxy and Amoxicilian did not clear the ear infection and the Doctor thought it might help with that and my chest cough with phlem. No side effects for me and within 4 days in a 7 day course of 500 one a day the chest was perfect no need for any DM cough suppresant medicine. Ear did feel better but I think there is something else going on as I still have ringing so would credit this drug for clearing my pneumonia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gerry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took levofloxacin for 10 days two years ago. I felt some swelling in my achilles tendon after the very first pill -- but the doctor had said that might happen, so I just ignored it and continued to take the rest of the pills. I've had joint pain in my knees and elbows ever since. My calves cramp up all the time, which never happened before. I think I've torn something in my left knee, but am too depressed about it all to look into it. I had to stop running -- I've always been a runner -- and am even having difficulty walking with a comfortable gait. I urge everybody to think long and hard about taking this medication. it took me from an active guy of 58 to an achy and inactive old man at 60.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug to treat epididymitis and aside from a bit of soreness in my shoulders and some vivid dreams there were no side effects. Worked great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/30/2020
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Will never take this medication again, nausea and dizziness not the worst part, my leg muscles and joints so bad that I was in tears most of the time and eyes twitched for almost 2 months after stopping the medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was able to breath quickly, but then starting getting pain in calves.Took it for 7 days and now shoulder pain going down arms and hard to walk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patti Wood | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

65 yrs old and I was being treated for Acute Bronchitis,after a week I got worse ended up in ER they prescribed this med for me to take for 5 days, I have had no problems except for my heart racing a little!! It really helped me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patti Wood | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

65 yrs old and I was being treated for Acute Bronchitis,after a week I got worse ended up in ER they prescribed this med for me to take for 5 days, I have had no problems except for my heart racing a little!! It really helped me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patti Wood | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

65 yrs old and I was being treated for Acute Bronchitis,after a week I got worse ended up in ER they prescribed this med for me to take for 5 days, I have had no problems except for my heart racing a little!! It really helped me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More