Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

26 People found this comment helpful

Yea! No more periods. I started taking this after starting with Seasonique. You absolutely must take it at the same time every day. I cannot believe that I suffered through horrible PMS and periods all of these years. I was actually pondering a voluntary complete hysterectomy it was getting so bad. Last week I was in my closet and stumbled across my stack of boxes of tampons and pads I used ...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I took this pill for about a month. I was told that I may experience spotting since I started taking mid cycle. I started spotting then bleeding which lasted continuous until I completely stopped this pill. At least 11 days. I agree this pill probably effects people differently. I, however, had horrible side effects. The bleeding was heavy and I had worse cramps than my normal period. I also belie...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My first pill pack (3 months) was perfect - no negative side effects. My breasts actually grew a cup size, my skin is clear, and I lost weight. Now in pack 2, month 5 and I have been bleeding for about a month straight. Some days very light, some days requiring a tampon or two throughout the day. Some days I also have cramping, like I'm experiencing an actual period. My doctor told me to stick it out for 3 full pill packs (9 months!) before getting concerned. Obviously less than ideal for a soon to be newlywed. I have never missed a pill and take it at the exact same time every day. I'm glad I found these reviews to see I'm not alone. I'm going to keep using the pills for the recommended 9 months from my doctor and hope that the mid cycle bleeding stops soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lastcher | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/10/2013
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lybrel since late 2007...and I LOVE IT! I get my period every April, for about 3 days. I have lost the weight I gained from Depo and my mood swings even out. I swear by this and i have several friends who are now happily on this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KMAC1010 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/6/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Lybrel for 4 years and I couldn't be happier with it. I used to get menstrual migraines and have serious PMS. I no longer have to ride the monthly emotional roller coaster with Lybrel. I started out spotting a little but after the first month or two this stopped. I recommend it to all women. You don't need to have your period, so why waste any time in your life dealing with that horrible thing when you don't have to? The only issue I have with Lybrel is the packet. It used to come in a dial that was easy to use. I find the newer blister packet days hard to sequentially follow. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2012
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this pill for about a month. I was told that I may experience spotting since I started taking mid cycle. I started spotting then bleeding which lasted continuous until I completely stopped this pill. At least 11 days. I agree this pill probably effects people differently. I, however, had horrible side effects. The bleeding was heavy and I had worse cramps than my normal period. I also believe I had some adverse effects from the hormones. I felt very light headed and somewhat dizzy. Actually missing several days from work. I am somewhat sensitive to taking medications and after reading other reviews from women who had "breakthrough bleeding" which was actually heavy and lasting weeks at a time, I decided to stop it. I would not recommend this to anyone especially if your goal is to not have a period anymore. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robyn9879 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/19/2012
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lybrel since it came out (about 5 yrs ago) and I love it. Having no period is the best! I will stay on this as long as I can.No more mood swings, no more periods and cramps!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Free At Last | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/12/2012
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yea! No more periods. I started taking this after starting with Seasonique. You absolutely must take it at the same time every day. I cannot believe that I suffered through horrible PMS and periods all of these years. I was actually pondering a voluntary complete hysterectomy it was getting so bad. Last week I was in my closet and stumbled across my stack of boxes of tampons and pads I used to need every month. Who knows how much money I spent every month. I am sad that I did not pursue this freedom much earlier. Some doctors may try to talk you out of your freedom for one reason or another. Do not give up! A life without maniacal mood swings and soiled clothing awaits you!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/8/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Lybrel for years and absolutely love it! I can't remember the last time I've had a period, menstrual pain, bloating, etc. I didn't experience weight gain or acne as I did on so many other types of birth control. On other types of pills, the periods would be so bad I would throw up, have trouble walking, experience extreme back and leg pain; Lybrel has literally changed my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 19 years old and am currently taking amethyst which is the generic version of lybrel. I went on this pill because I have endo and my periods were so painful I'd be in bed for days. I'm about to be on my third pack and I'm ready to get off of it! The first month I spotted lightly for 5 days. The second month I started spotting lightly, then it became heavy and I had sometimes very painful cramps. I spotted for 2 and a half weeks and then I got my same old horrible period. I know it says that the pill takes time to actually stop periods but I can't wait longer it's driving me crazy! It is however effective when it comes to stopping me from getting pregnant. This pill, however is not for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Slowsteady | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on lybrel for 5 months now and i'm still having my periods. I switched from Natazia. My doctor wants to completely stop my periods but this pill doesn't work! Might have to switch again! This month, i had a menstrual migraine, something i haven't had for 6 months. Also, the cramps are bad. This pill is weird! Does funny things every month differently.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/13/2012
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on Seasonale for years. But when this came out I decided to try it, I was one of the first. It was terrible. I bled constantly and felt like I had my period everyday, cramps bloating, etc. I could only last for 6 months and then I threw them out. The doctor said if you stopped for a week and let it "bleed out" the bleeding would stop, it did not. I think Lybel does not have strong enough hormones in it. I use Yaz just like Seasonale so only a period every three months and I have no issues with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mustang19 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
12/19/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill made me have anger rages. One moment, I'd be happy and then the next moment I would be screaming and yelling. I'd break things and throw things. I told my boyfriend to break up with me. I stopped taking it and I'm not trying to find something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PL | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on continuous birth control to treat hormonal migraines by stopping my periods. The first pill she tried never stopped my periods so she switched me to Lybrel. From the first month I've had spotting that has increased continuously so that now after 5 months I'm spotting every day and needing migraine drugs nearly every day. I'm lethargic and cranky. I'm still on it because my doctor kept suggesting the 'wait and see/ride it out' approach. But 5 months of this is ruining my life. I'm missing too much work and not getting anything else done. I'd suggest that if this pill doesn't work within three months, ditch it. Maybe it might get better eventually but who can set aside all the stuff that needs done in life to wait that long?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/9/2011
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am peri-menoposal and my doctor put me on this instead of having hysterectomy. I take daily and have no period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cycle | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First 3 months of taking the pill were fine. This last month has been 3 weeks of bleeding already - not just spotting. I'm on my 2nd day without the pill and the bleeding is almost gone. Don't think this is working for me. Have had no other side effects but the uncertainty of when and how long the menstrual cycle are going to last is too much for a working girl to handle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cvong | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/3/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Lybrel for almost 5 years and think it's wonderful. From the first month I started using it, my period stopped and it has never returned...not even occassional spotting. It's absolutely fantastic to not have the hassles of periods and I have had no side effects besides a slight decline in sex drive. It has not been disruptive enough to stop taking this pill. I plan on staying on this until menopause.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cvong | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/3/2011
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lybrel for 4 years and have had minimal problems. My period stopped the first month and I have not had it since. Not even spotting. It's been beyond wonderful to go this long with never having to worry about getting my period and dealing with all the hassles that come with it. The only significant thing I've noticed is a drop in sex drive. Overall I've been very happy with this BCP and plan on taking it until menopause.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Texasgirl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/21/2011
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lybrel for more than 2 years and absolutely love it. No side effects, no bleeding and no periods!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/12/2011
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Lybrel over 3 years ago to deal with the pain of endometriosis. I never had any breakthrough bleeding when I started it, possibly because I had already been skipping all of my periods before taking Lybrel. I love that I don't have periods, although I do end up having a period maybe once a year for some reason - it's a normal period, not any heavier than they used to be when I had periods regularly. Lybrel really has been a blessing to me as I couldn't handle the nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, horrible cramps, stabbing pains, and migraines that I got when I had my period. It makes me feel comfortable to know that I am taking a drug that has been approved specifically for continuous use.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FlMommy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/17/2011
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Lybrel for about 8 months and it's been wonderful! I started on this particular pill because my heavy periods have made me anemic so I need something that eliminates my period. I haven't had any bleeding or spotting since starting and haven't had any side effects at all. It's been great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TDPline | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/7/2011
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All other "acne helping" b/c pills possible, I've tried. From crazy mood swings, to lengthy, heavy periods...they just weren't for me. Lybrel is amazing! I feel great, no moodiness, no period. Breakthrough bleeding only the 1st month with my body getting used to it. And, my face finally looks as it should. 30 years old is not an age to have to worry about acne, and finally - I don't. Thank you LYBREL. :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More