Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

Was experiencing 120 volt-like pain stabs for a while which transferred to 2-5 minute attacks. It was like my own body was electrocuting itself. Carbemazepine at 200mg a day did nothing. It took 400 mg a day to finally get it under control. I am going to a Dentist today in hopes of extracting a tooth that may be pressing on the nerve. I am not looking forward to the surgery options. All in all, ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Marie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/31/2021
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had up to 5 complex partial seizures a day from age 10 to 13. Carbamazepine saved my life, it worked instantly and gave me my freedom back. I've been taking it for a decade and don't plan on stopping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sister Doris | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication distributed by Costco has sugar that has Fructose in itI found by googling that if your fructose intolerance ; that you shouldn't use it. Dr. says oh its so minimal that its fine. The main point is... If you are beware of the ingredients. I made the mistake of not watching other ingredients. The pills with the liquid for easy absorption and make things taste betterall Sugars with (ose) and all other diet sugars; one should take in to consideration.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/21/2021
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for seizures caused by brain cancer .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EH | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/30/2020
Condition: Paroxysmal Choreoathetosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

carbemazepine completely controlled my PKND / chorea athetosis at low dose for 16 years. However the side effects although not lifethreatening are annoying. For me they include extreme sensitivity to sunlight and sunburn as well as low vitamin D with osteopenia. For this reason I am making a switch to a similar medicine which will hopefully have a similar outcome with less side effects. I do recommend this medication if it is your health care providers best pick. It took many medications as a teenager to find that this one worked to control my muscle movements.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Betel62 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/19/2019
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It levels me out just fine. Occasionally the doctors have to take me up or down as far as dosage. Blood test for levels are a must. Don't want to be as zombie.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lara | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/15/2019
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Trigeminal Neuralgia started in 1996 as the result of a severe undiscovered infection caused by a corroded silver pin used during a root canal when I was 11 years old.(I am a language teacher and singer, and went through some excruciating days, using ice packs, heat, etc.) Doctors just kept wanting to give me pain killers and all the dentists I went to, kept telling me they could see nothing wrong. Meanwhile, the abscess was eating through my jaw bone. After it was finally big enough to be discovered, about 10 - 12 months,(and x-rays got more precise) and the abscess was taken care of, it went away for 20 years. I then moved and found a new dentist who did NOT LISTEN to me! He made a night guard for the wrong area of my mouth and the TGN started again. Had two very severe attacks in 2017 and I have been using Carbamazepine as needed when I feel twinges. I have been very lucky. I want to let you know about an organic essential that was introduced to me in a health/natural store. You roll it on the outside of the area causing the pain and I have found it to be extremely helpful. It is VERIDITAS by Pranarom and is called: Just Plain Relief. Yes, that's Plain (with an "l"). I take two 200 mg grams of Carba... twice a day and if I do get a spasm, I roll this on. I find it very soothing and considerably helpful. I certainly hope you find the right combination that will work for you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BetterLifeThruChemistry? | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/29/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BEEN TAKING THIS FOR SEIZURES AND RECENTLY FOR BIPOLAR I. ALSO HAVE ADHD, BUT ON ADDERALL FOR THAT AND THEN KLONOPINS FOR PANIC ATTACKS. CARBAMAZEPHINE HAS WORKED FOR ME FOR MY SEIZURES DUE TO YEARS OF ABUSING OPIODS. I'D HAVE TO AGREE WITH SOME OF THE PPL HERE, ALSO HAVE TROUBLE WITH LEARNING NEW TRADES , DECREASED DRIVE AND SOMETIMES TIREDNESS ,ANTI-SOCIAL, NOT TOO MUCH ON WEIGHT GAIN. THERES PROBABLY FEW MORE, MY APOLOGIES. I'LL TRY TO REPOST THEM HOPING IT'LL HELP AT LEAST 1 PERSON OR MORE. OVERALL AT THE MOMENT THO, FOR MY SEIZURES, I HAVENT SCARED MY GF FOR 2 YRS AND COUPLE MONTHS, MY NATIONALITY IS ASIAN, AGE 38, USUAL ROUTINE ON LIFE, STARTED WITH MARY J. AND THEN DRINKING, SMOKE CIGARETTES FOR 23 YEARS AND STARTED VAPING TO QUIT, NOT SURE IF IM GOIN OFF SUBJECT , BUT BASICALLY EVERYONES DIFFERENT AND THE MEDICATIONS HAVE THEIR UPS AND DOWNS. SO FOR ME, MY SEIZURES WERE THE REASON IM ON THEM AND ID LIKE TO STOP TAKING CARBAMAZEPHINE EVENTUALLY. LOOKING INTO A LITTLE MORE NATURAL REMEDIES? CBD OILS ? LOL.! IM HOPING THO. THE RULES AND REGULATIONS ARENT SET WELL FOR THAT YET HERE , BUT WE DONT LIVE FOR EVER ALSO, SO TRY AND HOPEFULLY THIS CARBAMAZEPHINE WORKS OR DOESNT, FOR WHOEVER , TOOK TIME TO READ THIS. I PRAY YOU FIND A LIL PEACE OF MIND FROM WHAT EVER YOU'VE ENDURED TO GET HERE. WHICHEVR OR WHOEVER YOUR GOD...BLESSRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeanne | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/18/2019
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used carbamazepine ER for 30 years and it has worked well except for 2 seizures 14 years ago which I attribute to 'the change.' I had to increase my doseage to a total of 1100mg/day, split between morning and evening. I have had some memory loss, but that started just after my first seizure when I was 35 and was told it was brain disintegration (can't think of the right word). Finding words is sometimes difficult but can't know if it is the medication or the state of my brain after the seizure. Every 3 weeks or so I have an aura where I can't follow conversation or process information well. It ends with a headache so I know it is going away. If often lasts all day and I may wake up with it. I don't know if that means less control by the medicine or not. At least I have not had any seizures for 14 years. The only really BAD thing is that this drug is part of a class of AEDs that cause bone loss. After all of these years, I have severe osteoporosis and broke my arm after a bad fall. The surgeon had to pin everything together and said my bones were weaker than he had anticipated. Considering I may have at least another 20 years to go, I am considering changing to another drug that does not affect bones. However, all of the reviews I have read on those (lamotrigine, vimpat, topirimate and leviracetam) are very scary. Taking Fosamax for my bones is not the answer, apparently, since I had been doing that for a number of years. Anyone with any info on this is very appreciated. I suggest all long term users to have bone density tests every 2 years - even the men. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Loca | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
3/4/2019
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not like the medication at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pinky1234 | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2019
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For a year I have been treated for TMJ but I have such intense pain that I would rather die, that my husband made me go to our family doc about it. He said he thinks its Trigeminal Neuralgia, sent me to ENT, who agreed, he sent me for MRI and to Neurologist, who also agrees it Tri Neuralgia. Now on Carbamazepine, which seems to help but only been on it for 3 weeks. Neuro wants to change that to gabapentin, but side effect reviews for that scare me. I haven't had any pain since 1-2-19, so hoping its working. My pain comes whenever, night or day and lasts anywhere from 1/2 hr to 2 hrs. Would rather go thru childbirth with no assistance than this pain. I'm hoping someone finds an effective cure for this because it's ruining my life-afraid to do anything or go anywhere because it starts out of nowhere. Don't want to embarass myself or my husband. So glad he loves me and helps me through the pain, just by holding me and letting me cry on his shoulder til it passes. Sorry but can't help but cry--don't want to but automatically tears come.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pain | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/11/2018
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 200 m per day...not eliminating pain...I will have to increase dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Troy | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2018
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was experiencing 120 volt-like pain stabs for a while which transferred to 2-5 minute attacks. It was like my own body was electrocuting itself. Carbemazepine at 200mg a day did nothing. It took 400 mg a day to finally get it under control. I am going to a Dentist today in hopes of extracting a tooth that may be pressing on the nerve. I am not looking forward to the surgery options. All in all, the Carbemazepine did save my sanity for the time I have been on it. I could actually function as a normal human being this last week. God Bless (or whatever higher being you believe in) if this is happening to you. I would not wish this on my worst enemy. The medication did work wonders though, but, it is not a final solution.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bet6252 | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/16/2018
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication 1000 mg for 8 yrs. when I was first diagnosed I had the Macular decompress operation. Didnâ??t work. 8 yrs later had the Gamma Knife because i was having a lot of pain even with the meds. So I took the chance and it worked. I have been pain free for 1 yr and 2 months. The medicine did work gor me. And the highest dosage I took was 1000 msg per day. But like all medicines there are side affects. I was feeling depression and at times suicidial but I never attempted to do anything so drastic. Because the pain of TN has been know to cause that. I never gave up and I hope this helps someone and gives them hope. I will try gamma knife again if the pain comes back. But the meds did work. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mnicholson123 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2018
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 28yrs old and have had constant face pain for four years. Just recently acquired insurance, and went to the local urgent Care. Doc there tells me go see a neurologist. Neurologist says you have trigeminal neuralgia and gives me 600mg of gabapentin 3 times a day, and 200mg of carbamazepine 3 times a day. The pain gets dulled away, but some days I can feel it leak through the medication and ruin my life. My wife hates those days. I went to an ENT and he says get your septum fixed and it'll help. I get the surgery. The pain is still there. Can anyone out there with trigeminal neuralgia tell me if they have a constant pain all the time like I do? I've had an MRI and a CT scan and they say nothing is wrong, so it must be that nerve. But everyone else seems like their pain comes and goes. Mine is always there. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AM | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/18/2017
Condition: Nerve Pain of Tongue and Throat from 9th Cranial Nerve
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with glossopharyngeal Neuralgia (similar to TN) with pain on the left side of my face behind my left ear and down through my throat. I had it several years ago and it was just intermittent with no treatment and then it came back 7 months ago and was incredibly painful. Saw a neurologist who started me on 100mg 2x/day and gradually I have increased to 600 mg 2x/day. Each increase in dosage worked for a week so I am keeping my fingers crossed this dosage will work. still feel pain behind my throat but nothing compared to what I felt before so I am good with it. Have had the loss of words and feeling a bit foggy feeling that others report but trade off feels worth it at the moment. Just praying it continues to be effective.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marciedale | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2017
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering from Trigeminal Neuralgia for the past 2 months and started on 100mg 2x per day. It practically took away the pain and have recently had to increase to 200mg 2x a day, we will see how that goes. Side effects are minimal compared to the pain from the TN episodes. Hoping to control this with just medication and no surgeries.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AMK | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2016
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for facial nerve pain, for just over a week. I was on the meds for 3 days and got the pain no relief from the medication. At midnight I took another half to see if it would do anything, at least make me sleepy, but it didn't. I can feel the pain wanting to come today my 9th day on it and it feels subdued. Like I know it's there but it's not made it's full arrival yet. One very good side effect I've had is this medication has helped me with my depression. I used to cry everyday and since I started taking this medication I've stopped and not felt so despondent. As for physical side effects I've had some drowsiness which seems to be going away and if I bend and stand quickly I get dizzy, but that's all. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shay | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/20/2016
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for 12 years It was a life saver the pain was intense. Three yrs ago I had Gamma surgery and they clipped the nerve but I still have some pain but only take neutotin 2 per day and 1 carbamazephine. Could not have made it without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/13/2016
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in extreme pain with trigeminal neuralgia for several months. After taking carbamazepine the pain stopped within 24 hours. I was pain free for about a month. The pain slowly but steadily returned. It is now at a manageable/livable level while taking 400mg per day and has remained that way for 2-3 months now. I have had very little if any side effects. Some loss of words and lowered energy level.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ed | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/6/2016
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having to take 1400 mg a day to prevent the pain for Trigeminal Neuralgia. It does present some side effects but anything is better than the intense pain I have w/out it. I'm having problems with my eyesight, balance problems and no energy. Am concerned with the size of the dose and will be a user for life. Anyone know the damage to the liver or other statistics?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More