Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

I have only been using Aczone for about a month. My doctor put me on this along with Retin-a Micro to assist in the breakout period that comes along with Retin-a Micro. So far I have seen positive results, though I still have a long way to go (dry skin and some redness.) Just a tip (I didn't know this beforehand) Wait 20 minutes after cleansing to apply product.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

i think this is just white gel in a tube. no positive effects whatsoever...none

Shared reviews and ratings

Aczone/Dapsone | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has worked WONDERS on my skin. Clears up my breakouts in 1-2 nights. Doesn’t cause any dryness or flaking and really takes the inflammation down. I was using biacna and I’ve thrown that completely out since starting Aczone. Adult hormonal cystic acne and regular acne breakouts. Highly recommend!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frugalcouple | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/1/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

18 year old daughter has been using this for 3 months along with prescribed birth control for hormonal acne. The year prior was met with horrible consistent bacterial and cystic acne. Can't say for sure if the bc or aczone is the saving grace or maybe it's a winning combination, but her skin looks fantastic and she is even getting skin compliments from people who did not know her during her bad acne phase. So needless to say she's sold! I venture to say this a good product for hormonal breakouts. She gets 3 months use from one tube and I pay $60 from a private pharmacy in TX who mails it to us in SC. $20 per month is a good and fair value.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
San | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My acne started to get horrible in March and I went to the dermatologist because nothing was helping(face masks, tretinoin, apple cider vinegar, tea tree oil) plus my skin is so sensitive. My dermatologist prescribed me .005% topical aklief cream for night, 7.5% topical aczone cream in the day time, and oral doxycycline pills. I followed my dermatologists guildlines and I saw a HUGE difference in my skin 4 months later. When I first starting using this my skin broke out SO bad, was so dry and itchy, and was always red. It was like this for about 3 months, but then it started to clear up and I was so happy. Please don’t give up after a month or so because the long term outcome will great! :) the only thing I didn’t like about this medication, in the way I used it, is when applied without moisturizer it turns white on your face. But if you apply moisturizer prior to applying aczone it won’t turn white. Moral of the story don’t give up on it and trust the process!!! :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BummedOut | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I visited a dermatologist with the hope of addressing the acne scar marks and light acne I had along the sides of my face, closer to my ears and hair, as well as some rosacea that had over the last year or two appeared on my cheeks. I was hoping to get on a Tretinoin cream, as that had worked for me in the past. Instead, I was put on Aczone. After using it for 3 months, it seems like my skin has gotten so much worse! I don't really break out on the sides of my face anymore, however, I am constantly breaking out along my t-zone again right on top of all the rosacea making my face an acne-ridden, blotchy mess. I haven't had to deal with this kind of obnoxious acne in years, and it's very self-defeating to have it again. I was trying to so hard to continue Aczone, thinking "it has to get worse before it gets better", but after 3 months I am giving up because what I was dealing with beforehand was way more preferable to what I'm dealing with now. At this point I'm only hoping I can return to what I had! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cg | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/18/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This works amazingly well and doesn't dry my skin like so many other topical acne creams and lotions (and I've used a lot). Unfortunately it's SO EXPENSIVE. I've been able to find a discount through CarePoint, which is $60 a bottle about 6-8 weeks. My insurance doesn't cover this and estimates my out of pocket cost would be over $2,000 for this drug. WHAT THE ACTUAL F?!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cait | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/20/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried so many topical treatments for my cystic hormonial acne, none ever seemed to work. I peeled very bad from the Retnol's and peroxide that I had been prescribed for years. My dr suggested Aczone along with spriolactone as a last effort before acutane. I took the spirolatone for about a year and I saw a difference however, I was using the aczone as a spot treatment, I found it did take the redness out, but when I started using it once a day before bed it made a huge difference! I haven't had the angry breakouts I was having for years prior and Aczone did not make me peel! I am using 5% Aczone prescription. I really like this product Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
many rivers to cross | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/10/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was prescribed for cystic acne. I used this for around 2 weeks. My skin is really sensitive and I was originally concerned because it was a lotion and not a gel, it seemed oily to the touch when you applied it. It just made my acne worse. I broke out in more deap cysts on my chin area and also on my forehead. Obviously I stopped using it.. not waiting the 3 months like they say it takes to see results. I believe if it's gonna work on you, you should see some kind of improvement and not a worsening effect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peach | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I�m 39 and has hormonal cystic acne which I think started when I had my IUD placed. I tried Clindamycin.. didn�t worked! Took spironolactone.. I didn�t like the side effects so I stopped taking it right away! My doctor rxd Aczone and after 2 days of applying on my acne, I noticed that the swelling and redness subsided. So far, so good. The med is so expensive though.. my insurance covers $400 something so I need to pay $300 something out of my pocket so I downloaded co pay card from their website, so I ended up paying $75 which is better. I think Aczone is better than epiduo because it tried it too and didn�t worked.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rawhide | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff smells bad, it bleached my towels when I dried my hands, it made the skin on my fingers peel off! This stuff is crap. Terrible side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dana V. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/25/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aczone is a mediocre and overpriced topical medication, distributed by a greedy pharmaceutical company named Allergan. Spend your money on a better product that doesn't cost you $900/year (with insurance!!!) I'm switching back to Finacea, which is just as good on my skin and doesn't break the bank.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ninamsha | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/22/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only medication that has worked successfully for me. Even if I do start to get a blemish, as soon as I apply Aczone the swelling and redness goes down the same day. My blemish will be completely gone within 1-2 days, as opposed to weeks like before. I highly recommend this medication for anyone who breaks out. Best thing I've used so far!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dan316 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a male in his late twenties and have struggled with mild acne for over 15 years. I have used, benzo proxide, exfoliants, tea tree oil, low GI diet, no skin touching and many other tools without consistent success. I have been using Aczone for 10 days and have had amazing results. I have had very few new spots appear on my face and when they do only last for 2-3 days. My pores felt clogged after application the first few days, but have adjusted to the texture. The anti-inflammation really reduced the redness in my face and gives me a nice even tone. Azcone has clearly made an impact on me having clear skin. Iâ??ll follow up with status updates as my skin progresses. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smk | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/14/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aczone is amazing. Before using Aczone, I used Epiduo. i HATED Epiduo because it barely worked for my skin, it dried it out so much, and it made my skin red. My skin would burn whenever I applied Epiduo. Aczone works wonders for sensitive skin. It doesn't dry my skin out at all. I very rarely get any pimples. It doesn't make my skin red. I use Aczone once every night. I would recommend it for everyone who is suffering from acne. I love it so much and it has boosted my confidence regarding my skin. It takes a few weeks to kick in, but once it does, you won't see any pimples or breakouts on your skin. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CHP | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only used it for a few days and I can tell the condition of my skin is already improving. I've used a variety of acne products, and nothing really has worked. I have hormonal painful acne and have been struggling with it for the past 2 years. I'm very pleased so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bluewater | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JLK10 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/25/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My derm put me on Aczone a little under a year ago. It's made a big difference in the amount of cystic acne that was popping up on my face. I still get the occasional spot but it clears up faster, and where as before I would get 3-4 or more cysts, now I get one every so often. Empire insurance covers it for me, along with the manufacturer coupon, I pay $10 per refill of the largest tube (90mg). Yes, the manufacturer coupon expires after a year, but all you have to do is go to the Aczone site, put your info in again, and you get a brand new discount card for another year. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scooter99 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/22/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

aczone works very well to stop acne.Its the best thing I have ever used.But the price is unreal 200 to 275 bucks for a little 30 gram tube if your insurance doesn't cover it like mine.And the discount cards for aczone only works for a year after that your on your own paying 275 bucks each time you pick it up from the drug store.There is no generic for aczone until September 2016 when the patent runs out and im glad it will so I can afford a generic form.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Enza | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/12/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Product is very effective and easy to use. It started to clear up my cystic acne after just a few weeks and now a year later I haven't had any erruptions in months. My only qualm is that it is way too expensive, insurance doesn't cover it, and their coupons don't actually save you anything at all. I paid $500 for a 3 month supply last year that I made last cause it's so expensive. And now I want to renew another supply and it's $900! So I will have to discontinue use unfortunatley, and hope for the best.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erica | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/9/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My acne was HORRIBLE and bumpy and red and painful and i have tried everything, clyndoxyl, retinae, tactuo... and i was given this for the morning and biacna at nights, this truly saved my skin and continues helping my skin. Not too drying, no strong smell, really just great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Inglebert | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribe this expensive 5% topical gel for adult acne, but I developed terrible redness, rash and burning and flaking skin after about 3-4 weeks of use. I stopped taking it and the Dr had to put me on prescription hydrocortisone to help git rid of the rash, which took another 3-4 weeks to clear up. Be very cautious with this medication. After reading more about this medication, which I wish I would have done before taking it, I think it should be banned. The symptoms I had are not uncommon, and there is also a very dangerous blood disorder associated with this medication (search WebMD). Despite being a topical gel, the medication gets into your blood stream and can be toxic and cause several problems. Do some research first, which you must me doing if you are reading this review. If you do decide to go ahead and try it, keep on the lookout for the symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More