Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

my son was was having between 45-65 seizures per month - since adding vimpat - he has had only 6 seizures in the last month. also, major change in behavior for the good. problem w/constipation but not sure if it from the vimpat but that is the only change for him.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

This medication is *HORRIBLE* The medication itself worked for my Simple Complex seizures. But the side effects are awful. I struggle with everything I do. I'm now transposeing numbers, my spelling is so bad, I'm walking into the corners of hallways, my coordination is off, I'm referring to people, objects by saying the wrong name, I'm studering, I keep falling. I'm covered in bruising because of ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Jason | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This combined with Clobazam has eliminated my complex partial seizures, but I still have Auras and the dizziness side effect has not diminished, it's affecting my daily life and I'm practically working my way out of a job as my options are dwindling, if it weren't for the dizziness this would be a good medication for me, but everyone is different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michel | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with focal epilepsy a few years ago. I started taking 3g daily Levetiracetam/Keppra, but my seizures remained. Once my doctor added Levetiracetam to my daily dose, my seizures started disappearing. 3g of Levetiracetam and 300mg of Vimpat made my seizures stopp for over 3 years. My only negative experience was the loss of appetite and weight, and at the beginning also feeling very tired. I started taking the medication with a weight of 83kg (181cm height), and now I weigh 65kg. My tumor, which caused the seizures, was removed last year and I have started now to reduce Levetiracetam. If everything goes well, I will also try to remove Vimpat slowly. Hopefully the seizures wont come back, and I will gain a bit of weight. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michel | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with focal epilepsy a few years ago. I started taking 3g daily Levetiracetam/Keppra, but my seizures remained. Once my doctor added Levetiracetam to my daily dose, my seizures started disappearing. 3g of Levetiracetam and 300mg of Vimpat made my seizures stopp for over 3 years. My only negative experience was the loss of appetite and weight, and at the beginning also feeling very tired. I started taking the medication with a weight of 83kg (181cm height), and now I weigh 65kg. My tumor, which caused the seizures, was removed last year and I have started now to reduce Levetiracetam. If everything goes well, I will also try to remove Vimpat slowly. Hopefully the seizures wont come back, and I will gain a bit of weight. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlie Howard | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/28/2022
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Concerning Vimpat. Been using for 2 yrs. Seizures have decreased. 'Main side effect' is twitching. Didn't twitch before in my life. Now starting to twitching all over. Family claims I rarely get seizures now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DotJ | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2022
Condition: Additional Medication for Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had excess gas or flatulence with this medication, otherwise, no other side effects. I had grand mal seizures years ago, but have not had any since then. My neurologist won't let me off of seizure medication. Has anyone else had excess gas with this medication?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fedup!!! | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/4/2022
Condition: Additional Medication for Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

since I have stated this medication. I have trouble sleeping, night sweats, severe vertigo, worsened nausea, and nightmares when I CAN sleep. Don't get me started on the dailydizziness. Has done nothing for my epilepsy. Oh and it's over $900 for this crap...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shai311 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/15/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have multiple types of seizures. This medicine calmed down all of my small seizures and now I only have 3 or 4 a month, granted they are violent or drop but I am grateful this medicine calmed down my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Val | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/13/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vimpat has been the worst experience I have ever had with a drug. I have been taking it for 8 months already. Recently, I have changed doctors and have just started to reduce it, feeling already better! Right from the beginning, I had many side-effects: headaches, nausea, tiredness, constipation, flatulence, indigestion, and stomach discomfort, shaking of hands, depression, dysarthria, heart palpitations, memory problems. Due to nausea, I could hardly eat and lost almost 4 kilos in the first month of my Vimpat experience (my weight before taking this drug was around 50 kilos). I also felt terribly tired every day and could not cope with my normal activities anymore. In addition to that, I started to have problems with speaking, my memory, as well as my concentration, got a lot worst. My sleep was also badly affected. I had to quit my job and my social life. Every day was a struggle and I felt as if I had lost control of my own life !!! To sum up, this drug had a terrible impact on my quality of life and DID NOT eliminate my crises. I was much better off with my previous AED. Reading the reviews, I see that I am not the only one to have experienced those side-effects, though my previous doctor denied many of them. This is still a new drug on the market, not yet consecrated, and with several side-effects not well known. It reminds me of what happened to people taking Vioxx in the past! I still asked myself why my previous doctor is so found of this drug???? As he was resistant to change this drug to another one, I have thus decided to change doctors. I advised against this drug, it can be very toxic! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2020
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HORRIBLE DRUG!!! Should be taken of the market!! This drug may work for the first week or so but DON’T BE FOOLED it sucks! I GOT OFF ON Zonisamide Which btw gave me seizures and went to this both drugs at least for me are really bad now maybe they work for others I don’t know. My experience though I got on Vimpat the first week I was fine nothing seemed to be wrong I felt happy I was alert and my seizures were under control. As the VIMPAT got in my system and more and more I felt like crap. First it started just chest would have pains and I did get checked for Covid in case you’re wondering. I started to have SHOOTING PAINS AND I mean bad (like an ACUPUNCTURIST MISSED THE PLACE THAT THE NEEDLES GO IN A WHOLE LIT IF TIMES AND REDID IT 5x then my body got twisted in a rubix cube too because my bones, organs and Muscles felt like they were being shifted IT HURT! I ONLY HAVE CEREBRAL PALSY ON MY LEFT SIDE HOWEVER ALL MY BODY WAS TIGHTENING UP MY RIGHT UP WAS STARTING TO CURL UP LIKE MY LEFT ARM DOES MY RIGHT FOOT WAS CURLING UP.I GAINED WEIGHT LIKE THERE WAS NO TOMORROW. I HAD TROUBLE WITH SPEAKING. It would have effected my speaking if I had stayed on it.I started to occasionally stutter and slur more. I WOULD HIT MY HEAD AND YELL AT MYSELF AND ROCK BACK IN FORTH IN A CHAIR WHEN I WAS FRUSTRATED LIKE AN AUTISTIC OR PERSON WITH DOWN SYNDROME. I hate to say that because autistic people are awesome and so are people with Down syndrome but it’s true. THIS DRUG IS NOT A SAFE NOR GOOD DRUG !!!! If you can DO NOT TAKE IT! I literally felt like if I didn’t get off that drug I would die. The pain I felt with every Vimpat I took Was unbearable. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Epilepsygirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2020
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HORRIBLE DRUG!!! Should be taken of the market!! This drug may work for the first week or so but DON�¢����T BE FOOLED it sucks! I GOT OFF ON Zonisamide Which btw gave me seizures and went to this both drugs at least for me are really bad now maybe they work for others I don�¢����t know. My experience though I got on Vimpat the first week I was fine nothing seemed to be wrong I felt happy I was alert and my seizures were under control. As the VIMPAT got in my system and more and more I felt like crap. First it started just chest would have pains and I did get checked for Covid in case you�¢����re wondering. I started to have SHOOTING PAINS AND I mean bad (like an ACUPUNCTURIST MISSED THE PLACE THAT THE NEEDLES GO IN A WHOLE LIT IF TIMES AND REDID IT 5x then my body got twisted in a rubix cube too because my bones, organs and Muscles felt like they were being shifted IT HURT! I ONLY HAVE CEREBRAL PALSY ON MY LEFT SIDE HOWEVER ALL MY BODY WAS TIGHTENING UP MY RIGHT UP WAS STARTING TO CURL UP LIKE MY LEFT ARM DOES MY RIGHT FOOT WAS CURLING UP.I GAINED WEIGHT LIKE THERE WAS NO TOMORROW. I HAD TROUBLE WITH SPEAKING. It would have effected my speaking if I had stayed on it.I started to occasionally stutter and slur more. I WOULD HIT MY HEAD AND YELL AT MYSELF AND ROCK BACK IN FORTH IN A CHAIR WHEN I WAS FRUSTRATED LIKE AN AUTISTIC OR PERSON WITH DOWN SYNDROME. I hate to say that because autistic people are awesome and so are people with Down syndrome but it�¢����s true. THIS DRUG IS NOT A SAFE NOR GOOD DRUG !!!! If you can DO NOT TAKE IT! I literally felt like if I didn�¢����t get off that drug I would die. The pain I felt with every Vimpat I took Was unbearable. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/21/2019
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking 400mg of VimPat daily along with Lamital (600 mg daily). When first being put on VimPat (replacing Tegretol) approximately 3 years ago I experience dizziness and loss of balance very often but improved over time. The issue I have now is I cannot sleep more than two to four hours a night and the dizziness and loss of balance has returned plus feeling miserable all day. The doctor put me on Briviatt (100 mg daily) along with Lamictal and VimPat but conditions have gotten worse. I am going to ask the doctor if he can cut the dosage down of either Lamictal or VimPat and no longer take Briviatt. Hopefully the doctor will do such. As for VimPat I am still skeptical as the doctor increases or lowers dosage but still encounter side affects. I am retiring soon and will have less stress in my life. Hopefully, this will help.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cr9107 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2019
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It help better control seizures. It created low BP. I can't think freely. I'm not able to live anymore. Too busy trying to remember thing. Or not able observe and be part of environment. I'd rather have seizures, than be on this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
4/4/2019
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | 35-44 | Male | Patient
1/11/2019
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this drug for a little over a year. For most part had stopped seizures, yet I had a seizure last week. I still get aura's, and I feel like I have early onset Alzheimer's. I forget people's names, and these are people I've been working with for 3+ years, the shakes we're really bad at first, but still don't have the steady hand I used to have. I do stumble more, I have to think hard to choose my words when speaking sometimes. And the weird one, that I haven't found anyone else to have is the sensitivity to temperature, particularly the heat. I used to love the hot humid summers of SE Virginia, now they drive me crazy, I don't sweat like I used to, I over heat. My salt intake in the summer months is so high (to helpe retain water and hopefully break that sweat, once I do, WOW I'm good), my blood pressure is rising. I compensate by cutting back in salt in cooler months. Overall I just don't feel right, I'm not myself, not as sharp.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fm | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/20/2018
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HATE this drug. gained 20 lbs, depressed, miserable. dizzy, spinning sensation, hard to walk and see sometimes. libido gone, this is awful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/22/2018
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking 1000mg twice a day of Keppra. Had bad side affects. Starting taking Vimpat to reduce my Keppra intake to minimize depression and hangovers each morning

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lavonne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/15/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this medication to help prevent my migraines. I kept a log of my migraines for a while to see what was going on and what did or didn't help.I can honestly say that Vimpat has been a game changer for me. I went from 10-17 migraine days a month to none. That's right, I said none.... as in zero.Thank you will never be enough in my opinion. Vimpat works well with my other medications so that's a bonus. I'm very sensitive to medications and have had hospital stays due to side effects. The only effect I have had is NO migraines!! Insurance is the only pain I have had. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mkdeli | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/9/2017
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Some days I'm fine, other days I get severely dizzy, severe vomiting, stumble and can hardly walk a straight line, trouble finding words/expressing myself. Doctor related it to blood sugar issues but I can't find a constant connection. I continue to have episodes but no more than previous.u.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bhanson | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/6/2017
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had auras for about a year, but no migraines. I had a grand mal seizure and was prescribed Vimpat 2x a day. Auras are gone and no side effects. I actually sleep better and lost some weight but that might be because I stopped driving and walk more. I missed one dose and had my first aura in months so I guess the stuff really works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itsmeagain8612 | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/11/2016
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is *HORRIBLE* The medication itself worked for my Simple Complex seizures. But the side effects are awful. I struggle with everything I do. I'm now transposeing numbers, my spelling is so bad, I'm walking into the corners of hallways, my coordination is off, I'm referring to people, objects by saying the wrong name, I'm studering, I keep falling. I'm covered in bruising because of all the crap I keep doing to my self, I've broke the front tooth on my dentures while eating a boneless porkchop, I went to pick up my 91b dog and now have chest and back problems because I guess I picked him up wrong. I still have a lot of pain from that. I've been off this medication for 10 months now and the side effects have not gone away. Actually they seem to be getting worse because, breaking my tooth and hurting my chest so bad I did after I've been off the medication 9 or 10 months. THE COMPLICATIONS HAVE NOT GONE AWAY. It doesn't make me sleepy so you can say that's the problem. But the Vimpat makers have not told us every thing about this drug so I'm wondering if this review will be posted. I'm really considering contacting an attorney because this has wrecked my life. Its caused problems to a point in my marriage because my husband is getting tired of following me around to make sure I don't say the wrong thing among other things. I've seen were people have praised they lost weight, personally I'd rather have some common sense and they say they can drive again in my case I have to be very careful with the little bit of driving that I do. I believe now what everyone said that I'm going to have long term effects from this drug. YHEA I really know this is true. This is just a few of my major problems.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More