Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

When my pharmacy switched me to this from Ortho Tri Cyclen Lo, I was livid. I went to this website and read horror stories then went back to the pharmacy to switch my medication back, but they said it would cost me over $200 with my prescription plan. So, as you can imagine, I kept this free generic version. Well, so far. So the same. I haven't noticed one difference and I've been on this for 6 mo...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I was on tri-lo-sprintec for months. I could not figure out why all the sudden I would be furious about something insignificant, then feel like crying 10 minutes later than back to normal. I had terrible itching on the back of my calves-would keep me up at night. I relied on my glasses more (my vision was worse), my periods were terrible and I would feel dizzy. Some occasions my shortness of br...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/11/2022
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this birth control for almost 2 years, I can honestly say It been the best one so far. I have little to no mood swing, weight gain( hard to shed at some points) I still have a normal period, I get regular cramping then severe, Very little acne. Less bleeding. I was afraid to get on this birth control due to the low review but after doing more research I found that this medication ( birth control) is really good for me since it doesn't affect my body as much. Please always do extensive research if you feel unsafe taking birth control. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MJ | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve taken this birth control for two years and it has worked effectively against pregnancy. It may have played a factor in mood swings, but then again, how do you really know what causes them?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maddie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i’ve had no problems that i have noticed and i’ve been on it for 3 months with no acne, light periods, and no scares

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mycatraves | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/28/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was terrified of starting this pill after reading the reviews, but it has been great for me! I have the worst pms before I get my period and since starting this pill i’m more balanced and happy. The only side effect I get is I feel super tired after I take it. My cramps also got really bad, but my periods are super light now, and cramping only last 1 day, but hot tea fixes it in 10minutes! I’ve been on this pill for 5 months and it’s been working perfectly! Everybody is different give it a try!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Torii | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never felt this way in my life. I started taking this pill about a week ago and I have had THE WORST headaches of my life. And they are non stop. I go to bed nauseated and wake up nauseated. I don't eat, if I don't eat that means not producing milk for my little dude... and then there is the fatigue... no matter how much sleep I get. It. Is. NOT. Enough.. I could deal with the fatigue..but the headaches and nausea kill me. I'm stopping this immediately

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Savannah Long | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/13/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this pill for almost 3 years now, and this has been the hardest 3 years of my life. To start on the lighter side of things when I started I weighed 126 at the appointment they gave me my Rx. Today I weights in at 207. I started exercising more and eating healthier because I read about the weight gain that comes with this pill and wanted to prevent it, it didn’t work. I’ve also felt like something was constantly itching my skin since I’ve started taking it and I didn’t look into it until recently, only to find out it’s another side effect. The itching gets to the point where I’m scratching the skin off my legs and it still feels itchy. On top of that around 6 months ago my mental state hit an all time low and I had to be hospitalized and put into therapy. I had some issues with depression before this pill but never to the extent of wanting to harm myself. I don’t write this to scare others or to look dramatic but I didn’t know how much this pill would effect me before I started it, I should’ve done my research and that’s on me. Everyone’s body’s are different and will react differently so please talk to your drs and pharmacists about the side effects of these before you start. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maddie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m young age 14, I started taking this birth control because I have very strong periods, terrible cramps , acne the whole thing. My doctor prescribed me to this saying it would help with cramps and my excessive bleeding. I have yet to get my period (I’m getting it tmrw according to my period chart) but I would like to comment on my horrible side effects since I’m on my last week. a couple days ago I started getting a terrible headache I had never had such a headache for so long and it’s still continuing till this time when I’m writing my message, Abdominal pain , nausea, Chest pains, crying, anxiety, mood swings . I have had all of the above because of this pill. I know I may be younger than a lot of the ladies here but my word is true , my mother also agrees that this pill is terrible and I’m not going to be taking it anymore. for anyone who’s new to the pill I DONT recommend starting on this one. horrible 0/10 . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UserK8 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for about 3 years now and it has worked great for me. My periods are lighter and I have never noticed a huge change in my moods. It’s been effective for all of my reasons to be on birth control

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alice | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m gonna make this more realistic than some of the other reviews. Some people do not seem to realize that everybody’s bodies are different and are going to handle hormones differently, so something that doesn’t work for your body may work for someone else’s, vice versa. Personally i’ve only been on Tri lo sprintec for a month. I’ve noticed some good and bad changes. I got intensely dry skin first thing, i have naturally very oily skin. I broke out in dry acne first thing, but it all went away very quickly and now my skin is the clearest it’s been in a long time. I’ve gained a couple pounds, i was 115 when i started taking the pills. I’m at 117 now and have noticed more weight in my legs and hips, i’m not complaining. My period is also insanely light, i just started a few days ago and there’s almost no pain either. Granted, my breasts have also been quite swollen and it’s uncomfortable to sleep on my stomach, this is a first. Overall i don’t hate this experience so far. If you haven’t tried birth control of any type before, I’d start here and if you don’t like it, stop anytime and try something else.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maddy walker | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/24/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this for at least 2 years. It does not cause me to have acne, mood swings, or irregular periods. My periods are shorter, lighter and less painful (Almost painless)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am just finished with my third month and it has made my period lighter on the third month. The first 2 months were a heavier period maybe because my body was getting used to it and I also experienced headaches and nausea at first but it has been wokring so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well. To begin, just about every side effect listed â?? I ENCOUNTERED! This was my 3rd birth control and by far the worse. After 5 days of taking, bumps and acne began to appear on my face at an alarming rate, I normally maintain bump free skin but tri-lo changed that. Feelings of nausea and headaches were also experienced. My doctor told me that I may experience this but should stop after about 3 months. I was so annoyed that I didnâ??t even last one month. As bad as it had me feeling, I threw the left over packs in the trash can. Never again will I ever!!! Of course every womanâ??s body is different but this did not work for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mish | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/12/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Maybe I spoke too soon but the last 2 months I have been having severe vertigo and fullness in my ear canals. I was told that was migraine. I feel tired, sore, and depressed all the time. I feel like an old lady that can't do anything. I am only 29. I am itchy all over. I think this may have been the culprit. Also I didn't feel any better on any other BC pills in the past. I have felt worse with this one, I had to quit my job because I felt so tired and miserable all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vera Vans | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/20/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first birth control pills I’ve taken and I’ve only had one side effect which is weight gain. I’ve been taking these for about 5 months and everything seems completely fine. Everyone is different when taking pills and you just need to find what works for you. In my case, this has been such a smooth sailing experience with these.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dashgirl | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

5th month in with perfect use, no misses. I am pregnant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yclifford | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only on this drug for two weeks and I got dizzy which sent me into a panic attack, which I’ve never had this sending me to the ER twice. Still don’t feel quite right and overly tired. I’ve never felt so horrible and terrified after this experience. Makes me scared to try anything else! I was taking this for acne and it is not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noturchickie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was changed to this one by my insurance and I am not one to complain. I always try to give it some time so that my body adjusts to the medication. While on this I started having acne breakouts which never happened on the other birth control that I was on. I also found myself having a short temper which I do not know if it had anything to do with it. However I did find that I was not able to have any alcohol while on this medication because even the smallest amount would give me an upset stomach and would not feel better until I threw up.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abigail | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/10/2019
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Tri-Lo Sprintec to control my periods and make them lighter. I've always had early periods (24 days apart instead of 28) but on Tri-Lo my periods are much lighter and less painful. I still get PMS symptoms of mood swings, hunger cravings, headaches, and backaches though. As a birth control, it's worked for me so far. I have never skipped a pill and I always take my pill roughly around the same time give or take one hour.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DCGal01 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/9/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on tri-lo-sprintec for months. I could not figure out why all the sudden I would be furious about something insignificant, then feel like crying 10 minutes later than back to normal. I had terrible itching on the back of my calves-would keep me up at night. I relied on my glasses more (my vision was worse), my periods were terrible and I would feel dizzy. Some occasions my shortness of breath also acted up. It wasn't until I went to an urgent care that the doctor confirmed the rash was from a reaction to medicine and not something from the outdoors or bugs. That narrowed it down and I quickly realized that the reason all these things would come in cycles was because it related to my pills and my period...i.e. tri-lo-sprintec. After going off it, it was within the first month that I felt better and stopped itching. Get off it and don't look back. I called my insurance company because I had a doctor's note to allow me to have access to the name brand and explaining all the side effects I had because of the generic...no budging. Needless to say, there are other generics that do not cause that reaction- keep looking!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CyberCurls | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/7/2017
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this for a little over a year now, I take it to regulate my period, which it has worked perfectly for that, I now have regular periods, however I does makes me bleed an awful lot during day 2 or 3, which it can be very uncomfortable, specially if you are at work or out and about. Also, it does gives me anxiety and makes me gag an awful lot, which it does sucks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More