Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

41 People found this comment helpful

I noticed that most reviewers are giving reviews after only a few days on a new medication. I started Silenor after wanting to get off Ambien because I was feeling on the verge of addiction with it. Lunesta did nothing, I gave it the entire month, but never worked. We tried Silenor and did experience some of the same wierd side effects for a few days or a week, but then it slowly but very surely s...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

If you don't mind severe depression (I luckily avoided the suicidal ideation), then this is the drug for you. It did nothing for my insomnia, but caused severe crying jags that I had to hide from (luckily I have an office). Try something else; this drug is the worst I have ever taken.

Shared reviews and ratings

DoxepinPSA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PSA - I was prescribed doxepin for insomnia and anxiety. After a lower dose was not effective, my Dr. increased the dose. The first night on the increased dose, I slept drove and was arrested for a DUI. I also had significant memory issues during the several months I was prescribed doxepin and which have persisted. Upon discontinuing doxepin, side effects ceased. Take with extreme caution.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Albert | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/24/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was a hit or miss if this drug worked when I tried to sleep. When I was paying $25.00 it was worth a try. I am now on Medicare and at $100.00 dollars for a 30 day supply it is no longer worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed Silenor for occasional bouts of insomnia. After the first dose (SP/6) left me a Zombie the next day, I halved the tablet. Unfortunately even using half a tablet leaves me drowsy and barely able to function for several hours the next morning. This medication isn't worth the side effects the next morning; I'd rather have a sleepless night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
digbic | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was prescribed 50 mg of silenor it worked really good for sleep at first but after 3 weeks i started getting bad side effects the worst being memory loss i constantly would put something down and completely forget about it or do something and completely forget about it. it also made my deppression and anxiety WAY worse. and do not take more than prescribed i mad this mistake and slept for over 24 hours straight. would not reccomend this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bubbles | 55-64 | Female | Patient
2/22/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me if I eat dinner no later than 6:30 PM then take the silenor at 10:30 PM, I sleep great like a baby. Average sleep without it 4 to 5 hours. Average sleep with Silenor 7.5 hours. I take this med 3 times a week because I don't like taking medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gramsof2 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/17/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I sleep very well with Silenor. Best of all, I am not drowsy in the morning and can get up and get going, feeling good and well rested!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gamesjr | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken a 3mg tablet of Silenor three nights, using samples given me for my sleep doctor to combat the problem of sleep maintainance (waking up in the middle of the night with difficulty going back to sleep). On two of the three nights the Silenor worked well and I fell back to sleep easily. But it is not for me because on all three morning afters I felt unusually depressed and groggy and believing it's from a sideffect of Silenor I'm done with that drug. By the way the cost would be prohibitive for me at over $400 per month, declined by my Medicare Supplement Drug Insurance. But I believe a generic Doxepin would be the same drug at a cost of pennies. What's the deal Big Pharma? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Incomniac999 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you don't mind severe depression (I luckily avoided the suicidal ideation), then this is the drug for you. It did nothing for my insomnia, but caused severe crying jags that I had to hide from (luckily I have an office). Try something else; this drug is the worst I have ever taken.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EllSny | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/17/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have to use occasionally because if I use this more than 2 nights in succession I get a dry mouth and throat. It gives me a perfect night's sleep. Too bad I get this side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
silenordoesnot work | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
10/15/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

completely unable to fall asleep. i give this a very poor rating. it does not stop brain from thinking and working, so one cannot remotely get to sleep. it remains in system in the morning, thus making one feel slower than normal. simply not effective. i do not recommend this for those who have long term, chronic insomnia

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was not able to fall asleep so have gotten no sleep at all. Did not work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kenr | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I fall asleep within an hour of taking this. The problem is I wake up about every hour and have trouble going back to sleep. The dreams are vivid and scary. I also wake up in a full sweat and even with the air turned down have trouble cooling off. I will go back to ambien even though I have been on it for years. As a side note my insurance would not authorize lunesta and replaced it with this. The amount on the bill was over $1200. I believe someone is doing well to push this med, I filed a complaint with medicare. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marco | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for two weeks now. It improved my ability to stay asleep. At first, I felt drowsy for a good part of the next days, but that has subsided. Now I think it is terrific. I will report again after longer period of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very easy to use and it worked from the first night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
adel | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

before this medication Silenor 6mg I was sleeping 2 t0 4hours per night. medication does not cause you to fall asleep but once you fall asleep, it keeps you asleep. I love it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2015
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on ambien and only sleep about 4 hours. Need to try something else for more sleep. Started this and woke up at 130Am and couldn't go back to sleep finally at 330a took ambien. 2nd night took 2 and slept one hour longer. Did not work at all for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Momof2inFL | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this as I have occasional trouble staying asleep. I'm trying to adjust to a CPAP machine and staying asleep is really hard while getting used the machine. With this medicine, I still wake up during the night, but I fall right back to sleep. However, mornings are horrible, I can barely get out of bed. It makes me feel so groggy. It'll shake off within an hour of getting up, but getting up is so difficult.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BOB | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2015
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE BEEN TAKING THIS MEDICATION FOR A WEEK. IT KEEPS ME AWAKE ALL NIGHT. BAD, BAD, BAD MEDICATION.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
myself | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Keeps me awake...actually wakes me up. Weird thoughts. Feels like the room is 20 degrees warmer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mikecantsleep | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Ambien for ~ 2 years. My body built up tolerance for it, and I would begin waking up at 3:00am each night. Doctor told me to combine Ambien and Silenor . Been working great so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More