Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

82 People found this comment helpful

I have been on most anti-depressants on the market but they stop working after a while. When my doctor gave me a sample packet with 10mg, 20mg and 40mg,I threw the paperwork away. I started on 10mg every morning for seven days. I THOUGHT I HAD DIED AND GONE TO HEAVEN. I felt like a new person. The same thing with the 20mg. My family and friends were amazed; however, I did talk a lot about not...

Most voted negative review

28 People found this comment helpful

I am honestly starting my first day tomorrow and in hopes it will truely help my severe depression.

Shared reviews and ratings

Stay Strong | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a-typical depression , high functioning depression , I tried 7 different meds and no relief. Doctor put me on Viibryd first week was ok I did not like to eat big breakfast in the morning to take that pills . Second week on 20mg I got panic attack but I kept going and increased to 40mg . Day 6 on 40mg I woke up not controlling my own thoughts, all what I could think was knife in my chest , for the first time in my life I was afraid to stay alone in the house I could not trust myself . Doctor told me to go back to 20mg , day two after taking 20mg same thing low blood pressure half of the day spender in bed thinking I’m gonna die . Now I have been off this med for 16 days and never felt worst , it is not anxaity I just don’t want to exist anymore , I’m scared because I never felt so detached to the point that I don’t care who I’m . Im healthy man don’t drink or smoke I exercise eat well so , I’m happy that it work for some people but going week after week in upping dosage is to fast . For people who take this just watch your body symptoms I regret taking this drug because I dream now to feel like I felt before and it was not easy either . Best of luck to everyone . As long as we are alive there is hope . God bless you all . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lou | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am experiencing pretty severe nausea with this rx after taking for about five weeks. I've been on SSRI and SNRI type meds for almost 20 years and have never experienced this before. I've tried different food combinations, etc. with no luck. I'm very curious if others have had similar side effects and did they eventually go away??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Classygal | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not take with food and after a month I called customer service to learn that it is not a suggestion but a REQUIREMENT- this should be made more clear. My DNA test said this is the most effectively metabolized antidepressant but so far a big disappointment. Will give it more time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/1/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication because I had gone through so many others that either didnâ??t work or caused severe nose bleeds. I went through probably around 11 different medications before starting Viibryd. It is the only medicine that has worked for me. I have never been happier.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnXiOuSGuY | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/16/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have jus finished tapering off after being on viibryd for just over 2 years. Let�s start in the beginning. I have always dealt with bouts of anxiety and depression my whole life. 4 years ago my brother passed away and I couldn�t handle it. So I started searching for meds that worked for me.. it was a rollercoaster and after 2 years of on and off different meds. I finally found viibryd. Now I have always been anti-drug I don�t like taking medication at all. But if it could help I was willing to give it a try as my wife was suffering from watching me fall into deep depression. Viibryd worked well for me in the beginning I only had a few minor side effects (stomachs issues, insomnia) sexual side effects were the worst and are still current. I tapered down from 40 to 20 then 10 mg and am now off for only 3 days. The meds really helped me get my life back on track. since I have been off I have only experienced a little fatigue and some slight dizziness once in a while. My only reason for getting off the med is because the tier group for viibryd has changed from tier 3 to a tier 4 and my insurance refused to cover their portion unless I tried other meds and I am not going through that process all over again. BIG PROPS TO INSURANCE COMPANIES FOR KNOWING HOW TO GET HALF YOUR PAYCHECK AND NOT DO SHIT FOR YOU... legally! Anyway I have felt fine other than the fatigue and the sexual side effects hopefully they fade soon. Good luck to anyone who is wanting to try this medicine Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/2/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the WORST anxiety/antidepressant medicine I EVER took. I had almost every side effect you can think of on this drug! Please do yourself a favor and stay away as it will make your mind worse. I started a new med this week and am slowly seeing progress.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom9 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I URGE YOU TO STAY AWAY GROM THIS MEDICATION!!! It was prescribed for my son who suffers with anxiety and OCD. His doctor had him taking 80mg a day. We had to hospitalize him due to being heavily medicated!! It’s been pure hell!! Please stay away from this drug...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to stop this medication after just 3 days because it made me feel like I might kill myself.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Apersonreporting | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/24/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on a low dose and ended up taking 40mg. Insomnia from the very beginning (never went away, just had to add another drug), the other side effects seem to have started with the higher doses. Diffuse hair loss to the point where I started seeking out specialists, sneaky weight gain of ~15 lbs (SSRIs always go to my outer thighs and stomach, this packed weight on the front of my thighs, butt and back). All of that being said, it stopped me from killing myself and helped correct hypersomnia. Itâ??s a decent drug. But I canâ??t deal with any more weight gain so getting off of itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first started viibryd when I was breastfeeding my son. Horrible idea, dont know why the doctor I had at the time though that was a good idea. I had horrible brain zaps. The dizziness turned into vertigo. It was horrible. Stopped taking it and got back on my zoloft which was what I was not ally taking. After I finished breastfeeding and let my body get back to normal, I tried to take it again. This time, no brain zaps or dizziness; however diarrhea everyday and very scary random moments of anger and rage. The anger moments were not me at all and made me switch to no medicine at all. As I was weaning off the dizziness is there BIG TIME, numbness in my lips and chin and overall a very scary withdraw process. I 100% think this medicine brought out the worst in me. I'm very thankful this is almost out of my system completely. I will never take again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PMC | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/21/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug made me light headed every time I took it. It was like I was in a fog, insomnia, it may me angered, mean, anxiety attacks, heart rate pounding. I would say away from this medication. Also this is a new medicine so it is very expensive

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lola | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/31/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication helped, been taking it for 2 years is better than previous meds, wellbutrin. Have not had side effects, energy level improved. My Doctor suggested it, started on a low dose, currently take 40 mg. once a day in the am.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I urge all of you to stay AWAY from this medication. When I first started taking it, I thought it was a godsend. It immediately gave me motivation and I was cleaning the house for hours non-stop. It was unbelievable because for years I've been in a constant state of not wanting to do anything. I started to notice that my motivation decreased, but it still made me level and worked for my major depression. I thought I could handle this medication. Unfortunately, I started packing on the pounds on this medicine. I gained over 20 pounds, maybe more within 3 months. That ended up being the end of it for me. My weight is everything to me and when I started seeing myself get bigger, I knew it was time for a medicine change. This isnt even the worst of it. I stopped taking the medication cold Turkey. I didnt realize my husband gave me an extra 40mg pill every day and I was at 80mg of this medicine. I tried to go cold turkey but I was really suicidal, crying all day, not eating, starving myself, even going as far as attempting suicide. I was in the worst psychosis I've ever been in. So I couldn't take it anymore and decided to to take just 40mg until my psychiatrist could give me something different to take. I kept taking the 40mg and I was back to normal like nothing ever happened. Once my doctor prescribed me wellbutrin, I stopped taking the viibryd once more. I am currently in the middle of a crisis, trying with all my might to not kill myself. I have a daughter, husband, and mom to think about but right now I feel really selfish that the best course of action would be to end it all. I'm fighting so hard. I think its about my 3rd day off of viibryd and it's the worst feeling in the world mentally and emotionally. I'm taking the wellbutrin which I think if it wasnt for the wellbutrin I would be worse off. Right now I'm relying on my xanax medication and marijuana to try and take the edge off, and watch some TV shows to distract myself from this horrid feeling. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hehfhfjds | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Viibryd by my psychiatrist after being on zoloft for about five years. Itâ??s been extremely helpful, even better than zoloft, in decreasing my depression to a manageable level. The side effects are pretty minimal for me. The only side effects I experienced were dizziness and a couple sleep issues. The dizziness went away after about a month of use. I did experience very vivid and often scary dreams, but they have also decreased. The only real side effect I still notice is trouble waking up in the morning often because Iâ??m in the middle of a very vivid dream. Itâ??s really important to take this medication with food, if you donâ??t you will be extremely nauseous. Overall Iâ??m happy with this medication, it truly did wonders for my depression. I also have generalized anxiety disorder and the mediation did help that too. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gratefulformeds | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/3/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've suffered from MDD for my entire adult life. Unable to work. I've tried almost every antidepressant out there! Viibryd has nearly completely relieved my depression. I feel wonderful! I've been taking it for 5 months and they have been the best 5 months of my adult life. No side effects for me. What a relief to have this medicine in my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pumpkin04 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/30/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A side effect would be that my sexual drive decreased which caused major issues in my relationship. Also made me tired which was a good side effect since I'm usually and insomniac

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Side Effect Question | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only on 10mg/day so far, and for about 1.5 months. Within a week of starting, my eyes seemed to become extremely sensitive to headlights. I thought cars and trucks were flashing me with their lights during a night drive, to the point that I stopped my car and checked it to make sure nothing was wrong that they were trying to alert me to. Have since driven with others and asked if they saw the same flashing to make sure it was just me. Either something has changed in my eyes or in the process between my eyes and brain. Do not seem to have over-tired or strained eye feeling, just this weird effect when driving. Has persisted at same level up to this point. Waiting to see if it changes, and going to follow up with eye doctor and general practitioner to see if there is some other issue with my eyes, but the fact that it started right after starting this medication made me think it is a side effect. Trying to find out if anyone else has experienced similar. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eburg | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trouble sleeping and anxiety. No noticeable change in mood. Nausea and dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted Paxil for my depression. Dr. said never! He prescr. Viibryd. Couldn't sleep. Savage panic attacks. Complaints to Dr. were discounted. After two months, I was a wreck. Fired Dr. Found new Dr. to prescribe Paxil, and I have been happy as a clam for the last 18 months. (No panic either).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wanttogetbetter | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had MDD for over 30 years taking medications, changing them because nothing ever worked. It became so debilitating I lost my job because of it. Finally was given samples for this medication and within an hour of taking it I felt relief Iâ??ve never felt before. My anxiety level dropped significantly and my body relaxed for the first time in years. Only thing now is that if your on medical assistance like I am after losing my job, insurance will not pay for it. Out of pocket it?s $300. I would be able to return to work if I could afford this medication. But once the samples run out, I’ll be be back rolled up in a fetal position again. So Medical Assistance programs Please place this drug on your formulatory list so I can become a functioning member of society againRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More