Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I am sending an update from my review on 10/24/11. I previously posted that his drug caused me headaches, severe cramps, and continuous bleeding while taking it. I failed to add that I had immense hair loss over the 3 months I took Amethia. I went to a dermatologist last week regarding my hair loss. Now I didn't include this in the last post because I didn't associate it with the drug at that ti...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

still had monthly periods (took pill for 9 months before getting rid of them). Depression, mood swings, irritability, cramps, breakouts. TERRIBLE! I did not have this problem with seasonique.

Shared reviews and ratings

aless | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/15/2021
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Butterfly | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2020
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I started the pill I had spotting and a light period for a month 1/2 then I saw on a review someone suggested taking the pill the same exact time everyday or within 5 minutes. I did that and it helped a lot but when the 3rd month came I started spotting again. Iâ??m now on my break ( 1 week placebo) and Iâ??ve never seen so much clots in my life. My period is so heavy and the cramps are unbelievable I thought my ovaries was coming out. I will see how the next 3 months are before I tell my doctor to switch it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/8/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can't attest for the effectiveness of preventing pregnancy because we use other measures, but I cannot wait until the end of this week when I can start another brand. I've been on this for 9 months and my emotions have been a roller coaster, I've gained 10 lbs, and I've been bleeding for 4 of the past 5 weeks. I wish I would have read other reviews when I first noticed issues!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cara | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2017
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been using Microgestin 1/20 for over a year with hardly any problems. I was moody for the first two months but that leveled out. I switched to Amethia Lo because I wanted fewer periods. Well I am 1.5 months thru the first package and I have bled for a total of 3 weeks and spotted on and off whenever I'm not bleeding. I also had incredibly painful cramps while I bled for two weeks and intermittent cramps when I'm spotting. One if the main reasons I decided to give birth control a try was because I had unbelievably long, heavy, and debilitatingly painful periods. This has made me feel almost worse than before bc. I have been unbelievably irritable and anxious over the smallest things since the second week of taking this pill. I have had absolutely no sex drive to the point that I only am in the mood if I'm tipsy which is not ideal for my relationship. My boyfriend is dealing with a moody, angry, uninterested girlfriend most of the time and that is causing stress in our relationship. I shave had an extremely high sex drive my entire life even when I was in Microgestin. I used to masturbate almost daily even if I had been sexually active with my boyfriend that day. Now I have no sexual interest. Sort of defeats the main purpose of having as much spontaneous, unprepared sex as I want without having to worry about a pregnancy. I'm going to see this thru the rest of the package and if things haven't changed by the end of the 3rd month I'm going back on Microgestin. In short, I hate this pill so far.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CassMae25 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/14/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It prevents me from getting pregnant which is my main concern to begin with. Been a month on it and waiting to see if I spot or not between these 3 months. Another main reason I decided to take Amethia is because with my IBS, my mestrual cramps are 10xs worse so not getting my period or even having a light period is fine with me. Overall, it does the job of keeping me from worrying every month ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cb13076 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on seasonique for two years, then camrese for 2 years. Just two weeks ago my pharmacy decided to give me amethia. I was wondering if I was going crazy, but thank you for al th we reviews. I've only been taking it for two weeks, so I have not had any spotting. However, I have had significant weight gain, shaky hands, horrible migraines in the morning, and fatigue that makes me want to nap. If you are currently taking camrese or seasonique please don't switch to this. I've spoken to my doctor and will be switching back to camrese.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2016
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For a medication that is supposed to stop your period - it fails miserably. After 2 months on the pill, I've had 3 straight weeks of discharge. I've got also got acne - big red blotches like i've never had before. Plus, it has caused my blood pressure to sky-rocket. Worse pill I've ever taken.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mag | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First time ever taking birth control! So it started of fine I got through the first two months without any spotting or anything but then a week before my period my cramps and spotting come first light then heavy! Don't know what to do! But it looks like everyone else is also having similar problems! Going back to my doctor!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CSmith916 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For starters ive never had birth control before. I started taking it because the idea of having less periods was appealing. However, since I've started taking it, my periods are extremely heavy. It's to the point where I'm changing tampons every 2 hrs and I've bled for literately two weeks straight. it has been six months and I'm done! I hate I ever started taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justawoman | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/22/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've recently switched from Trinessa (taken for 18 years) to Amethia (taken for 6 months). Pros: Effective in preventing pregnancy, normal periods lasted 4-5 days once every 3 months. Cons: Severe moodiness and impatience in first 1 1/2 months which turned to moderate depression for remaining months and overall general unhappiness. Increased appetite which led to increase weight gain in the belly (5-7 lbs in 6 months). Extreme bloating in belly area in the 2nd & 3rd month in each cycle. Mild monthly cramping during times when period normally comes. Bone & muscle pain - mostly in knees & legs & teeth. Cost of medication was significantly high (based on my insurance coverage) End Result: I switched back to Trinessa mostly due to Amethia's effect on my mood (general unhappiness) and weight gain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tamsworld | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2016
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on mononessa and doing perfectly fine. I was told to skip cycles by a gyno I went to see, my provider decided about 4 weeks ago to have me try Amethia, to help me skip cycles. I started it the Sunday after my cycle and stopped my old pills. At first I noticed blurry vision. Then I started bleeding more and by the following Friday it was crazy.I have spotted every day since, had headaches, nausea, and severe cramps and breast pain. That wasn't the worst of it I became an emotional mess. I called told my provider give me my old pills back. He said the body has to adjust. I took it for almost a month went to see him, he said go back on your old birth control, which I start tomorrow. Tonight I feel like I am in full blown PMS mode, cramps, spotting red, breast pain, and this is week 4. I can't wait to get back to my real life again. I just have my periods, this is not worth it. I almost called begging them to just cut everything out. This may work for some but for me NO THANKS!!! I also went to a new gynecologist. I know the spotting and bleeding won't stop right away tomorrow, but it gives me something to look forward too. Everyone's different what didn't work for me may work for you. I personally wouldn't recommend this product for people like me who have fibroids and endo. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Loved the idea of having a period every 12 weeks...however it's somewhat stressful waiting 12 weeks to have a period! I live an active lifestyle and have gained 12 lbs in 3.5 months and I have had severe cystic acne along my chin and jawline since I started the medication. I'm strict about washing my face at night and following a skincare regimen. This BC has ruined my skin, caused weight gain, and severe bloating

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Light_Weight | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/21/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this prescription for 7 months. I loved the idea of having a cycle every 3 months. It does give me slight acne problems, however, it seems to be getting better this past few months. I also notice an increase in my appetite. Fortunately for me this is okay since I also take Topiramate for migraines and it decreases my appetite (tremendously). So the two have finally balanced out my appetite and I am back at a normal weight!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MBR519 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/18/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bleeding for over 3 weeks at this point? NO THANK YOU. I have no idea when it will stop and after just reading that another user bled for 7 weeks, I am LIVID at the idea of having to endure that when the POINT of this drug is to minimize bleeding!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Amethia for 6 wks. After about 2 wks I broke out with horrible acne. I have bright red pimples all over my forehead and sides of my face.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ME637 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/10/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

100% effective. Terrible side effects. Severe depression, zero sex drive, irregular bleeding for weeks on end. If you have an Rx for Camrese and they try to give Amethia, say no! They are NOT the same drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Madz | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Omg I thought I was the only one! I had been on Tri-Sprintec for almost 3 years and I wanted something that would make my periods stop especially because we were going places every summer and having a period was getting in the way of enjoying my summers. My doctor perscribed Amthethia and I was stoked the first month because I had no period, but I had some spotting my second month and now bleeding for two straight weeks! This is the heaviest my period has EVER BEEN and I've been on BC for 5 years now. My sister and I are on the same pill and hers has been working beautifully for her. This pill has Definitely been a mood killer. I have experienced no weight gain BUT my moods and acne have been horrendous. I cry at the drop of a hat and I get very bitchy/irriatated easily. I've been told it takes 6 months for your body to become in sync with your BC but idk if I can handle break through or bleeding heavily for 2 weeks again! I'm going to give it the benefit of the doubt and try one more pack since I already bought it but if this doesn't help I'm switching. Hopefully this helps Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not good drug | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2015
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am so glad to find these reviews as I thought it was just me! I was placed on this medication for premenopausal issues with bleeding and also hot flashes. I am now bleeding every day which I never did before! Not fun when you are 47 and ready to get rid of them! This was suppose to stop the bleeding so I had around 4 periods a year...and the night sweats and hot flashes are so bad I cant sleep now. My libido went from full blast to 0 and I am so mad at everyone around me. I want to do nothing but sleep, so tired. I am throwing these away and seeing an expert in hormone therapy as this was not a good experience. If your doctor prescribes these tell them NO!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Breanna | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking microgestin and my doctor switched me to amethia. I was okay with it because I didn't mind having a period every 3 months. After a month, I decided after I finished this pack I was going to go back to microgestin because it made me comfortable to know I was going to get my period every month since I was sexually active. I took the 3 months worth of amethia and when it was time to get my period, I was having the worst cramps ever!! I also gained weight while taking these pills. I don't recommend these birth control pill to anyone Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GenD. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/6/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not recommend this birth control to anyone. I was on camerese and like other women, my pharmacist switched me o amethia. Since taking the pill I have had a lot of break through bleeding, bloating, cramps, acne, and terrible mood swings. I would not recommend this pill to anyone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More