Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

I've been on a low hormone birth control for about 2 years now with no problems or terrible side effects (besides for small amount of weight gain)I've never had any spotting or heavy bleeding even when I first started. However, I wanted to get on a seasonal pill so I didnt get my period as often. I've been on Amethia Lo for about a week now with no problems. I haven't noticed anything negitive abo...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

This medication was prescribed to me when I was having side effects with Seasonale. I can not tell you how horrible this medicine is. I felt like a ghost in my own mind. I "spotted" (really had a full blown period" for 5 weeks straight. My doctor insisted that this pill is known for light bleeding even though it is not time for your cycle. I went ahead and continued taking it only for things to ge...

Shared reviews and ratings

susan | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/22/2017
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Amethia Lo to help regulate my painful and irregular periods. I was looking forward to only having a period once every 3 months. I had no side effects from the first month of taking it, but then, after about a month, my period started again as normal. This period was much heavier than any period I've ever had, and went on for more than twice as long as my periods did before starting the pill. I had excruciating stomach cramps (worse than they were before the pill), extreme nausea, and lack of appetite. I have not been able to sleep through the night for four days due to the pain. I am extremely dissatisfied with Amethia Lo. It actually made the condition it was supposed to fix WORSE, and I will be speaking to my doctor about being prescribed a different drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chelle | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/6/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Amethia Lo to control my heavy bleeding. The first couple of pills were a breeze, after about a week or so I begin experiencing a whirlwind of emotions. My anxiety went THROUGH THE ROOF. Sex drive completely went away and I could barely control my thoughts. I read some reviews in which people admitted to some differences in their mental stability.. COMPLETELY TRUE! I am a healthy 24 year old woman, I would much rather deal with heavy periods and long periods then deal with this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bleeding for over 5 weeks of the 12 week pack. Got rid of acne and pain during period though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kammie | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken Amethia Lo years ago because of awful periods and stopped for quite awhile and am back on it again because of possible endometriosis and of course just birth control. I have almost every possible side effect. Headaches, nausea, fatigue, cramps, breast tenderness, dizziness, and bloating. I've even taken several pregnancy tests just because I felt I could be pregnant! But all were negative and I got my period so it is effective! I just don't remember ever having symptoms like this before, but I'm going into my 5th month and hopefully my body will have adjusted after this pack.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Amethia Lo for approx 2.5 months. Prior to Amethia Lo I was on Estrostep FE/Tilia Fe for approx. 10 years and another oral contraceptive for approx. 5 years prior to Estrostep. In recent years I have been concerned that my mood swings may be impacted by the the triphasic pills so I transitioned to Amethia Lo in hopes that a consistent hormone dose and 1 period every three months would help with mood regulation and also support my need to address chronic iron deficiency anemia due to less frequent menstrual bleeding. Thus far I am pleased with Amethia Lo. I have not experienced breakthrough bleeding. I also have not had to deal with PMS mood fluctuations because I have not had a menses in 10 weeks! So far so good here. I feel confident that my menses will be consistent with my menses on Estrostep 2-3 days light. I will be elated if it is even shorter which I have heard can occur over time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Smile | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/28/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was very displeased with this, BC. I have experienced weight gain, abdominal pain, random periods some light and some heavy. I didn't get pregnant over the past 8 1/2 months but feel like poop. Very low drive and not pleased with the overall "feel" of this BC. I have tried 3 other oral BC and none of them work well with my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/18/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill has been a life changer for me! I was having long 10-15 day periods that were starting every 23 days. I had extremely painful periods, ovarian cysts, fibroids, extreme stomach bloating with vomiting which would lead to trips to the E.R. every other month. This has given me my life back, with no negative symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mal | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on a low hormone birth control for about 2 years now with no problems or terrible side effects (besides for small amount of weight gain)I've never had any spotting or heavy bleeding even when I first started. However, I wanted to get on a seasonal pill so I didnt get my period as often. I've been on Amethia Lo for about a week now with no problems. I haven't noticed anything negitive about this pill yet but some of the reviews scare me. I don't want to spot or have heavy bleeding :/ If anything, I've noticed a few pounds in weight loss. If anyone has any advice of what to expect (Preferably a doctor or Nurse) please let me know! Thank you!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on Amethia Lo because I am peri-menopausal, my periods are long and heavy and coming more frequently - every 23 to 16 days. I was having severe stomach upset that would put me in the ER, cysts on my ovaries, extreme irritation and high anxiety, and just a mess. I just finished my first month, no problems at all. The first week I had leg pain, cramps and breast tenderness, but that all went away. I had a little bit of stomach upset for a couple of days, but nothing like it was and it is still the first month. This pill has been great for me so far. I feel like I am getting my life back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindi | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2013
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive been on this medication for 1 month and 1 week and i have had all types of side effects i feel dizzyness off and on and my breast are very tender especially at night. I get woken up to the pain on my breasts. I also have vomiting and nausea. I have been on my period for a whole month now too at first it was heavy for like 2.5 wks but now its spotting I dunno if I should continue since i have read that these are common side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2013
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not very happy with this treatment since I'm currently on my period. I have just taken day 2 of the 4th. week of the cycle. Hoping the medication will work correctly over time. If this persists, I will insist on something different!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kms1013 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2013
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would not recommend this birth control to anyone! I have Endometriosis and I've been told, by a few different doctors, that the only way to control it is to stop my period. Horrible idea. I didn't like the idea of it to begin with, but it was kind of a last resort. 4 months of this BC and I've gained 10+ lbs, I work out 4 days a week so this is very frustrating for me. I also had horrible bloating, mood swings, and nausea. I just felt horrible all the time! Just started Lutera and hoping for better results. I've never had a BC make me feel the way I did with Amethia Lo!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on the Depo Shot for 3 years and after reading about what it can do to bone density I decided to chenge my method of birth control. i also never realized how low my sex drive was until after I switched. I loved not having any periods so my Dr suggested Lo Seasonique, my insurance paid 100% of the generic Amethia Lo. I've been on it three full weeks and have already seen a difference in my sex drive, so thats a plus (my husband thinks so too!) The only cons I have is that because I was on the shot so long I never had to think about it so I set an alarm on my cell phone so that took care of that. I havent had any spottong or nausea. I have had some breast tenderness the last few days but it isnt too awful.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/11/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed to me when I was having side effects with Seasonale. I can not tell you how horrible this medicine is. I felt like a ghost in my own mind. I "spotted" (really had a full blown period" for 5 weeks straight. My doctor insisted that this pill is known for light bleeding even though it is not time for your cycle. I went ahead and continued taking it only for things to get worse- not better as my doctor and I had hoped. My emotions were out of control. I literally felt like someone else was in my head. My period was constant and heavy for 4 more weeks. I am in my late 20's, beyond healthy, a non-smoker and avid healthy eater. I am not on any other medications. This pill is horrible. Please consider another medication for birth control. I guess I can say it worked since I did not get pregnant- but the side effects are not worth the price with so many other pills on the market. User beware!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MagicalMG | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/5/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using the name brand Lo Seasonique in 2010 and from the very beginning, I experienced no problems or side effects. No cramping, spotting, nausea, headaches, no cycle, etc. Just easy-breezy care-free living! Was later switched to Amethia Lo and got the SAME results! I have been on several others in the past and this is hands down the best BC I've taken!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
12/30/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ladies, if you want to risk having zero libido, gain weight, be hungry 24/7, have month long heavy painful periods then this is the drug for you. It may work for some but it made my entire life miserable. Not worth lowering the amount of periods a year at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Achey | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/15/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had regular, but heavy periods, had ovarian cysts removed, and discovered I have endometriosis. My MD recommended this to "control" my periods and hopefully prevent further cysts. I'm on week 8, I had sore breasts within the first couple days, constant spotting by the end of the first week, I did have a period on week 4 at my bodies regularly scheduled time, I'm now on week 9 and have been bleeding every since. I have cramps, headaches, and neck and back pain. I will be discontinuing this medication ASAP.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brittney | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 17 and I've been on Amethia Lo for 3 months.Yes, in the first two I had a lot of spotting and bleeding especially the last week of the first pack.However, I haven't become pregnant even though my bf finishes inside me every time.As far as effectiveness goes.....it really works.I would reccomend this bc pill above other extened cycle bc pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My insurance company switched me to this after being on Lo Seasonique for about a year. By the end of my first pack I began getting bad migraines. Don't know why since I had no problems with the brand name.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paige | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/22/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have horrible headaches. I cramp everyday. Also, im usually nauseous. This is my 4th month =\

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More